Why oh why!

Re: Why oh why!

Totally agree that the problem is more severe with Pakistanis living in Pakistan...that country is just well...I have no words to describe how messed it is.

Pakistanis here...the hardcore ones that want to follow cultural traditions also screw things up for others.

Heck I'm having 3 events, mehndi, shaddi, and valima...when I would be more than happy to have just 1 event...just 1 wedding.....had we done 1 event, we could have started our marriage with a condo of our own .....but because of all the money that is being spent on the three events....we'll have to wait a year or 2 before we get our own place. sigh

sooo true..a family friend just got married..and she is the only daughter. The father thought why not buy buy everything the girl may need for the next 100 years...right.
Well they spent close to 50 lakhs on her wedding thinking the Inlaws are going to be stunned and give their daughter respect...
well.....she gets married, an entire new portion of the house in redesigned just for the couple at the Inlaws request...paid for by the girl's father...its literally stuffed with everything you can imagine...
The house has 4 bathrooms..and guess where the MIL deciedes to put the brand new washing machine? yeah thats right..in the newly weds' bathroom.. :)

after an entire year of constant intrusions by the MIL..the DIL finally speaks up...they kick her out..with a new born baby...and say "the washing machine will stay..YOU go back"

she still remains at her parents house..the husband comes and visits her and the baby..some man huh...

so in the end...'things' will not matter..you may buy the entire liberty market..if the people you get are not good...how can we expect the things to make a marriage work??

so sumo...i agree with that point...try to find people who you KNOW will not be of such mentality...

i wrote an ethnography for one of my classes on how pakistani culture and economy are fueled by weddings.

Honestly, sometimes I seriously wish I was white so I wouldn't have to deal with all this BS. It annoys the c*r*a*p out of me...

^ that must have been interesting! please share...

this totally kills!
if i was the guy and my fiance was behaving like a mad greedy woman, I d give her a reality check and let her know what a turn off that is!! It is not like she is never going to get anything ever again! so girls...please if you are lucky enough to have good inlaws dont turn them off by this kind of behavior! :) have a heart..because demanding and expecting expensive gifts EVEN if your inlaws can afford them, is not proper etiquette.
remember...your inlaws are NOT required to buy you joras and gold, you husband is and that too what he can easily afford and provide
so ladies, dont think ill of your inlaws if they didnt get you blah and blah..or dont get sucked into thinking they are "supposed" to buy you this and that...
your parents and your inlaws are throwing the ginormous parties for you..so be grateful! if you need designer shoes and clothes..let your husband fulfill those demands, IF he is able to...or if you are independent...feel free to splurge :)

omg.....just what we are talking about in life1

a guy has to chose someoen to marry but he is not allowed to talk to the girl!

im so angry

ok....what i dont get is...who came up with that rule? Our prophet (pbuh) and Hazrat Khadija talked...didnt they? She liked him and sent a proposal through the elders..i mean....if some girl did that TODAY people would flip! so were our Prophet and his wife-to-be ahead of their time, or have we gone backwards? with our dowries and the mentality that comes with it...

Guy and girl are allowed to talk when they have the intention of marrying each other and they want to know each other a better ...

because people mix up backwards tradition with religion.

exactly!

sometimes it's the parents, my friends dad insisted on having a photo booth with book thing because he enjoyed it at another person's wedding. he insisted the bridal party to make giant baskets with personalized bottled water (also something he liked from another wedding) and filled with granola bars, chocolates, bags of chips and stuff for ever guest on the groom's side that was staying in a hotel for the wedding. she's simple yet her dad pushed her to much more expensive and heavier outfits, jewelry and to the point that she cried bc she wanted a simple set and he told her if he doesn't marry her off "properly" his friends will think he's cheap, or that they are poor.

A lot of times people spend way too much on their weddings because they feel they have something to prove. This can be on the bride's side, the groom's side on the parents. I think that's why we are lucky we have a valima bc that's all responsibility on the groom's part. But i've heard of in-laws demanding a certain number of outfits for the mother, the aunts and cousins. I think that's retarded, buying stuff for immediate family is normal but all this extended stuff is uneeded and parents should be more considerate.

I applaud those of yall that know you won't be breaking your parents bank just to have a few days of "lifestyles of the rich and famous".

let it be known this isn't just a pakistani problem it's a desi problem. my friend's husband wanted such high class decor and finally my friend told him her father has 4 other daughters and if he wants it he should pay for it. so brides too need to be able to stand up for their families.

^ i know...the guys are thinking why should we stay behind..
i have seen some demanding versace suits, and paid holidays...even surgeries!! i mean....thats definitely an extreme...but even the regular demands like refurnishing the home, cars, china etc...sound so pathetic..that nothing surprises me anymore..

awesome thread, chanda! i agree completely.
being on the larka wala side for the first time, all i have to say is, if you have a beer budget as most people do, and are marrying into the same as most people do, don't expect a champagne lifestyle for this ONE day.
is it really worth the stress?
from a future nand, let me say, not all inlaws are evil. we try to do the very best we can and we love you, for cryin' out loud, or we wouldn't even bother with that much!
we make things with all the love in the world and we want to make you happy, so when you reject the non-designer dress or the non-diamond sparklers, its really hurtful and stressful for us. so please, girls, your inlaws are human too (mostly ;))... be kind!
give us the respect and love we give you, and don't consider a compromise a negative thing.
i promise you, whatever you wear, you will still be beautiful and radiant as a bride, because your happiness will (or should, anyway) shine through.
being a bride is a 5 hour affair... being someone's wife, daughter in law and sister in law is a lifetime commitment. iA when we have more, we will do more for you- no question about it.

^that was so sweet. ur bros wife is lluuuuuucky!

haha wow never heard of that one but am not surprised

For those who had to go through such things at their own weddings due to demands and pressures of their parents and inlaws, hopefully things will change within our own generation, that we will not impose such silly things on our children! Its sad that we are just a nation totally consumed with impressing others and putting on a show. There is nothing wrong with having a big fancy wedding, as long as you can AFFORD it and not go into debt for it. And there is nothing wrong with having a small simple wedding and no one should ever be made to feel ashamed if thats what they chose to have. A wedding should be a beautiful celebration of love, happiness and the start of new family, instead we make it into the craziest drama with enough stress and tension to last a lifetime!!! I really do hope at least our generation will wake up and change things for the future. Alhamdulillah Im so happy I didnt have to deal with any of this greed and craziness when I got married, it really breaks my heart some of the stories I read here on gs!!!

what would you ladies do if your ln laws sent you your wedding dress and it was disgusting? not becuase it wasnt designer just because it was truly hideous?

I know sgc!! i have already expressed my displeasure for the girls who demand endlessly.....especially when they know the expense of the wedding is big enough!! spending on the wedding means spending on the wedding!! not a million suits, for the entire troupe.....and it certainly does not give the bride any reason to push her demands in everyone's face as well!! I feel sorry for both sets of parents..to be honest...it makes the bride look very unpleasant...
i know i know I KNOW it is the bride's day...yes...but its not fair to use that excuse in a distasteful way...

also...i went to valima here recently and honestly the girls in laws are the nicest kindest you could ever have, if i had a saas i would want this aunty!

But the girl wanted a £2000 diamond and platinum ring.......the family were so shocked and dissapointed but didnt say anything to her...i just found it plain rude.