Why do Pakistanis consider Mahmud Ghazni, Mohammad Ghauri & Aurangzeb Great Muslims?

Re: Why do Pakistanis consider Mahmud Ghazni, Mohammad Ghauri & Aurangzeb Great Musli

Jizya
Jizya was applied to every free adult male member of the people of the book, and/or non-Muslim living in lands under Muslim rule. There was no amount permanently fixed for it, though the payment usually depended on wealth: the Kitab al-Kharaj of Abu Yusuf sets the amounts at 48 dirhams for the richest (e.g. moneychangers), 24 for those of moderate wealth, and 12 for craftsmen and manual laborers. Females, children, the poor, and hermits were exempt from it. The disabled and elderly were exempt unless they were independently wealthy, as were mandicant monks—those living in productive monasteries had to pay. Historically Muslim rulers also attempted to collect jizya from Hindus, Sikhs and Zoroastrians under their rule. The collection of the tax was often the duty of the elders of those communities.
In return, those who paid the jizya were not required to serve in the military and were considered under the protection of the Muslim state, with certain rights and responsibilities. Non-Muslims were also exempt from zakat, or mandatory charity imposed on Muslims. In addition, if a non-Muslim chose to serve in the army, he would be exempt from the jizya. If he refused to pay the jizya, he might be imprisoned, as Abu Yusuf recommended.
In modern times, the jizya and zakat taxes have been replaced by more modern forms of taxation.

Just to make you understand, how can Muslims serve in Hindu armies in LARGE numbers and at the same time live in the Hindu societies without paying a penny? That does not make sense :hoonh:

The exaggeration is clearly evident here :frowning:

Re: Why do Pakistanis consider Mahmud Ghazni, Mohammad Ghauri & Aurangzeb Great Musli

Marathas should certainly be proud of Shivaji since he was the only king from that region which made an impact in the Indian history, but this is also a fact that he used to conduct raids and loot the rich people in SURAT. Surat was the commercial capital in the western part of India during those days just like Bombay today. Nehru had mentioned about this in his historical masterpiece "Discovery Of India" and just couple of years back Shiv Sena had made large protests in some places to delete those lines from this book. But my intention is not to criticise Shivaj. I am just mentioning the historical facts. Even the great emperor like "Chandragupta Vikramaditya" whose reign is considered the golden period of Indian history, killed his own elder brother Ramagupta to acquire power. There are many instances all over the world where royal family members have fiercely fought to acquire power, brothers have been killed and father has been imprisoned. So Aurangjeb was not an exception. I have even read about an ancient Persian king who blinded his own son out of fear of loosing his throne.

Lahori this is for u..
jaziya is only to practice their religion.. and there ae land taxes on top of it to live and work..

Re: Why do Pakistanis consider Mahmud Ghazni, Mohammad Ghauri & Aurangzeb Great Muslims?

As discussed by some earliar the kings and rulers in those era had to kill even their own families for survival.. despots and kings from any religious backgroud had to inflict a iron hand just to survive or they would had perished otherwise..

As far as my own views Mahmud Ghaznawi was a "robber-in-chief" just greedy to get gold to establish his kingdom.. by attcking hindu temple and plundering it (as its is against Islamic basic principals to not touch any religious places.. resulting in much hatred and very low muslim conversion in south india compared to north..

Aurangzeb killed and brutalized sikhs and burnt their religious places.. in fact his hate and killing instinct was the direct result of sikh movement in Punjab.. though he tried to be a pious muslim same as Zia but his acts were henious..

If that is your answer after reading my post, then it is very clear, you have no idea of what it is and you don’t wanna know and you just want to create an issue for nothing.

I asked you many things in my post, many questions. I asked you questions about Shiva’s mode of government. You did not answer even those queries.

This is a truely close minded Hindu mentality… No supportive evidence. No reference at all. :nook:

Re: Why do Pakistanis consider Mahmud Ghazni, Mohammad Ghauri & Aurangzeb Great Muslims?

You also, please provide reference to your claim.
I'll try to present mine. You cannot howl in the air like this.

please provide detailed references for how 2 + 2 = 4

…that is how stupid you sound

Close minded what crap..
chal hat.. do a google and u know what i am talking about.. dumpo.
Now tell me why Jaziya is still there in certain parts of Pakistan.

There are churches all over Europe and even in the US with murals of the Knights Templar. I believe there are some that have even been beatified. How do the Arabs, or Muslims in general, feel about these "saints".
I believe these Europeans would also see themselves as trying " to complete the lacking" in the Arab world.
Funny how one man's saint can be another man's opressor.

Pious warriors Knights Templers
too bad we had to fight against them
they were worthy opponents of the muslim knights
they fell victim to the Godless and Greedy King and Pope

You know I can hold you from your neck....
You should support your claim first. Don't jump to e and f. You started A, now go to B .....

Guys/Gals....... have you noticed that the thread is started by someone and that person enjoys watching others argue in the thread?
The same person started muslim painter thread and disappeared from discussion like in this thread. Just an observation.

Right.
I am gonna scan the information in response to the original poster. Unfortunately that information is in URDU. I’ll try to translate it in English and then post it here.

Sultan Mahmood Ghaznawi
Muhammad al-Abdah
Taken from al-Jumu’ah Magazine

Mahmood was a pious king, who was very much interested in seeking knowledge but above all he loved jihâd. One achievement in his love of fighting in the cause of Allâh lead Muslims to call him the destroyer of the idol.

As the end of the forth century of hijrah was drawing close, the city of Baghdad was suffering under the oppression of the Burayhee, a nation of ruthless people who came down from the province of Daylam in Northern Iran. They seized the region and subdued the Khalifah leaving him no power except the pomp and protocols. Meanwhile, Islâm was prospering in the regions of Khurasan and Afghanistan. Didn’t the Prophet sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam say: “My ummah is like the rain, you do not know whether its goodness is at its beginning or at its end.” And didn’t Allâh, subhanahu wa taala, promise that this ummah will never be uprooted, and that there will be goodness in it, and that it will be the uppermost until the Hour comes. Isn’t it amazing that in all the Islâmic history, whenever Islâm is weakened in one area, it flourishes in another!

In this weak period of the Khilafah, a power has sprung up in Ghaznah, southwest of Kabul, at the hand of a Turkish family, whose leader was Sabektekin. Sabektekin started jihâd in India. Then came his son Mahmood. Mahmood showed a great capability in leadership and had a strong personality. The whole province of Khurasan rallied under his leadership, and his rule extended to Azerbedjan. AlQadir Billah, the Abbassid Khalifah approved of his rule, seeing in this Sunni power a help against the Shia and Mu’tazilah of Daylam.

Sultan Mahmood was among the earlier pious kings, very much interested in knowledge, drawing close to him the scholars, as he was known to love hearing the hadith of the Prophet, sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam, being recited to him. When his popularity reached the far ends of the Muslim land, the Fatimid government in Egypt tried to win him over. They sent at-Tahirti, one of their da’iahs, to talk to him. Discovering their plot, Sultan Mahmood killed at-Tahirti and offered his mule to the sheikh of the city of Herat saying, “The leader of the disbelievers used to ride it, now let the leader of the believers in Allâh alone ride it.”

The most commendable act of Sultan Mahmood was his love for jihâd. Every year he would set out to conquer new lands, heading always toward India. Allâh granted him success many times as he opened many lands and brought Islâm to its people. News reached him one day that the Indian people believed that what had brought weakness and destruction to their land was the wrath of the great idol Suminat against the rest of the idols. The great idol, they said, was the provider, the one that brought life and caused death. They used to make pilgrimage to it. A great wealth was accumulated at its site, to the point that ten thousands villages were counted as part of its endowment. A thousand of Brahma men were at its service. The idol was in a far away fortress, a walking distance of a month away from the Muslim land. The road to it was difficult and sparse in water.

Nevertheless Sultan Mahmood set out to destroy the idol after making istikharah (asking Allâh for guidance in his decision). He left on the second day of 'Eidul-Fitr 416 AH, at the head of thirty thousand cavaliers and a great number of infantry men and volunteers. They reached the fortress on the fourteenth of Dhul-Qi’dah. When the Indians saw the determination of the Sultan, they offered him a great amount of money under the condition that he spared their idol. Some of his field commanders advised him to take the money and leave the idol alone. He said, I have thought about the matter, and I see that when the Day of judgment comes, I would rather be called, ‘Where is Mahmood who destroyed the idol’, than ‘Where is Mahmood who spared the idol for the wealth of this world’." He took his pickax and went in. The idol was adorned with gold and rare jewelry that were beyond description. With a mighty blow, it fell broken to pieces. He returned to Ghaznah in Safar 417 AH.

Sultan Mahmood sent to the Khalifah in Baghdad, informing him of the great victory, saying, I have conquered citadels and fortresses, and nearly twenty thousand of idol worshippers reverted to Islâm." In his book, ‘Shatharat ath-Thahab’, ibn alAmmar said, “[Mahmood] continued his conquest deep into India, until he reached areas where no flags of Islâm were raised before.” Adh-Dhahabi said, “His intention was pure in promoting the deen, he was successful, he would frequently go out for jihâd, and his halls were the gathering places of the scholars. His grave is in Ghaznah. People gave speeches praising him in Khurasan, India, as-Sind, Tabristan, and Azerbedjan.”

Sultan Mahmood was born in 361 AH and died in the month of Rabi’ul Akhir in 421 AH. May Allâh grant him mercy and reward him for what he has done for Islâm and the Muslims.

http://www.sunnahonline.com/ilm/seerah/0060.htm

More about the lies and venomenous propaganda of Hindus about Mahmood Ghaznawi… Click here ------> http://www.bizbrowse.com/UrduDiegest/features/islam/ghaznavi/ghaznavi3.htm

:naraz:

Their gODS have ornaments, gold, silver, diamonds and all sorts of wealth hidden in their tummies… what do we call such gODS…

Thats an invitation to Hindus to start imagining about your so called God and putting it here. Is that what you want? You are quite sick ( of course you think you are a genius)

I just stated the facts. Previously, I have been stating the facts from your hOLY Books, which you people have been denying continuously. And then you call me sick.

Bombay bhai, I didn't say anything from my side. I didn't make anything on my own.....

Accept it.

It'd be great to read if you can tell us the truth rather than throwning garbage on anyone which would only make you look bad.

Thanks......

I think we need some tolerance from both the sides and we have to stick to the topic.

Actually the problem is muslims in pakistan consider someone like mehmood of ghazna their hero.There is a chapter in the curriculum of urdu book in sindh board which has the title of somnath ki fatah(The victory of somnath) in which they describe mehmood ghaznavi as a pious muslims who came to somnath for preaching islam etc.But others would not agree with this version because they described him as a plunderer who just robbed the people and took all the gems and jewellery of the mandir.So it is about how one thinks.

^ Yaar I am looking forward to some credible information and some reasonable comments. I am presenting mine and waiting for their take on it. Nowhere does it show I am being intollerant......

Info about Ghauri coming up .....

Aurangzaib did the right thing by abolishing deen illahi there is no other opinion about this in muslims.So nothing wrong with that.It is just like if someone says that he is the reincarnation of sai baba and it turns out that he is a pedophile what will the followers of sai baba will do with him.by the way this fake sai baba has millions of followers.So whoever will malign a religion its followers will obviously react and if they have some power wil definitely stop it.http://www.salon.com/people/feature/2001/07/25/baba/index.html
Jizya collected from non muslims is in line with islamic principles nothing wrong with that either.

I think there can be more than one opinions about the rulers and kings but i think it is for sure that great poets and sufi saints are also respected by non muslims as well like baba fareed,bahauddin zakaria,shah latif,khawaja gareeb nawaz,haji ali etc

so? If you're feeling jealous about it, do something about it. If you try hard enough I am sure you can write and think too. As to smell, just take bath everyday.

is this addressed to me? what's there to prove? by making pimpy statements about Somnath you have proven your credentials amply