Women in Workforce

34% of the population ???????????

GEEZ! What happened to "betian khuda ki naimat hai" ?

This statistic seems wrong though...it doesn't look like only 34 % of the population is fem!

You know, I was just wondering about that...if women were no in the workforce, wouldn't men begin to resort to sodomy and homosexuality? Hey, it happens in prisons and anywhere that men are limited to socialize with only men.

Originally posted by PyariCgudia:
You know, I was just wondering about that...if women were no in the workforce, wouldn't men begin to resort to sodomy and homosexuality? Hey, it happens in prisons and anywhere that men are limited to socialize with only men.

8 hours a day is all men spend at work....
and the rest of the time with their wife....
and any way ever heard this "absence makes the heart grow fonder"????

for me, its just the fact that Islam says a man should workk to support the family so it means he should....
and an environment with both sexes can cause unwanted (Islamically) hence women r to stay home or work in a women-only environment which is almost impossible in the male-dominated world....
hence the conclusion. women stay home....

armughal,

Just as a point of interest, do you also believe that women should be struck if they are disobedient?

Apologies to the rest of the participants. The question is not meant to derail the discussion.

You can talk all you want about environments that induce bad actions.

If you want to point out a nightclub as an environment conducive to ill behavior -- then you have a point.

An office area being conducive to ill behavior? Well 2 things wrong with this assumption:

1. An office area is also conducive to good behavior and productivity. Both women and men are capable of good behavior and productivity

2. An office area of only men, by the same logic, would also be conducive to homosexual liasons being formed (as long as you believe that homosexuality is not genetically predetermined, as Islamic faith supports). Thus, men should not be working TOGETHER -- perhaps each man should have a separate office and never be allowed to leave from it and lay eyes upon another man for fear of homosexual feelings arising.

You can talk all you want about environments...in the end, its a person's will and judgement that decides whether that person can control temptation and make the right decision. So lets cut to the heart of the problem, instead of using an office environment as a scapegoat: women and men have temptations -- how can one build themselves up to prevent this temptation from becoming a reality?

Now that the discussion has gone down the drain, can the moderators be kind enough to change the subject of the post to ‘Women in Work Force’

Anyway, I disagree that women are only 34% of the population. In the thread by NYA in Pak Affairs it was stated:

And this ratio 94:100 is believable at least (though I am still skeptical). In other words, one can make up these numbers as there is no immediate way to validate such statistics.

Lastly, for people like **armaghul **there is a procedure called sex change. If they beleive women have equal rights & should still stay at home than they shouldn’t have any problem being one.

[This message has been edited by ahmadjee (edited June 19, 2002).]

Here are the results from U.S Cencus Bureau of IDB Summary Demographic Data for Pakistan

Midyear Population, by Age and Sex:  2000 and 2025
(Population in thousands)

------------2000-----------     ------------2025-----------
AGE           TOTAL     MALE   FEMALE         TOTAL     MALE   FEMALE

TOTAL       141,554   72,488   69,066       213,338  108,669  104,669

This shows women to be about 48.7% of the population.

Originally posted by armughal:
** i really dont mind anyone telling me i flirt or even have a bad character....
but constanlty hearing names of these girls, who i have exchanged emails and PMs with, and considered them as younger sisters, does hurt....
cuz u r dragging them into something which they r not a part of....**

I can only speak for myself. And you're dragging me into something which I am not a part of.

Just to ease the seriousness a little, here is a joke for y'll :)

In a small town in the US, there is a rather sizable factory that hires only married men. Concerned about this, a local woman called on the manager and asked him, "Why is it you
limit your employees to married men? Is it because you think women are weak, dumb, cantankerous...or what?"

"Not at all, Ma'am," the manager replied. "It is because our employees are used to obeying orders, are accustomed to being shoved around, know how to keep their mouths shut and don't pout when I yell at them."

Originally posted by Sarah Splendor:
** I can only speak for myself. And you're dragging me into something which I am not a part of.**

u may wish to ask ammarr about this....
he is the one who brought ur name in....

Chalta hai

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/smash.gif

A gullible naive simpleton like you probably believes everything saiod or written.Try to filter it through yourself & dont make everything like CHALTA HAI …nahi bhai nahi chalta hai ..who gave you such ideas

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

Olive is very "blackish dark skin fruit"how was that an aphrodisiac for men or you just passing on rumour & gossip mill rounds.

What kind of proof you have except for some words written by maliceious writer towards the painter ???

“Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards.” – Unknown

Originally posted by Muzna:
**The below shown article is taken from: http://www.globalwomensrights.net/library/weekly/pakistan092201.htm

The status of women in Pakistan.

Pakistani society remains a male dominated society. Nevertheless, women are assuming position of influence in their communit

Muzna ,
Sarah
Pyari Gudia
Teen DEvian

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pretty.gif

read the following argument against western concept of nuclear family both parent working spl. when children are young & all the ills of western women

http://www.arabnews.com/Article.asp?ID=16166

What altruism!

By Reem Mohammed AlFaisal

It seems that the US Congress is very concerned about the rights and liberties of Saudi women. It has even conducted an investigation to collect information to enable them to pass resolutions in order to pressure our males to give Saudi women their freedom ? or face sanctions if the men refuse.

As a Saudi woman I would like to thank the honorable men and women of Congress for their concern and their tireless quest to protect and liberate the women of the world. Wasn?t this one of the major concerns of Congress in the war on terrorism? Was that the reason they called for the end of the Talaban ? who took power in 1996? For some reason, their abuse of Afghan women only came to the attention of Congress quite recently. Let us not be too particular; after all they are trying to do their best to help us. However, if Congress is so busy fighting to liberate the women of the world, do they have time for the concerns of the women of the United States of America who elected them?

After all, the median weekly earnings for full-time female workers are only 76 percent of their male counterparts in the United States. Lower salaries of course mean lower pensions; the Older Women?s League (OWL) says that by the year 2020 poverty among elderly Americans will be confined primarily to women who are alone. As for single-parent families, women are more likely to be the ones left to take care of children while the man leaves and rarely pays alimony. That is why 40 percent of all families headed by single mothers live in poverty. Now why isn?t Congress doing something about that? Oh, and while we?re at it, how many women are in Congress compared to the number of women in the population at large? And why haven?t we seen a woman president or vice president in the USA yet?

Out of all the top earners in the USA, women account for only 12 percent although they constitute 46.5 percent of the work force.

Corporate America of course never hesitates to use women?s bodies as gimmicks for selling everything from wood polish to cars.

Even in Hollywood actors still get starring roles despite wrinkled faces yet actresses have a hard time finding an “interesting” role if they are past 40. Women are asked by the American media to bare it all or force themselves into being eternally 18 or the latest, to inject themselves with a chemical ? all in a quest to stay beautiful for whom? Men of course. Does Congress think it is not important to protect these women from grave dangers to their health and even possible deaths? This kind of medicine, by the way, is unregulated in the US.

Everyday four women die in the USA as a result of domestic violence ? that is 1,400 a year. It is estimated that between 2 to 4 million women of all races and classes are battered each year in the USA. Every year approximately 132,000 women report that they have been victims of rape or attempted rape and more than half of them know their attackers. Women are 10 times more likely than men to be victimized by an intimate.

But don?t you worry, Congress. I?m sure US women can suppress their aspirations for a better life while you neglect the true responsibilities of your office, to solve the problems of the women of the world. Meanwhile I thank you for valuing my rights over those of your countrywomen. What altruism!

Reem Mohammed AlFaisal is a Saudi photographer. She is based in Jeddah.

P.S. bTW female to male rationin India is 800:1000 in the areas where selective abortion of female foetus is done

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

“Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards.” – Unknown

hmm i havent read many of the psots sent on here, but what i can say is in my opinion so long as a woman is behaving islamically is not dresseddd revealingly and she needs the money then she should work, esp. if its for other women, personally i prefer women dentists or doctors, u feel alot more comfortable with thtem

Sugar, spice 'n all things nice

Xara, what if she wants to work because she wishes to work...whether for pastime, to further a cause dear to her heart, or simply because its her passion?

Thats all i have to agree with

i dont think theres anything wrong with that, not at all i dont see why women should be restricted from work
if they want to earn money or do it for a pastime or whatever, theyre equal in the sight of God to men so long as they dont do it with a bad niyyah then everythings fine

i think some men who are quite possessive of their wives tend to stop them from work, if work is part of her then they shouldnt try to take it away,
my nanis 67 she still works, shes divorced and single, she could leave any time but she says she doesnt want to “watch the box all day” so she does something constructive instead
its her respect, its a part of her taking it away could have serious implications mentally

ive noticed many of the older generations even some of our parents think its wrong for women to work, dont u know larkiya teez ho jatee he? (geez that makes me sooooo

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/frusty.gif

)

Azad Munna,

I don't know what you wanted me to understand after reading the article that you posted, but here's what I take from it:

That the discrimination against women is not isolated to the eastern world. That the very same prejudice against their involvement in the work force is apparent even in the west.

Muzna

I think you got the gist .Since this was written sometime back& i accidently while serfing archives of arab News came across this .

IT is a bashing of west & USA particularly bySAUDIE women using USA,s extra concentrated effort towards women of islamic faith particularly Afghanistan ,& ultra conservative practicing Saudie ,i just added some points when bashing west .Of course pushing for 100% employment of full time women ,as has been done since ww1, to the present is NOT RECOMMENDED for muslim nation.

In ww2 maily b/c of factory to run women were taken out from there homely duties (rosie the rivetter) is a famous poster of biceps flexing american woman which is a classic poster still,sold at premuium price of that era.

After ww2 the trend of women and in nation work force continued .However not without paying high price in the form of mental health (anxiety ,stress divorce domestic violence ,alcoholism etc.etc.)Thanx

After ww2 the trend of women and in nation work force continued .However not without paying high price in the form of mental health (anxiety ,stress divorce domestic violence ,alcoholism

Do you think working men pay the same price in the form of mental health?

Originally posted by PyariCgudia:
***After ww2 the trend of women and in nation work force continued .However not without paying high price in the form of mental health (anxiety ,stress divorce domestic violence ,alcoholism*

Do you think working men pay the same price in the form of mental health? **

If men stareted bearing children & become homekeeper /homemaker then there would be .

If you still dont understand ,just think ,women trying to have both of the world i.e. marriage children family & Career is IMPOSSIBLE task for normal woman ,Normal =Average

It doesnt mean women shouldnt be educated or those that are capable of should not do it .However the family duty of bearing children raising kids homemaker should not be treated as options ,choice ,...like matters of pre marital sex ,abortion ,lesbianism,single motherhood ,divorce ,etc.etc. is tolerated as personal choice here .Divorce is more common within 2 years 50% get divorced 50% above children out of wed lock.