Windows turned 25

Did you know that the first version of windows was release on Nov 10 1983. It was nothing but a GUI with 2-3 applications (a text editor, a game and one more) which was running in DOS environment.

Then why Microsoft did not celebrate the silver jubilee of windows os?

I was reading a PC world article and according to this guy, Microsoft simply does not want to remind the world how old the OS is. According to him, Microsoft should retire this OS and move on to something new and he gave Apple example that how they moved on

I dont agree to that. Windows 7 and Windows 1.0 (very first release) are not even close. The only connection is that Microsoft did not dump the brand name “Windows” in 25 years. I mean if they called Windows 95, Doors 95 instead, would it not be consider a new OS, rather than an upgrade of Windows 3.1

And what about Windows 2000, that was not even a DOS based OS anymore. That was a different OS .. yes GUI was similar, but the foundation was different all together.

But then this weird naming convention ..

1.0, 2.0, 3.0, 3.1, 95, 98, ME, 2000, XP, Vista, 7

what the heck is that .. some marketing guy needs to get fired in Microsoft

I agree...I dont get these naming conventions as well. Wierd ones!

Re: Windows turned 25

I am waiting for it become widow now.

It's all about the Linux baby..... unless you forgot to compile the kernal :)

:lifey:

linux all they way.

i once wrote a complete linux kernal in binary - with ones and zeros.

and once another OS using just zeros.

ahh good times.

tobah gap marny say pehly bhang peety ho kia

Nahi, gup maarnay ke baad

this is Gupshup .. first gup .. then shup shapaa shup shup

come on guys, you cannnot just dis windows like that. It still has 90% market share. Its a great os .. but bigger you are, more flaws people see in you .. that is it

lol, not really, the name makes sense as far as MS are concerned.

It follows like this :

1 - Windows 1.0
2 - Windows 2.0
3 - Windows 3.0, 3.1, NT 3.1, NT 3.5 (All version 3)
4 - Windows 95 was V 4.0 which ran parallel to NT 4.0, Win 98 was 4.10.1, Win ME was 4.10.2 (All version 4)
5 - Windows 2000 was V 5.0 and XP was 5.1 (All version 5 and first consumer based NT)
6 - Windows Vista is Version 6.0
7 - Windows 7 - The 7th release of windows

yes that makes so much sense to the end user .. everything is so clear now .. :D

I don't think they give a crap to whether it makes sense to the 'end user'. The version number identifies the kernel in each OS and is meant for software developers...

^^ Good stuff .. no heart burns here ..

so are they gonna change the brand name or are going to stick with Windows logo

probably wont change it, the 'windows' concept is pretty much the same. Unless they completely abandon the platform and start over like apple did, i don't think they're gona change the logo.

Their new logo will be a roshandaan

Question for the linux junkies,

Did you use linux to write what you wrote?

Acha tu Reshman 25 ki hu gai:D

abb to reshma ki poti bhi jawan ho gui hai :smilestar:

And we are not junkies we are FREE souls!!!
No boundaries No restriction.
Do what ever you could imagine you machine is truly yours,