Re: Why Punjabis Do Not Speak Punjabi With Their Kids
punjabi people speaking urdu with a punjabi accent just sound camp to me!!
It doesn't sound camp, I tend to find the Karachi accents very camp or very riffraff depending on what sort of an Urdu-speaking person it is.
Punjabi accent on Urdu however does sound very jaahil, I was watching Mehndi Waaley Haath and the Urdu they speak in that is very Jaahil sounding, it's not that they can't speak clear Urdu, I think they find it cool to give it a painduness but it's not.
Making it the national language of Punjab would work but Pashtuns (or Sindhis for that matter) would never accept it.. Urdu has been somewhat tolerated because the clergy propogated it as the liturgical language of the Muslims of that entire region but Punjabi wouldn’t be tolerated.. A lot of Pashtun people don’t like Punjabis, a lot of people in my paternal family are very racist “Panjabee achi loak nahi hai”, lol..
Maybe, but from my experience I find that Pashtuns are far more racist to everyone (especially Punjabis) than anyone else.. I don't know why because there's nothing extra-ordinarily special about Pashtuns.
I'm always getting into fights with my cousins when they make sly comments about Punjabis because I have a very soft spot in my heart for Punjab.
My mum's side are Punjabi and I love my *naankay *a million times better than my paternal family.. I love my dad but his family get on my balls (na khud jeetay hain aur na kisi aur ko aaraam se jeenay detay hain), always serious, nosey, getting stressed over silly things, can't take a joke.. I can't relate to their psychology at all but I love my maternal family, they just love to chill and enjoy themselves..
I am sorry to say but you are a real racist! What about bengali - why that was not made national langauge - spoken by the majority of the people of Pakistan at that time.
As Iconclast rightly said "Punjabi is an ancient language. Urdu is just 500 years old and originated in Mughal courts while, Baba Farid was writing Punjabi poetry, nearly a thousand years ago." It has its roots from many languages but the main language is turkish.
There is no difference, just different pronunciations. If you speak with the "kha" dialect you will say Pakhtun, and if you use the "sha" dialect its Pashtun. Collectively, Pashtun/Pakhtun/Ethnic Afghan are used for the same people.
totally get your point. My parents refuse to speak punjabi with us, despite the fact that they speak it amongst each other. However, I speak it anyways to bug my mom…
i think it has something to do with the ‘lehja’ of the language…people are under the impression that it comes across rude, and uneducational. A language is a language, i personally dont see why parents are denying their own language
Maybe, but from my experience I find that Pashtuns are far more racist to everyone (especially Punjabis) than anyone else.. I don't know why because there's nothing extra-ordinarily special about Pashtuns.
I'm always getting into fights with my cousins when they make sly comments about Punjabis because I have a very soft spot in my heart for Punjab.
My mum's side are Punjabi and I love my *naankay *a million times better than my paternal family.. I love my dad but his family get on my balls (na khud jeetay hain aur na kisi aur ko aaraam se jeenay detay hain), always serious, nosey, getting stressed over silly things, can't take a joke.. I can't relate to their psychology at all but I love my maternal family, they just love to chill and enjoy themselves..
I can understand that. Its the opposite in my case my mother is Pashtun, and i don't like my maternal relatives. Though the immediate family is nice the second cousins are the typical Naswar eating. I hardly ever meet them. And yes they are Racist to the bones.
I guess the general idea is to get kids speak urdu at first and they’ll learn Punjabi on their own gradually. However, i think ‘some’ kids then never get used to speaking the language.
MY Mom&Dad spoke Punjabi with us brothers. The youngest of us brothers, went to school and did not know urdu, to help him we all started speaking urdu with him and since that day, its like, we are speaking Punjabi with each other but when we turn to him, un-knowingly, we speak urdu.
I am sorry to say but you are a real racist! What about bengali - why that was not made national langauge - spoken by the majority of the people of Pakistan at that time.
Bengali were really not capable to rule the country - what do you think? They were physically not capable to join the army, weren't good farmers.. No one would have accepted to be ruled by Bengalis... Punjabi was the language spoken by the people who mattered.
I am Punjabi and my parents never spoke punjabi with us at home, I learned punjabi by myself by listening to them, but i still have this slight urduaised accent for punjabi.
Bengali were really not capable to rule the country - what do you think? They were physically not capable to join the army, weren't good farmers.. No one would have accepted to be ruled by Bengalis... Punjabi was the language spoken by the people who mattered.
They are now running their own country and doing far better than us!
hehe... i can speak and understand punjabi but my parents dont let me speak punjabi with them.... and they cant give me any solid reason why i cant speak punjabi... strange..
The are now running their own country and doing far better than us!
Who told you? Forget Pakistan, they are worst than bhookey Indians... My relatives who fought 1971 war told and were posted there told me Bengali quam is very lazy, short/dark, eats rotten fish and not very Islamic.
This chap will not refrain from posting crap. You think that GOD spent 80% of HIS time in creating Punjabis.