Why MQM gets votes and what can be done about it [split: Election Results]

Re: Why MQM gets votes and what can be done about it [split: Election Results]

In a separate discussion, two people made the following interesting comments:

1. It took the people of NWFP 4 years to realize that MMA needs to be kicked out. Sad Commentary on the people of Karachi (so-called mohajirs) who after 20 years still have not realized that MQM needs to be kicked out.

2. Only MQM can save Karachi from MQM

Zor(ghunda gardi) ko salam hy:(
PS: Bari hi khofnak haqeeqat hy ky is sadi main Pakistan ky shehri kiss sadi main sans ly rahy hain:(

You forget one very important thing - the people of NWFP feel the MMA have done nothing for them whilst people in Karachi or shall i say large portions of the Urdu spaking community feel the MQM have done the most for Karachi.

May 12th is one day in Karachites lives. Karachi has seen much more violence than May 12 and for most Karachites May 12 was another day and they moved on.

Why are so many non-Karachi based people still crying about May 12 - most people in Karachi I know have forgotten about it. Why are forum members still obsessed with May 12 - yes it was a black day but lets move on.

On the issue of MQM, I don't have particularly strong feelings. In my mind, its more like a mafia than a democratic political party. People vote for it based on ethnicity. Yes, they have done some good things in their role as city Nazim, but the bad things they have done in their history far out-weigh the good things.

Having said that, people vote for them. Either due to sheer love or for lack of choice. Unless people get another viable choice and do not vote for MQM, I fully support people's right to select who ever they feel is the best candidate.

In the famous words of a wise person "you get the leaders you deserve". May be people of Karachi deserve leaders like Altaf Husein, Imran Faruq and the like.

Even before MQM came to the scene, Karachi has historically voted for marginal opposition parties (Jamat-e-Islami and other religious parties). So, in a way, Karachi have never been mainstream national party kinda city. PPP has a few seats there, but these are limited to certain pockets and have not expanded their reach.

From a mind-set stand point, Karachi folks think they are always treated unfairly. For a city that provides a huge portion of national wealth, they don't get as much back from the federal or even provincial government. In a way, that justifies them always voting for the opposition parties. And this helps in developing and perpetuating the victim mentality. Seems like a vicious cycle.

Good luck to people of Karachi and all the supporters/voters of MQM.

I think anyone who supports PML-Q, PML-N, PPP is just as guilty as an MQM supporter. All 4 parties can be very thuggish when they want to be. I do not think an MQM supporter has anything to be ashamed of in particular.

This thread is about why people support the MQM - I ask myslf why people support PPP, PML-Q, PML-N etc.

Th MQM roots lie in a reaction to ethnic and linguistic differences and support by the Zia regime to weaken his opponents.

It must have been very difficult for muslims from India to have come to Pakistan and integrate especially when so many settld in Karachi, Hyderabad and other areas of Sindh. They created ghettos which bcame exploited by the Zia regime. Karachi must be considered a home turf for Urdu speakers and thy must no longer be reminded they are Muhajirs or Immigrants when they are just as Pakistani as the rest. Every ethniccity within Pakistan has a home area so why should the Urdu speaking community not have it?

Th MQM have organised thmselvs into a very effective group but they must not resort to violence and they must abandon AAltaf Hussain - i also would like to see Nawaz sharif and Zardari abandoned so its not exclusively Altaf who receives my hate.
The MQM must learn to live with others and work to the benefit of all not just their own areas.

On a social level the Urdu speaking community must feel it self under a lot of threat as their numbers ar not increasing as fast as the population of Pashtuns who are now assrting themselves within Karachi. In the UK we often hear stories of how Muslim immigrants are refusing to intgrate and creating ghetto's - I am guessing the MQM leadership has done a similar tactic with its voters with threats of Pashtuns taking over Karachis, Sindhis trying to force their identity upon them and Punjabis trying to exploit them. There maybe a lot of truth in these but the way to deal with thm is not conflict.

I suppose Urdu speakers do not want to become a minority within their own areas even though they probably made others a minority in Karachi.

and Pakistan deserves nawaz sharif, benazir bhutto, musharaf and possibly zardari? did pakistan deserve everything that has happened to it because of the leaders?

the victim mentality and vicious cycle could be true - but only MQM supporters can understand why they vote them. i dont understand why are mqm voters made to feel so low when none of the political parties within pakistan are exactly angels? the MQM are here to stay - they are vote in democratically so we should respect it.

If MQM voters are so loyal to ghundda Altaf and that joker is so confident on their loyality then why the hell he is not coming back to Pakistan? That coward creep is certainly afraid of his life. He know that he will have to pay for all the paaps he has done and is living a life of coward geeddar. If MQM so much claims to own Karachi then who is he afraid of? It beats me to see these parhay likhay jaahil haath bandh kar baithay uss biggest joker ka telphonic khitaab synn rahay hoatay hein. What a shame!

Mr What will You Say About 27th Dec 2007 when all karachi was suffering from Violence and Murdering.I Understand your brain and mentality how you people are democratic and love pakistan.DOnt forger MQM is reality if some 1 want to become baber we are waiting for him.

I live in NA-246. This is the constituency where Suifan Yousuf got the highest numbers of votes in Pakistan 186,933!

We have 6 voters in our home - none of us went to the polling station but all our votes were promptly "casted"!

Turnout was indeed only 20-30%. So one should fairly subtract about half of those votes to find the real number casted in his favour.

The opposing candidate was PPP's Sohail Ansari who got 6,714 votes. I know him personally. He was my classfellow at school and a dirty ghunda by core! How could i have voted for him?

But surprisingly Memons of the area voted enthusaistically for MQM.

MQM at least should be given the credit of fielding middle class people for elections as compared to the other parties in the country who only field influtential people.

Interesting, how do you know your votes were really casted?

Where there are no opposing polling agents. You can expect these things.

but how do you know YOUR votes were casted without you going to polling station?

just wanted to say …
if Karachi ppl wants MQM to represent them in goverment. ..
y creating a buzz abt it …
move on guyz …
next topic plz :chai:

Lets hope mqm is not able to make a government, that would be awesome.

I think MQM like parties should be all over the country but deviod of ethnic and religious biases. And Imran Khan should join MQM to force Altaf to leave it.

Oh no! They should be the part of any future governement. I do not want my city to see the things that happened in 1991-1997!

MQM should be a part of the Government. But they should cut the hate policies and move forward like a uniting force. They could learn a thing or two from PPP and PML who have wider bases than just one city/area. I know the people that vote for MQM are good at heart, it's the top leadership of MQM that is in question. The party in itself, is another political force.

bhai sahib, zara nigaahe-karam is sawal pe bhi daal lijiye:

MQM was part of what happened in 91-97 unfortunately. :(

^True...

I mean right now is either take it all or lose it all opportunity for all parties to just work for the public, for once.