Working Women

What do you do when you get tired of your work?

I’m feeling run down. I am getting a bit burnt out, although nothing like the Big Burn Out of 2005. Oh man, do I not want to revisit that state of mind ever again.

But I am getting tired, and I work all day and I come home to a lonely apartment, and a nasty rat of a roommate, and I wonder to myself…why am I doing this again?

I wonder if I find the right man, and he makes enough to provide for both of us, am I going to become that woman that gives up everything I worked for to sit in front of a TV and munch on cookies?

And moreover, why is it that some women (i.e. the pretty ones) get to have that, but girls like me don’t? Girls like me have to work work work, because one day, our parents will be dead and we will have to figure out ways to feed ourselves.

Re: Working Women

its because women like you doubt yourself and do have too many conditions attatched to everything you do :k: get out of that “pigeon hole” and live life without thinking too much :hehe:

Well. Those women turn to their gardeners for comfort. Be thankful that you'll have a degree that can warm your hands in those cold lonely nights.

Why don't you start a center for educated unmarried women? We'll give each other makeovers and have tea parties

Can a man give you a pedicure? no
Or do your eyebrows? no

^Nevermind. It would have to be survival of the fittest during that time of the month synchronization

**PCG what you write is probably true of many working women-the life almost becomes a rat race and can become monotonous- its all about when ur feeling ur heading for burnout stage- this may be a tried and tested theory but just stop , reevaluate your priorities in life jot some thoughts down and then go out or do whatever gives u joy- whether its retail therapy/ chatting with a friend/partying/praying/planning a holiday/do a good deed/having a weekend of fun frolics and antics.. whatever- this should alleviate the tension and feelings of trepidation that you may have and then you come back to your life as hopefully a more chilled and calmer person so you can really begin to action those areas of your life that should be addressed…“right man”.. well inshallah he is out there:hmmm:.. in the meantime dont wait for it- live your life and enjoy your life …its all a matter of when ur feeling low- do some thing for you and you only- and talk/scream/ laugh about how you feel … communication is a great way to start making urself not feel that youre the only one who feels the way you do ..:k: **

PCG is starting to see The Matrix... take the red pill PCG and see how deep the rabbit hole really goes!

its hard PCG... HAAARD! i come back from work and have to deal with a kid and trying to get her cleaned, fed and put to bed.... oh and same for the hubby.

My hubz earns enough for me not to work... and although there are days when i dont want to get out of bed and drive to work... i still do... and i think i always will. There's just something about working... and setting an example for my daughter that keeps me going. Thats the one thing that just keeps me motivated and wanting to work for her.... (although many may disagree)

khair... but i do wish for just one day... yes one day, where i can send her off to childcare.. take a day off work.. and SLEEP

Well, why not just sit at home and do nothing? Well, by nothing, I mean the usual housework and feeding the kid.

?

So, you're an educated woman. It's not like she wont see the example of an intelligent woman?

It does feel so good to sleep in. Sooooooooooooooo gooooooooooood.

I could go a lifetime without sex if I just could sleep in every morning!!!!!!!

PCG, i work three days... and those are my bliss days.. my time off from everything. SERIOUSLY. Being a part-time housewife is prob harder than being a full-time.. cus ur trying to organise the house , kid and hubby as well as balance ur work life...

and thats the example i wanna set. Being able to multi-task and manage things... u do need a break now and then... but who doesnt? Being at home is gonna make me go crazy.. i know not everyones like that.. but i would literally go crazy and become a 'typical' desi wife... i cant let that happen

So far thread is a perfect example of "a person can not be happy no matter what" ... Insan kisee haal main khush nahee rehta (I am talking about Inasan and not girls only..so sword back in its place)

Jo job keta hai, wo sona chahta hai
Jo sota hai wo job kerna chahta hai
Jo single hai wo shadi kerna chahta hai
Jo married hai wo single ko daikh ker khush hota hai ...
jis k bachey nahee uss ko bachey pasand hain
jis k bachey heen wo bachoon sai tang heen

qayamat kee nishaniaan hain

Oh God. Uncle goes off into lectures again. :smack:

I have a full time commitment to my job, which also involves travelling abroad, yes its tiring, and yes some days i would love to just sleep and do nothing.

I got the opportunity to do that a few years ago when i was in between jobs, and i was climbing the walls :e6:

I think when you have established a routine in your life, its very difficult to get away from it, i know if i left work and became a lady of leisure it would drive me crazy, i would miss the interaction, the stimulation, the hard work that a job brings.

And also the fact that i am still independant and don’t have to rely on my husbands salary to keep me in the lifestyle that i have become accustomed to

thats what you need beta jee :slight_smile:

LOL if you have been working for so long, I doubt if you would be content sitting at home watching day time TV.

As for what I do when I get home...first on the way home I pick up m kids from school and pray to God neither of them tell me "I need to buy blah blah for school BY TOMORROW!!"

Then I lock myself in my room for a good 15 mins while I have my cup of tea.

The rest of the evening is spent playing with the younger one or help her do her homework. Ensure the elder one does her homework. Any part of dinner making I finish up now. Then I take lil one for a walk and elder one go for bike ride. Have dinner by 7. Change and read to lil one. Put her in bed. By 9 elder one is in bed. Then I relax.

Is hard but if I did not have my job or my kids to keep me occupied I would go absolutely crazy!

I can totally relate to that

*There ARE pretty girls out there who don't have it easy as you assume. There are some who are in toxic marriages.......their looks alone were not enough to guarantee a good/right husband.........they work hard to make ends meet, etc. You don't know a person until you start living with them.......and that includes what may seem like the "right guy." Think of Tiger Woods' wife. She's beautiful..........doesn't have to work........but look at what she's going through. And Mila Kunis (whom you've been said to resemble) is an attractive girl. *

Mila Kunis???

Who is that.

Mena Suvari, yes.

I don't know. All I know is that when it is 5 am, and my alarm rings, I want to bang it to pulp against the wall, and do not want to see anyone in the morning.

I have to force a smile on my face some mornings. Other mornings, fine I'm excited to get to work. But each day, I just watch the clock, waiting to get home. And when I get home, at least these days, I stare braindead at the screen and get some enjoyment out of what you guys write.

Otherwise, I'm just tired. I want to move on.

I'd really really really like to relax at home for once, and just have someone else do all the work. I just wonder what it feels like to wake up in the morning, watch TV and munch on cookies just waiting for hubby to come home with a wad of cash and some chinese food.

can you go part time pcg? you could travel.....

Mena Suvari is very pretty as well. Being told you resemble her is a compliment…however we tend to be our greatest critics. I think her and Mila Kunis kind of resemble each other…small face, fine/delicate features.

http://www.birtak.com/hollywood/photos/mena-suvari-2.jpg

http://mimg.ugo.com/200803/4072/MilaKunis.jpg

Why don’t you take a small vacation, PCG? Think about what you would want to do, where you want to go…and then take some days off from work. It could be refreshing.