Why Bollywood Songs are not good for Muslims ?!

Nice post umar Bhai. We need people like u in every religion.

Re: Why Bollywood Songs are not good for Muslims ?!

Answer to the OP's question: Jenab, life lessons are anything BUT entertainment, (B)(H)(L)ollywood are nothing BUT entertainment.

If I have a child, who grows up watching such songs and movies. Then whenever he would come across an Ayah or a Hadith that mentions the "Imaan" of a believer or Shahadah in the way of Allah, he would keep bothering me with questions like, " Is Allah taking about Muslims here or Hindu martyrs and Hindu pious people with Imaan in their heart ?"

Then I would have to go through the task of explaining him. "Son, in front of Allah and the Prophet (saw) Imaan is only with Muslims, and only Muslim can be Naik banda of Allah who can achive shahadah in the way of Allah (s.w.t)"

And he would reply, " Why ? I have seen and heard about so many Naik Hindus with Imaan who can becoem shaheed, why does Allah only call Muslims with Imaan"

"Son, today I am going to teach you the first Kalima. And how do we perform Sajda in Namaz"

"Baba, yeh! I have heard the song. Terey naam ka kalima parhta hoon, tujhi ko sajda karta hoon. The hero was saying this to the heroine"

"Dad, I want to become a Hindu."

"Why son ?"

"Because almost all hero characters are Hindus and Heroines are Muslims in movies these days"

"What about Hazrat Umar.....etc. They are your heroes"

"Baba, I haven't seen them and know very less about them. The ones in the movies look more cool"

Then I would realize how his mind has been confused by such songs and movies.

Why must we Pakistanis distinguish ourselves by ethnicity??! So what if your background is from current day hindustan? So what if my background is pashtun? What matters is that our shanakht is Pakistani, PERIOD.

I've been guilty of it in the past too of trying to find out the ethnic background of a fellow Pakistani and I realize now that that is foolish. Its been brainwashed in us by our familys and relatives that such differentiation is required but it really isn't. Ethnic obsession and Sect hatred are the two poisons that will eat away at our zameen until we are no more.

Sudhar jao logo!!!

A Pakistani is a Pakistani is a Pakistani; no matter from which province or background.

i agree with you on the idea that our national identity is what matters, not this differentiation by sect and provinces!

however there is no need to be defensive about knowing and identifying your background, national identity should include who you are, you dont have to give up your regional identity in order to belong to the national identity. when you start discriminating on the basis of the ethnicity and sect.. thats where you go wrong.

^ I somewhat agree; but its a slippery slope.

something which must be taught and practiced. i have often said it inront of my indian colleagues and friends and those who are fair and realize, they themselves dont like the way, words such as Raab and Allah get used in film songs.

muslim youth and parents have a duty to ban all such and not support it ever, by patronising it.

I recently came to know of this, but unfortunately I still fear (from experience) that there would be few pious Muslims trying to justify the following wordings:

**Tujh Mein Rab Dikhta Hai

Sajdey sar jhukta hai**

p.s. Even the hands of a bad Muslim like me started trembling while writing these words, I wonder how are those pious Muslims able to convince themselves to listen to it quite often and enjoy it.

I hope most of the people who have come to know of this song knows for whom these words were used. Even the greatest of the Prophets didn;t allow anyone to use such words for him and here we hear that these words were used for a girl in a movie.

I hope no one will try to convince anyone that people are not influenced by what they see and hear so such illogical wordings doesn’t effect them.

](http://vtunnel.com/index.php/1010110A/4d0418e9b8fe9d68b8efcc3b4dcd5ab0dacb733af8494ad4dbc4a69e6fffdd0fb9b5d4dc37bc3e4b15040)

pal i think you should post the video so we can decide in proper context and all.

btw, the practice of addressing/comparing ones Beloved as God in song and poetry isnt a uniquely bollywood phenomenon.

maulana rumi, mirza ghalib, mir taqi mir, khayyam, baba bulleh shah and assorted certified muslims have been doing so from centuries. do you think you are better than them?

^ assorted certified muslims???

Just stumbled on this thread. Many points raised by STP hold water.

yes, he gave certificates of authority in Islam to atleast Mirza Asadullah Khan Ghalib himself.

they are catchy and they stuck in your brain. and kids constantly repeat these words.
n then they ask questions about the words they heard in the songs.

ps. i think i didnt write in this thread before.

its 2009 and AQ still doesnt understand english grammar too well. some things never change.

OMG :smack: … Its like rome jal raha hai aur nero banusri baja raha tha…

Go save brothers & sisters in gaza then talk about poetry & bollywood songs

^ Good point. Actually there are a lot of things in life on which we can apply:

Go save brothers & sisters in gaza then talk about ..................
Previously we could have applied:

Go save brothers & sisters in Iraq then talk about ...........

Go save brothers & sisters in Afghanistan then talk about ...........

Go save brothers & sisters in kashmir then talk about ...........

and the list goes on.

But the problem is that such statements usually pop up when anyone tries to discuss about things that a lot of Muslims are practicing but might be against a Muslim's belief system but a lot of them might not realize/ try to realize it irrespective of what is going on in other parts of the world.

Have you ever found such statements recently:

Go save brothers & sisters in gaza then chat on msn / any forum

Go save brothers & sisters in gaza then talk about politics

Go save brothers & sisters in gaza then sharing jokes

Go save brothers & sisters in gaza then sharing poetry

Go save brothers & sisters in gaza then talk about daily life activities

Go save brothers & sisters in gaza then discuss sports

Go save brothers & sisters in gaza then watch TV / drama /movie...etc.

And the list goes on....

BUT i wonder why I always hear such statements when a person tries to share views on anything morally bad that might be becoming a part of some Muslim societies

exactly somethings never change. People like you should not be allowed to preach Islam to muslims. You only come with one agenda: point out things in Islam in a way that people start fighting. Unfortunately, many of the posters do not see that… I have seen it all in a decade… and the abusive language and satirical remarks by you in Religion forum

I feel sorry for people who support you … may be they do not know how you always had a say in Religion forum as well whenever people talked about Prophet:saw2: and his social life.

and I agree with you and Code red.

Bollywood is a nonsense. Nothing more to it.

Go save brothers & sisters in gaza then talk about poetry & bollywood songs

her ammal k ley Allah nay her qisaam k log chunnay hain

jub app salal Allaho alyhi wasalam jahad per jatay to saare qoom ko sath na lay jatay

ik jammat peechay chortay jo logon main taleem ka ammar jaare rakhtay

jis ka jitna o jahan ikhtyaar hay koshish keray ..bat sirf itnee hay

Well, even though I don't consider music of any type to be good, my intentions in this thread were to specifically discuss bollywood songs and the effects of the wordings they use, on Muslim children or immature people. Otherwise anyone is free to ask questions such as the following in some other thread"

"Are lollywood songs good for Muslims?"

"Are spanish songs good for Muslims?"

"Are French songs good for Muslims?"

"Are hollywood songs good for Muslims?"

"Are pashto songs good for Muslims?"

"Are punjabi songs good for Muslims?"

"Are sindhi songs good for Muslims?"

"Are baloochi songs good for Muslims?"

and so on.

p.s. Btw I myself was born in a house where bollywood music was part of our family life, till Allah (swt) blessed us with guidance. At times I do feel tempted a lot and we all know the tunes of songs with "such" words usually remain in our heads for a long time, but then it is up to us if we try to justify our bad habbits or sincerely make efforts to correct ourselves, because our Lord knows the intentions behind our efforts whether it is in favor of or against anything..