Women are Hotter than Men

Re: Women are Hotter than Men

Ok, so these old men can wear pants, but older women cannot. That's not my point at all. They can wear pants, because they grew up wearing them in Pakistan. Women didn't have that culture in Pakistan - they wore shalwaar kameez mostly.

But you can have a desi guy in pants, who looks horrific. Its not that he wears them. Its that he looks bad period, whether he wears desi or western attire.

Women, even in their older age, can be fairly groomed for a shaadi. I dont see the men getting groomed at all. They show up to a wedding like they just got out of a bed and put a suit and tie on.

good points sara. economic pressures, schedules etc can do a number on people's health and its not just exercise, stress and lack of sleep etc etc can all contribute to that.

so I would agree to a large extent.

I would say however that , even of someone is heavyset and not loaded that they can make educated choices about what suits them and what does not, what looks good on them and do that. I do understand that for some people practicality is the most or only factor in their choice in attire even if they know that it is not the most flattering.

Is that the cause of many desi 30something men..mostly south indians from the looks, rock somewhat see through horizontal stripe jersey polos with banyans underneath, with the shirt being too tight and hugging a belly with too tight and too short dockers with frayed braided belt and mocs with white socks? I dont know if its choices, circumstances or what.

mostly because for shaddis they dont give a damn and its not as big of a deal is for them compared to teh ladies who have to show off their jewelry, get done at a parlour and is the highlight of their week or month etc.

because if u go by that token many younger desi guys who grew up here dont give a damn and just show up casual while the chicas are all decked out.

so yes for desi shaddi events who is more properly dressed and decked out, the ladies def are.
but in a normal every day day to day thing, i dont think so. e.g. the sari and basketball shoes combo :)

and what is more important in the end, looking good at a desi commiunity thing or being able to better integrate into the host culture, where I think ladies can learn a lot from men, especially ladies of the older age group.

X2, u need to see some melbourne aunties :) that's all ive got to say

Sara, i dont think one really needs to go for pedicrues and all that jazz to look good. One can look after themselves at home too.. u dont need super duper products to feel and look nice... for girls, less makeup the better :) nahin?

only naani's and daadi's wear the sari + basketball shoe combo.

No one in my age group does that.

i think those people who go out and about a lot... like to work or even maybe to the shops and stuff... who are more independant, know how to look after themselves (this is in regards to aunities and uncles) they have a better understanding of whats out and about and what looks good..

sometimes, even if u have kids who are aware of certain looks, they can pass down (up) some ideas to the parents.... which is pretty cool too i must say.

as for desi weddings here in melbourne, both guys and girls deck out quite a bit... most guys are in suits and have spent more time infront of the mirror than their sister(s). As i said.. U ALL NEED TO VISIT MELBOURNE

gosh, i need to be like an ambassador for melbourne desis

noone be it aunty or not.. be it old or young.. be it man or woman does that here! yikes what a look... totally reserved for Bend it like Bekham type movies thank u

Are they not desi and are they not women? I said from the get go that i varies by age group and locals versus imports.

nani dadis do that..and others
then you see the odd mixtures of pink and yellow kurat shalwars with baseball jackets and mocs in grocery stores and all..

are we takling about pakistanis here or just the desi community in general

ohh there are such rangers in australia too, maybe you have no run into them,
shadis are one type of event and its very very very easy to look good for shaddis.
its how well you do on a day to day basis..and that I know is similar in australia too
only difference is that there is a smaller percentage of older desis there compared to UK, canada or US

and yes guys in US deck out too, but girls start doing it at an earlier age, mid teens while guys in that age group are often pretty casual, as they get older yep they dress up. after all desi shaddis are meat markets

thread started with desi which to me includes both indians and pakistanis
however, all points i noted apply to both groups, although in personal observations not that I can be sure of national background always for the men but language and all serving as clues or for women the bindoi serving as clue in many cases indicate them as indian but for the rest they can be pakistani or indian, i dont go and ask :D

My aunt who was visiting us wears shalwaar kameez (she lives in pak and was visiting us) and she bought a sports jacket here. She was convinced it would look lovely over shalwaar kameez.

I didnt have the heart to counsel her.

But she takes meticulous care of her body and face. She's 65 and a hot babe.

a ha...see ... i know what I iz talkin bout yo.
very observant MashaAllah
pats self on shoulder shabash..

^ lol… prob in sydney… im referring strictly to melbourne :snooty:

yes but gernerally speaking, we have a small number of pakistanis here (indians not so small). And most of these people, at least the men, are skilled professionals, and that rubs off onto their fashion sense… and then onto the wives…

we shouldnt make fun of people, but yes, a lot of times, ur position in life does make a difference to the way u dress and what not… not ALL the time.. but a lot of times.

Having said this, there are soooooo many more desis in melbourne now than ever before… some have migrated (couples with young kids) from the middle east and some from europe.. and man they dress well. Seriously.

There are a number of pakistanis who send their young ones to the same daycare as munckin, and man those couples look decent..

and thats where PCG i would take her out and buy her a "gift" from me :)

i have done that on a number of occassions...

im just saying, the dress sense varies completely.... depending on where bouts u r from.. i have observed

Exactly. some people just prefer that and don't have much of a choice due to time or money constraints. And then there are those who just dont care =/

No...where?

oh hunny...for some, at least showing up and coming to a wedding with their wives is a battle in itself.
Who cares if the men aren't groomed? at least they showed up, and im sure they had other things on their mind than if their sideburns are even--or whatever.

I just dont get it, if itsnot your dad, or a potential guy that you'll be marrying, then why worry about what uncle looks like?

I would have, if I had more time to go shopping with them. As I was working over the holidays, that didn't pan out.

Showing up to a social event with your wife should not be a battle.

Prior to marriage, these very guys slick it up and try to look all chiknay and hawt and haute.

Then after marriage, all that goes poof?

what if they were never that chiknay or outgoing etc to begin wtih? :@: