See if your mother taught you to help her do chores around the house instead of just sitting around, then when you get married your wife would love you in every way possible if you even made an effort to help her around the house. Believe me you'll score big if you willingly do chores after marriage:). Your mother did a good job!
the aunt of my cousin died recently a very old woman, her daughter in law and son did everything for her they looked after her and everything
and yet she insisted that everything was for her daughters. it is so sad to think keh bahu and son are looking after you and yet you say htis, i dont know why that is.
My mother and father have gone through this son-daughter issue and still do, we had a brother and he died 10 yrs ago. Now we are just two sisters and some people still sigh when they hear that we have no brother. Recently a jahil aunty said to my mom that, "Kitna acha hota agar tumhay bhi Allah koi achi cheez day daita" and my mother kept crying for 2 days. We sisters wanted to slap her hard and tell her to go kill her own daughters and stay with her freaking sons who dont even respect her.
People dont think what they are going to talk about and the person on the other end suffers.
Let alone those people who dont have sons, desis dont even spare those whose only son dies. I hate some of the people i know because they keep realizing my mom and dad that they dont have a son and we are never going to stay with them all our life and then they are going to be alone and then what is going to happen to all the money they have? I mean i really want to tell them to go jump off a bridge and let alone my parents. Stupid people with stupid mentalities.
well darling its your parents fault instead of crying for 2 days, your mom should have bluntly told the stupid aunty of yours to mind her own business, and at the same time your mom should have pointed out that she better get a life of her own instead of worrying about what the future will hold for them.
Never let anyone walk all over you unless of course you want them to crush you...ppl like your sick aunty should be stopped right in her track for saying such shameless and vile things and the only person who can stop her are your parents unless of course they agree with her.
One last thing, life is too short for ppl to worry about their future jnstead they should focus on how to live their life to the fullest each day.
You forgot we are talking about desis here. I once told someone off because she said something stupid and she kept saying to everyone that i was "batameez" and dont know how to talk to elders. So i have left these people on their own, so have my parents. We know its never going to make a difference whatever we do or say.
Its better to leave such people on their own but you know how moms are. And my mom especially has a weak heart. sighzz
yes true we should respect our elders no matter what, but if they start meddling in other ppl business (which is very common in us desis probably due to the fact that most of the women have no life other than their maika or susral...they dont work or socialize much and are not in contact with different types of ppl who can maybe enlighten them) ....
any how to get back to my point, just dont let anyone meddle in your family affairs....and if a pophi or khala does, than tell them politely ...you have your own family dont you have enough problems of your own rather than to be concerned with ours...hopefully they will get the hints.