hijab isn't the 6th pillar as far as I know, so why is it SUCH a hot topic?
And for all the "conservatives" how in the hell do you know if the "liberal" here doesn't read all their prayers, or is a decent person? OR sorry, do we have to be willing to kill someoen to be properly religious?
I have known many many people in my real life who practice Islam yet aren't preachy or shove it down your throat and aren't condescending.. And none of hte "conservative" Muslims in this thread fit that bill.
wow ive heard shoving down throat, so many times in this thread...im assuming you guys have other things you shove down your throats.......
who said anything about willing to kill someone to be proper relgious...simple fact is, nowadays, even reading namaz is seen as one step away from joining the taliban. and hey, let me tell you, i was once like this, my husband when i firs tmet him, would read 5 times a day and i categorised him as religious, and i see other people assuming he must be a screwnut too if hes *shock*reading namaz and 5 times.....wow he must be really religious and really fanatic....just because in contrast, we all suck at being muslim. fair.
nothing to do with pillars. step awat from the pillars. namaz ka tareeka is not in the pillars. getting married is not in the pillars, yet we find its one of the islamic obligations and we should do it....hence why most of us get married, no?
syraa- if someone tells you how you can be a better lawyer, doctor, nurse, teacher, human, woman, friend, wife, mother etc etc, we are happy to hear so. no one likes being told how they can be a better muslim....or even a muslim in this case...!
What on earth are you implying?! That people who don't wear hijab aren't muslim? Oh please. Your 'advice' on how to be a better muslim was just hypocritical imo...if you can remember, you said the way we behave is irrelevant when it comes to wearing hijab. So yeah, you're right...I don't like being told how to practice my religion especially when the 'advice' is a load of hypocritical BS.
I know plenty of people who practice Islam...yet they don't feel a compulsion to tell people how to practice their faith. Like I said before, I don't have a problem with 'conservative' muslims...I have a problem with muslims who can't mind their own business.
and hey, let me tell you, i was once like this, my husband when i firs tmet him, would read 5 times a day and i categorised him as religious, and i see other people assuming he must be a screwnut too if hes *shock*reading namaz and 5 times.....wow he must be really religious and really fanatic....just because in contrast, we all suck at being muslim. fair.
Wow. Just as I suspected you're projecting your own prejudices on others. Just because you felt like that about your own husband doesn't mean we all think like that about people who pray 5 times a day.
NOPE-because i have seen, and heard people talk OF HIM like that, people who dont know him, yet take one look and think that, and have heard countless times about others. my own mother went from not reading to reading 5 times and people TAlKED.JUST LIKE YOU GUYS HERE.
and for the love of god, can someone point out where im PREACHING AND TELLING ME TO GO READ, AND WEAR HIJAB AND DO SO RIGHT NOW. where?
at the end of the day, if someone likes what your saying, theyl think your lifesaver. if someone doesnt want to hear it, will think your a molvi.
allah gives hadayat anyway, obv not everyone gets it.
and hey im no perfect muslim, hell i dont wear hij either, my point wasnt centred around me saira, or anyone else, it was centred around muslims in general.
my results show me from this forum that people bascially are muslim by name but dont want people telling them how to be a better one, and by people im not talking about me.
in all my million threads i opened ONE on religious topics and all of a sudden im a molvi...is that how u become a molvi these days?
Where do you get the right to judge people about their deen based on what they write on a public forum? Islam is a personal issue and again, I repeat, it with the individual person and their Lord. We can spread Dawah and try to guide them on the Straight Path, but you should not make assumptions and slander people by calling them Muslim by Name only.
Yes, Islam is a way of life, and inshallah will be of high and most importance in one's lives, but please dont judge - the is only for Allah SWT to do so.
calling someone muslim by name only is slandering??????
and calling someone who simply asked why people dont read, for them to bash my head in and call me a religious fanatic is not slandering......these people didnt even asnwer the question that was asked to them.
Prophet Muhammad said *:"Do you know what backbiting is?" They said, "God and His Messenger know best." He then said, "It is to say something about your brother that he would dislike." Someone asked him, "But what if what I say is true?" The Messenger of God said, "If what you say about him is true, you are backbiting him, but if it is not true then you have slandered him." *(Muslim)
so using islamic references here is good, but using islamic references for the farz of reading namaz.wearing hijab is shoving religion down peoples throats...
puhhleaeeeeessee.we are soo selective.
and before anyone starts, I was not making anyone do anything, i was simply asking a question of muslims nowadyas who dont seem to practice as much and as to why that was. simple.
JO islam mein likha hai, woh hum karte nahin, lekin jo nahi likha woh hum bahut khush hokey batate hain, kay yehh to quran mein nahi likhaaaaaaa...........
reason i asked why poeople DONT as to why people DO, is because
a} hardly anyone does, so il get hardly any replies.
b} EITHER way read my first post, i never lectured/accused/ got all self righteous on anyone. its the BS along the wya with peoples jibberish slandering and not answering question that was asked.
c} isnt it ok to ask? whats wrong with asking....more to be gained than not to be, if taken sincerely.