Why do Pakistani people speak English mixed with Urdu so much?

Re: Why do Pakistani people speak English mixed with Urdu so much?

Pakistani politicians have no reason whatsoever to deliver speech in English. It is not like their speech is taken seriously around the English epeaking world or media that they MUST speak English.

Their countrymen largely speak either the native language or at least understand Urdu MORE than English.

So why the need to speak English? Seriously?

Even in UN, there is facility for translation then what the heck was the reason for Malala to address UN in English language????

Just to show Pakistani women from remote area can speak English??? Really?

One good thing that she wore her traditional clothes and must be acknowledged.

and why have you missed the part of my post where i said 70% of people in Pakistan speaks regional languages.
so in a country where only about 30% of people speaks English language ( in fact it is less than 30% as not all people living in urban cities can speak it), why are you arguing that everyone in Pakistan has a slave mentality as they are speaking English.

and speaking English is not due to the slave mentality, it is a universal language. i have people in Singapore, Malaysia,Australia, US with whom i need to communicate for work purpose daily. a person in SG doesn’t know Urdu and i don’t know Malay, a person in US/Australia don’t know Urdu so we all converse in a common language and that is English.

and when you need to learn any language, you start the learning process when you are a kid in order to have command over it, so it is totally right that kids in urban cities are put to learn English when they are babies.

so according to your theory if people are speaking English they have slave mentality? then this means that if i am wearing jeans i am copying Farangi? and as i am typing this post from a farangi manufactured device, this also puts me under the “angreezon key ghulam” category.

Beards and Burqas may be a bad example, but there are a lot of people emulating what they think arabs are like, if not in dress then in speech. I dont think all of it is some sort of religious understanding, but a cultural adoption..just like people are anglophiles or francophiles, it is not impossible for people to be arabphile or saudiphile, in their dress (jubbahs and leather socks are one example) and language..(you do realize the khudahafiz which was used by a lot of ppl is not under siege by allah hafiz…why not just say fi Amaan Allah instead of twisting khudahafiz to make it allah hafiz)… you can also see it in pronunciations of words..people using very arabic pronunciation .. just see how a common person speaks the word “yaani” vs someone who attaches the full might of the guttural throat to do a “YeaAny”…

of course I have my fun with both the english mixers and the overly arabic ones because I then just switch to full english or arabic with them, and then they are lost because of a lack of command of either..and not that my arabic is fluent, but it is better than the ones peppering their speech with arabic pronunciations or the over use of subhanAllah, MashAllah, InshaAllah, again no issues with these words and I use them too, but there are those who have these as a fillers in every other sentence..and then there are those who not only use it in every other sentence but use a full on arab accent in middle of conversational urdu for those words.

I have talked about those who with no reason trying to mimic someone who they clearly are not and more importantly it is not even required for them to act like that.

Regardless it is 30%, 50% or ..as you mentioned less than 30%.

I am talking about those who just have no idea that they are speaking a foreign language, or just trying to be foreigner in their own country.

As I said: English is NOT Pakistani language.

English was made Official language for a reason and maybe that needs to CHANGE with continued effort to promote **LOCAL languages **and along with that in order to keep everyone happy Urdu should be promoted as No1 priority.

ADD local language words and idioms in to one LARGER Urdu language.

**What happened to Urdu progress in the country? Really?

Keep English as 'official' language until the actual goal of ridding it from being official is achieved..may be in next 50 years.

Got it??????

I agree with the blue there.

And, I do see you point. If it is word or pronunciation to extreme, both means people are just trying to copy other.

Some people in Pakistan **just like their **majority rulers and army officials have no clue who they are and** how the country was formed** and what should make them as Pakistanis or what does it means to be Pakistani and what is not.

The issue is also with those good people who left Pakistan for one or other reson and I am not going to go in to that detail in this thread.

While we are at Arabic:

Let me say that those who recite Quran or do prayers in Arabic without understanding the meaning what they are saying in Arabic,.. may also need to learn enough Arabic to at least know what are they saying.

At least try to learn meaning of prayer in Arabic.:smack:

Don’t tell me you’re proficient in Arabic, too. Or is that too much of a S and S type assumption.

I want an urdu section on this forum

I agree with him on that regard actually. It's not about being proficient or an expert. It's about knowing enough to know what you're saying. It should be something all of us strive for.

I will also add, when the process of mixing languages results in a creole, which is arguably what is now forming in Pakistan and India (think Hinglish).

Meri Bhi Yehi Khwahish Hai.

In addition to what u_ahmed said, I must clarify that I used words like "enough" or "at least".

I am waiting. Even though I can guess and may be wrong.

Well not that I am in anyway defending actors or what not but English is a universal Language.I do not mind that,but the way these people dress is what both shocks and disgusts moi:)

I'd be lying if I said my views on understanding your prayer were any different. But if someone made zero effort in learning Arabic and somehow got the 'basics' because of its similarity with Urdu, then that's just equally discrediting - then you butcher Arabic just the same way as you're crying about people butchering Urdu.

I say butcher all you want Urdu, at least try to speak/write you own National language.

Butcher all you want any of your own local language, but at least show you are trying to be one who you actually are.

Meh...you have those types of people everywhere...

So you can show what you actually are by ditching English and learning more arabic! :hehe:

What made you laugh?.. is the real question.

Let me clarify here:

Identity of a person or group of people comes from many different directions and it is made from conglomeration of many different qualifiers.

I do not think you can ever prove that English is the language which should be considered as ‘norm’ or usual day to day life language of…Pakistan, (and India, Bangladesh, Russia, Saudi Arabia, All other middle eastern countries including Israel, Iranian, African, Thailand, or Chinese etc. etc.).

So that means people from these countries speaking and using English in their day to day affair are just not doing what they actually are.

**These people are pretending to be those who they are NOT. **

Once these people take off this fake layer of English coat, they will be able to show who really they are.