Why Desi's prefer son over daughter

Re: Why Desi’s prefer son over daughter

salaam:blush:
i dont know of other people …our home is male dominated,we are with 4 brothers and sadely have no sister which really sucks:bummer: we would have loved to have a sister and my mom and dad would have loved to have a daughter but it is will of allah,it is his will and he is decider of who gets a daughter and who gets son and we as muslims should be grateful to him for what he has given us .a daughter who take care of her mom and dad is better then a son who al day long sit behind his pc and is busy posting massages on forums:( .
i mean everybody in our home is little depressed my mom says nobody helps her in kichen or you boys don,t make conversation with me or tum log meri baat suntay hi nahi or tumhari jaga larki hoti to us ko meri ziyada parwa honi thi,yahan par to larkiyan bhi larkoun sa ziyada kaam karti hain etc etc it is just boring at home , it is just too relax koi shore sharaba nahi no raunaq we rarely get a larki at visit …is liay jab hamaray ghar mein koi larki aai to sab bhai choop chaap sharma kar apnay room mein chalay jatay hein :o ap ko maray ooopar taras a raha hai na:D
with out larkiyan in genral an home isn,t an home and i really mean it.:slight_smile:

what i wanted to say is larkiyan mom dad ka ziyaada kiyaal rakhtein hein and people who prefer sons over daughters i think they are afraid about the furure of their daughters,they have some uncertainly in their mind regarding their daughter like person with whom she is gona marry and will he treat her well you know just basic question.

So why dont u help ur mom wiht the housework? its not that difficult :rolleyes:

Re: Why Desi's prefer son over daughter

Preach Sara Preach

^ I dunno if ur joking or bein sarcastic or what, but seriously.. if u c ur mom is so tired and stuff, why NOT HELP HER WITH THE HOUSEWORK instead of afsosing over not having a sister who can do all/most/some of hte housework? Why not teach ur son to do his own laundry or clean up after himself, instead of killing urself doing all that housework and being upset over not having a daughter to help u wiht domestic chores? And likewise, why not educate ur daughters and encourage them to be financially independent instead of crying about being poor and not having someoen to financially take care of you?

I agree...dont be dissin the moms tho...even if the mom tells them to do housework some still dont...this goes for both guys and girls.
About the financial stuff..the daughters become independent and get married and move away hows this going to help the poor mom...whereas the guys get independent, get married, stay at home, and hopefully get the family out of poverty.

I'm not dissing any mother.. just the desi mentality..

If u dont do ur housework and u c ur mom tired and sick and stuff, well that shows what kinda son or daughter you are.. whether daughters move away or remain close to the family n stuff, housework should be somethign thats split between both kids.. its not fair to let son slack off n play or do watever the hell he wants hwil eu keep ur daughters locked up at home and make them make chai for him or iron his uniform while he does nothing.. Sons traditionally make more money n stuff but thats after hs/college. .what about before, i doub tthey're paying all teh bills workin at mcdonalds

ahem some of the comments here are really outrageous...but one thing for sure thank goodness we dont live for long, its a sad and pathetic world...for godness sake we are all human being, why cant we just love unconditionally ...i hate couples who favor boys or girls...for goodness sake get over it and just be happy that you are blessed with a child...sick world indeed.

I agree, we are three brothers, no sister and we used to help our mom in household chores.

And we can talk to our mom all the day.

i dont know how girls can do all that work but we guys really gets tired if we have to clean the dishes, have to cook ,clean our home :o
when we invite someone and my mom has so much to do we do help mom but helping on daily basis is simply too much for us,my brother is :insha: going to marry soon and hopefully our situation will change,hamaray ghar mein kuch aur raunaq ho jay gi and meri ammi ko dukh sukh karney wali beti mil jaye gi … hamari bhen ki bi kammi poori ho jay gi and at the end of day we all will be a big happy family:D :insha: .

meri ammi ko dukh sukh karney wali beti mil jaye gi

bilkul, bilkul

ofcourse,do you know how hard it is for we boys to support our moms emotionly and listen day after day to the same ''grievencess''and ''peptalks'' and still we really dont get where it begins and where it ends.

Oh I prefer to have all girls … And If have a boy :hoonh: I’ll make sure they know how to clean and cook :smiley: Girls are the BEST :hula:

i know how to clean and cook :alhamd: obiousely when you dont have a sister and sometimes your mom is so tired that she cant make a meal for you then ofcourse you do wana know how to cook and other ‘‘gals’’ stuff:grumpy: you can,t sleep with empty tammy or can you?:hoonh:

Okay, so if you had sisters they would be able to do the work but you weak boys can’t? Give me a break and stop making excuses for your lazy carcasses.

Are you getting a sister-in-law or a servant? Why should a sister-in-law change your situation? She’s not coming to take care of you, she’s marrying your brother. Why should serving lazy boys be part of the bargain?

And I am sorry, but this is partly your mother’s fault for raising you to believe that girls should take care of you. You should have been given a list of chores as soon as you were old enough to help around the house. There is no excuse for laziness, plain and simple. My son helps me in the kitchen just as much as my daughters do, maybe even more, since he is older.

Even our Prophet (SAW) whose sunnah we love to talk about following did housework and helped with sewing, cleaning, etc. Do you lazy desi boys think you are better than Rasulullah?

^ very well said amana...I am glad you have raised your son that way. My mother has always raised me to cut grass outside and do some carpenting work in the house and many other things :D even though I really hate it, but I have to help out my dad sometimes since we don't have a brother.

Being the youngest son in a family with no daughters meant that I picked up responsibility for the traditionally "girly" duties.

These included but were not limited to: Vacuuming, dusting, toilet cleaning, sinks, bathtubs, making tea and serving the guests with a demure smile on my face.....

My tendency to be majorly freaked out by raw meat / raw fish meant that I blessedly escaped kitchen duties....

since i am here in holland i haven,t got anytime for my self most of the time i have been busy with college and have been going to the mosque everyday for past 4 years for atleast three hours with my little brothers to do hifze Quraan :) and believe me it is not that easy when you only get 1 hour to relax after school and then for 3 hours have to go to the mosque sitting there on chairs which are hard like a rock and after 3 hours when you stand up you probably wouldn,t have any feeling left in your "lazy @ss'' then yet when you come home at the end of the day somebody complains that you dont help in household and the food isn,t seved yet yet .i mean we hardly get any time left to play football let alone helping with ghar kay kaam and i do help my mom in weekend, of when i dont have anything to do it is just difficult to help day in day out when you hardly have time to watch news on tv.

^ Oh please, my kids do as much if not more than you do. So sitting on a chair for 3 hours leaves you unfit for duty. Excuses my boy, excuses...

tell me when you come 16.00 o,clock home from college and then again after 1 hour you have to go to mosque for 3 hours(not counting travel time) would you have any time left to help at home?

Amana you really rock....i agreed with basically everything you said...but unfortunately in pakistand and even abroad boys are raised so dependent on the females...god forbid when they are old and alone i bet they will rather die of starvation than stoop to womenly duties....yuck im so glad i wasnt born a man...lazy lazy and excuses excuses.
I feel sorry for the bhabi of that house hold...but majority of the family in pakistan get unpaid maasi when they marry off their sons.