From average person to a celebrity (Singer, Actor, whatever) to politician and army general etc.
Why can’t they just talk straight for more than 30 seconds… in their OWN National Language?
I can see using very few words of English once in a while in conversation but why do they have to say whole sentence in English switching all of a sudden from Urdu?
As a side question:** Why** do they feel ashamed of wearing their own clothing or attire? (And that includes representatives from Pakistan and politicians, even foreign ministers etc.)
Do they think its** cool** to talk in English or act like Englishman from Scotland, England no matter how much they fail to copy… and they will be respected more if they speak eloquent English even when they are living and breathing in Pakistan?
Re: Why do Pakistani people speak English mixed with Urdu so much?
From average person to a celebrity (Singer, Actor, whatever) to politician and army general etc.
Why can't they just talk straight for more than 30 seconds..... in their OWN National Language?
I can see using very few words of English once in a while in conversation but why do they have to say whole sentence in English switching all of a sudden from Urdu?
As a side question:** Why** do they feel ashamed of wearing their own clothing or attire? (And that includes representatives from Pakistan and politicians, even foreign ministers etc.)
Do they think its** cool** to talk in English or act like Englishman from Scotland, England no matter how much they fail to copy... and they will be respected more if they speak eloquent English even when they are living and breathing in Pakistan?
Let us not put down our own people for being bilingual, there is a perfectly good reason for technical persons i.e. Doctors and Engineers to use english or switch into english from Urdu simply because there are no urdu words for tools of the trade.
I think it save a lot of time when both parties are bilingual to use which ever language makes sense!
Diwana, your above post consists of approximately 130 words, give or take. Not one of them was Urdu. Tum khud apni baat pe amal karne main pehl kyun nahi karte? Convert your post into Urdu. The Roman Urdu already tends to impede reading speed, however you will manage to hinder it further for majority of the GS populace if you post in actual Urdu. Kum parha jaayega...to kum samajh main aayega...balke laug samajhne ki koshish bhi nahi karain ge. As a result, people's sanity, tempers, and bread pressure will remain fairly normal. Sab ko faida hoga. Chalo ab Urdu main post karo.
keha to hai 'kawwa chala hans ki chaal, ani hi bhool gaya'.... The nations who remained under complexes behave like this. First, there was a complex that we (being Muslim) are chosen people of God to rule these native Indians (totally forgetting that few generation back, some of our forefathers who were natives converted). After this superiority complex era, British treated locals with contempt.. They were even not allowed to enter or walk in certain areas like Mall Road Murree.. This lead to inferiority complex and people are still under spell of that complex to behave like their angrez aaqa.
Thank for reminding me of imagery (manzar kashi) competition... I want to invite all of and I promise... I will not keep Urdu option... It will be entirely in English.... :)
why does urdu have so many persian words mixed in, in desi accent? same reason. influence of ruling class' language.
This is about Pakistan and its National Language. While you seem to have asked a good question that does not mean it is right question.
Pakistan has its National Language as Urdu.
English was forced on to Pakistanis and Indians...after a well accepted Urdu language was established for even longer duration in a very large portion of subcontinent.
It was not until 1950 when Indians brought the idea of Hindi Language.
Regardless: ** Urdu** still is common language of two countries and joins them culturally through movies and songs.
Diwana brings up a great point. I think it's unfair to get on his case about the post being in English.
I have to post another observation which I may have posted here earlier. Some English word usage is peculiar. Like using the word sister instead of behen in an Urdu sentence. Or using mother or father instead of valida and valid, or Ammi and Abbu etc.
:-) they couldn't even translate 'Sindh Cultural Festival' into Sindhi or Urdu.
Well, we have adopted a lot of English words into Urdu anyways, even when writing. We use pencil, pen, car, road, train, telephone, jug, hotel, chemical, transport, tissue, box, paper, school, college, university, hospital, station, and many other words as if they are Urdu words.I dont think there is any harm in doing that.
Aaal iz vell untill we use English as a way to impress others.
Reminds me of a talk show host who said "hamain Urdu ki respect kerni chahiye aur bol chaal mein English words use nahee kernay chahiyain"
English is one of our official languages and is taught in school. Many of us speak English due to our colonial history. This can also be observed in India. Urdu may be our national language but depending on where you are from in Pakistan you may not even speak Urdu. The fact that many of us can effortlessly straddle between two languages highlights are intelligence rather than insecurity. Whether you like it or not, some people think and speak bilingually, and this isn't exclusive to Pakistanis. From my observations, South Asians immigrants in North America are much more proficient in English than people from other parts of the world and this is largely due to English being so prominent in the region. There is nothing wrong with being a multilingual nation. As you have stated yourself, diversity is what makes a society great.
Lets be real, desi clothes are not practical. They are best suited for lounging in hot weather and not exactly appropriate for the professional or recreational environment. Rather than being ashamed perhaps people who don't wear shalwar kameez are more comfortable wearing non-traditional clothing because they are not insecure in their identity as Pakistanis. Looking like a Pakistani doesn't necessarily make you a Pakistani.
Ali Azmat on Pakistani Idol is cringe worthy…the entire show (including his role when he tries so hard to be Simon but fails miserably. Simon is blunt and rude…this guy is insulting) is based on an American TV show.
As for using English with Urdu…I don’t see this is an issue since English IS part of the curriculum.
keha to hai 'kawwa chala hans ki chaal, ani hi bhool gaya'.... The nations who remained under complexes behave like this. First, there was a complex that we (being Muslim) are chosen people of God to rule these native Indians (totally forgetting that few generation back, some of our forefathers who were natives converted). After this superiority complex era, British treated locals with contempt*.*. They were even not allowed to enter or walk in certain areas like Mall Road Murree.. This lead to inferiority complex and people are still under spell of that complex to behave like their angrez aaqa.
Would appreciate if you would share what people are you exactly referring to? And by native indians in these lines you mean subcontinent people including both hindus and muslims or all faith groups excluding muslims?