Why DO you believe?

Re: Why DO you believe?

How can you be so sure? Hv u ever visited other religious seminaries to make such a assertion? :slight_smile:

pretty lame excuse, i would say !

Never heard of it before.

well you guys heard it now.
tell me you non muslims how many children you know in your religion from 7 to 15 years old had memorized your holly book?

Memorization of a book is not a miracle. Anyone can do it. There are child prodigies in America who graduated high school at the age of 10 and college at the age of 13.

Memorization is such a lame thing to do that no one on his earth would compete with so-called rigid muslims.

Plus, dont be surpised if even a child can do it. Because child has no IQ. All he can do is repeat after u. So whats the big surprise here?

Even an atheist who thinks that has to be somewhat concerned that once he dies, he ceases to exist. I think any atheist you ask, as much as they hate to admit it, have some desire to continue to exist. Its impossible for them to not be concerned with death, there is no creature on earth that doesnt want to contnue and survive, from human down to single celled organism, our lives are ultimately geard to survival. Same with agnostics. An agnostic is simply not sure, but given the choice im sure they would want their to be a god, atelast for the sake of an after life.
Even the Chinese would be disturbed by the thought that there is no after life, im sure even they are hoping there is an after life god or no god.
God I think is only an expression of Mans desire for their to be a purpose to life and a guarantee that there is more out there.

I dont hate Islam, I hate Mullahs, that should be clear. I hte them because they try to take something so pure as faith and politisize it. They make it so that they are the sole source of Islam, and have no problem with forcing their views on others. Theirs is a degenerate form of Islam that is an insult to the true spirit of Islam or any other faith for that matter ..

It is an interesting thing about the Koran that the way its written makes it very easy to memorize... Probably because it was meant to be memorized initially, since most people were illiterate. Also Arabs had a strong tradition of recitation, so it makes sense that Koran would be in such a format that lends itself to being easily memorized.
Plus I dont think it makes you a rigid Muslim if you memorize the Koran. Its sfe to assume that ithe prophet had it memorized and that to memorize it is only carrying on the tradition.

Talk about being self-righteous zealot !

So if if an atheist says he is not concerned, he is lying?

Tail, u lose, head i win. wah bhai, wah!

Hey, bro. get out of ur lofty place that u built in ur head.

People who have no religion, ARE HAPPY with their lives. They r not living in hell, OK?

True. Iam totally with u on this subject, but wud just like to differ on the memorization concept as practiced today. It made sense then, and as a Sunna makes sense also today. But, children being forced to memorize (Rote) without being able to appreciate its true spirit and then leading to a culture of Madarssa as we have in Pakistan has proven to be more destructive than constructive. What this rote has done is create an army of semi-literate fundos who have gone beserk in the Muslim world thinking that they know it all. I wud rather have a student who did not memorize the Quran but understood its true meaning and respected the life and right to live of others. :slight_smile:

Quran is writted in poetic manner. If u can remember Ghalib’s or Faiz kalam, u can memorize Arabic too.

But I ask u a simple question: Whats the use?

Whatever verse u talk about I can look it up on internet easily, or worst in a written Quran.

And whats the use in memorizing something that u do not understand?

Will u send ur kid to Spanish school? NO? Why not?

Easy to memorize perhaps if you speak Arabic or are an Arab from the 7th century with a strong tradition of recitation, but very difficult for most of humanity to read, never mind memorize because Arabic is so very different.

When Prophet Muhammed(SAW) showed people of his time a miracle of breaking moon in to two pices even then people dint accecpt this as a miracle.
so i dont mind if you say memorizing Quran is not a miracle. I do ask you nonmuslims do you have any child or let say man or POP or prest who had memorized your holy book.
insted accepting this that there is non you are trying to givs excuses of Quran's Miracle.

hey

i beleive in Islam b/c
1. It brings comfort to me, like some ppl i noe who have no idea wat they are are always so confused, like ready to accept anything
2. gives me a spine like moral list to live with, something of a perfection factor to thrive for
3. True, my parents did enforce religion on me, but i would do nothing other than thank them for it

One more question for u guys: what would make a person NOT want to have religion, like want to be Atheist??

You have to be a believer to truly understand why we’re Muslim, it’s hard to express in words.

Some of the reasons what come to mind are pretty much what everyone else has said, it’s realistic and practical, satisfying, it makes sense unlike a lot of the other religions I’ve come across, I’ve always been interested in spirituality and I’ve done a fair bit of research on a lot of religions but they’re always either one extreme or the other, never found them to be a practical and sensible middle path like that of Islam, the other two Abrahamic religions are okay but still lack a lot, I’ve also a basic knowledge of the eastern religions and they definitely don’t come up to the mark, except for Zoroastrianism and Sikhi which are far from perfect and the latter seems artificial at times but they have a lot more substance than the rest of them.

Another reason I’m Muslim is it’s like God is talking to me directly when I read the Qur’aan, it solves my problems and guides me, on countless occasions I’ve been confused about a certain matter or had something on my mind and if I unintentionally end up opening the Qur’aan at some random page, right there in front of me would be the answer or guidance on a certain matter, one incident what comes to mind is the other day I came across some book on paganism and there was a chapter about star worship, about Sirius worship in particular, and at the time my Iman must have been a bit low on fuel and I thought hmm that sounds really cool and fascinating, after a bit I went to my room and just for the sake of it opened the Qur’aan at a random page and the first verse my eyes fell was “And He (Allah) it is who is the Lord of Sirius”, it’s not just a coincidence on so many occasions I read verses in the Qur’aan and they relate to my own life so well, it just seems to come alive every time I read it with faith.

Also prayer as well, with the way He answers my sincere prayers there just has to be Him up there, I’ve foolishly prayed to Christ :as: (taught at school), to ‘Ali :as:, to Piya Haaji ‘Ali, to Mary :as: and to Ganpati (friends influence), of course this was all during childhood and none of them have ever been of any avail to me ever, if anything it ****ed things up for me even more but every time I turned to my true Lord and King, Allaah :swt:, He’s been there for me always, coz it’s only He who is capable of it.

So many time I’ve made a slip in life and because of my actions my life has become a living hell and I’ve been surrounded by problems from all sides but every time I repent from those major sins which are probably the cause of my suffering, Allah takes away my problems and opens out a way for me, I’m not even worthy of thanking my Rabb and showing my gratitude for the amount of time He’s done that.

Yeah I know I just gave a long-winded preaching session just to get on your tits.

My question is for everyone… Why do you believe in Islam?

iss ka hum jawab de sakte hain jiss ka taluq hum se hay, kisi or ka nahi keh sakte kiyon ke woh khud behtar jante hain apnay baray main.

3 jeezon (heart, mind and soul) ka yak’ja ho jana ‘humaray’ liay ma’ani rakhta hay. yeh aik kayfiyat hay, or iss kafiyat ko hum Ishq ka naam deyte hain. zindagi main hum ne iss kayfiyat ko do soraton main paya.

1. Ishq e majazi
  2. Ishq e haqeeqi

yahan aap ke sawal ka taluq ishq e haqeeqi se hay. to hum batate chalain ghar hazaron nahi to 100 aise lamhay aay hain. jab 3 cheezein yak’jaa hon, or kahain “Allah tu hi hay, Tu hi Tu …Nahi hay koi Rab oor Tere siwa”…
Hum ne Allah ke Rasool (SA) ko hosh ki ankhon se na daikha na suna phir bhi aisay hi dosray kisi lamhay main yak’jaa hon to kahain.
"Beshaq hum Imaan lay Mohammad (SA) par jo Allah ke bande or rasool hain. or Quran ke baray main bhi
“Beshaq Quran hiqmat or hidayat hay”.

yeh hay humari zati waja ke hum kiyon musalman hain.

Adab.

i believe in islam because my mommy told me to do so.

lol.

n the people who survived terrible things did have hope because they believed in God, and wanted to live. and thats how they survived.
and if they didnt care they would have died. n its true for other life threating situations. havent u seen oprah.. lol.

Hope and Love

Dear Fellow Guppies,

Firstly I want to say that my words were reflective of the topic:

Why do you believe? In Islam? In ANY religion?

In my reply to the topic I included the question:

Why would there be hope if God didn't exist?

Some replies..

I am amazed at the thought that Hope could not exist without God.

"These people still "hope" there is life after death... But its the certainty of it that a god provides, thats what they lack...

"If the purpose of God is to give hope, and hope is the ultimate rational for believing in god, then why should I believe in Islam, or anyother religion if all other options can also provide me with hope?"

(Who said the sole purpose of God was to grant hope?)

Anyway....

Am I correct in saying that the topic is not about debating or finding error in each others reasons for belief.

The topic asks why we believe.

I'm am not muslim. I am also not an athiest.

I also will not ridicule your reasons for religion.

well seriously i dont know why. i like the religon, and i love learning all about the history part ( i never thought id turn into a history nerd,) but there also some things that bother me, or it might be the way some people just interpret some things.

so what makes you interested in knowing why?

I second that. Yes at times I question, but that is the nature of mankind.