Re: Why are two woman witnesses, equivalent to only one male witness in Islam ?
Are you a scholar?
Nop, definitely not. Just an Avg Joe muslim but I read, study and think about it.
Are you a scholar?
Nop, definitely not. Just an Avg Joe muslim but I read, study and think about it.
What do you study about it?
Perhaps we need an avatar to indicate if one is a scholar or not.
What do you study about it?
Errr!
1 - Read Quran with translation and tafsir.
2 - Read ahadith with possible commentaries.
3 - Read books on all subjects religion, politics, sciences and history.
4 - Not afraid to discuss and correct myself if need be.
5 - Pay close attention to discussion on forums between opposing view points and try to grasp why two parties are not convined from each others view point and try to figure what lacks. Any explanation that can be refuted by a real life example needs to be re-thought and revised.
6 - Stay closely associated with masjid management from within and with non-muslims.
7 - Manage an Islamic weekend school.
8 - Always read opposing view points.
9 - Never slack at your work. Religion is important but so is work and knowledge of things besides religion. You need to know the world you live in if you want to apply religion to it.
All of this really gives good mental exercise and keeps me involved and thinking about life, religion, world and my family (parents, siblings, kiddos and wifey).
Perhaps we need an avatar to indicate if one is a scholar or not.
Semi, CHILLAX (chill/relax)
Sunnah=sayings and actions of Prophet Muhammad(SAW)
Scholars (ullema) have more knowledge about Sunnah of Prophet Muhammad(SAW) than a common muslim. Thats why we need Ullema.
Errr!
1 - Read Quran with translation and tafsir. 2 - Read ahadith with possible commentaries. 3 - Read books on all subjects religion, politics, sciences and history. 4 - Not afraid to discuss and correct myself if need be. 5 - Pay close attention to discussion on forums between opposing view points and try to grasp why two parties are not convined from each others view point and try to figure what lacks. Any explanation that can be refuted by a real life example needs to be re-thought and revised. 6 - Stay closely associated with masjid management from within and with non-muslims. 7 - Manage an Islamic weekend school. 8 - Always read opposing view points. 9 - Never slack at your work. Religion is important but so is work and knowledge of things besides religion. You need to know the world you live in if you want to apply religion to it.
All of this really gives good mental exercise and keeps me involved and thinking about life, religion, world and my family (parents, siblings, kiddos and wifey).
MashAllah...........May Allah give us all tawfiq to learn more and follow the rightous.
JAK for the compliment. As they learning is a life long process.
^ Some people need to take an example from USResident. Saying Mashallah and continuing persuing religion the wrong way is silly.
did YOU bother to read what i originally posted let me say it again
because women are MORE EMOTIONAL ( NOT EMOTIONALLY UNSTABLE ) than men, it distorts their ability to recall CERTAIN ASPECTS ( NOT EVERYTHING ) of a STRESSFUL ( NOT IN GENERAL ) situation
Well with the capitalizations, it seems like you're the one that's emotional.
Chacha ji, she is spreading "fitna" as her kind likes to call it, by spreading wrong beliefs about women. Where does science say that women are more emotional? Are all our amygdala's not working the way they're supposed to?
Women are diagnosed with PTSD more than men, says research
http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2006-11/apa-wad111306.php
How Women Work?
Are Women the ’ More Emotional’ sex? Evidence from Emotional Experiences in Social Context.
http://www2.bc.edu/~barretli/pubs/1998/FBRobinetal98.pdf
Another evidence: I’m a woman and I know I’m more emotional than men in general. And You are a woman…and you are more emotional than the males on this forum.
Now this article seems to support your view…
Men Just As Emotional As Women - If Only They’d Show It
But even this article shows that men handle their emotions differently to women. That they are better at hiding them.
I think the main focus of the thread is (or should be) 2-for-1
So in essence you are saying that in each argument/debate, I should have to contend with two of you? No thanks lol
^ ![]()
Now don’t be angry… I was only kidding
I thought this would get you to smile a bit ![]()
Difference of opinion aside, I think you’re a good person.
^ Some people need to take an example from USResident. Saying Mashallah and continuing persuing religion the wrong way is silly.
Is UsResident a scholar?
Are you the judge?
Pointing fingers is a looser's game.
Now don't be angry... I was only kidding :) I thought this would get you to smile a bit :D
Difference of opinion aside, I think you're a good person.
:) JazakAllah.....May Allah increase my Iman and humility.
Are you a scholar?
What kind of scholar, might I ask? The nature of the agrument being presented seems to fall more into the realm of psycology...
Is UsResident a scholar?
Are you the judge?
Pointing fingers is a looser's game.
Exactly. Who determines this prestigous designation of 'scholar'? There are all kinds of people who can memorize the Quran and cross reference it with 1000 hadith. Does that make them right? Or righteous? al (kafir-killer) Zawahri claims to be a scholar and has many followers. Is his designation of 'scholar' worthy of respect and following? Anyone can claim to be a scholar.
Men are also diagnosed more for certain mental disorders, like Alzheimer's. Did you know that? Does that mean a woman's memory is better than a man's?
It has little to do with the sex, and more to do with possibilities of unexplored genes that are located on either the X or Y chromosome that predispose women or men to a certain disorder. You can't rule out such possibilities.