Why am I suicidal

Air in the room was thick with smoke, an hour ago this young man entered into my office and since then he is smoking non stop. Smoking is a very strange phenomenon, nicotine though a chemical itself yet can creates strong emotional bonds with human feelings of sadness, of misery, of marry, of lethargy and with hyper activity, its victim is always in need for a puff, always craving for a drag, smoking is a vaporized poison that provides instant relief while tightening the knot on the death rope.

His eyes were big and brown curious and seemingly always asking questions even when lips are sealed, around six feet tall with glowing fair skin, his manners and posture were all reflective of his affluence. He was educated young man in his mid twenties.

Tell me something about yourself, I asked him with a professional dignity on my face,

My name is Zeeshan, he started with dazed vice, I belong to a very rich family, my father runs a huge business, he is sixty five years old, success and prosperity reflects through his face, he never looks older than fifty years. My mother, on the other hand, is fifty years old, despite all the age defying skin therapies, her youth and glamor is history now, she is desperately trying to guard her rightful status of my father’s wife in a society where many opportunities exist for my father and none for my mom. I always wonder why wish to stay young among men is granted more often and never among women.

As a young kid I was provided with every toy that I ever dreamed of, every dress that I ever asked for, and every food that I ever wish for. Commuting to my school in chauffeur driven car, I always thought myself special, a blessed one and extra ordinary. We had a marvelous home with number of servants always ready to accept a command, I have been raised by governess, my manners are carefully and professionally embedded into my personality. My mother was young and beautiful at that time, always busy with social activities, I hardly ever saw her during the day time, but she never forgot to tuck me in at night, never forgot to say good night with a kiss on my forehead. Motherly love is ingrained and never conditioned.

As a young man I went to the best schools and finally graduated from Harvard school of social sciences. I run my own latest model beamer which my father gifted me on my last Birthday, I am at the last stair that leads to a door of successful life, yet I feel myself so indifferent about every thing, so antipathetic towards the word success.

All my life I have tried to understand happiness, I did every thing that is considered cool, I tried cigarettes, then drugs, wine, sex and what not, yet I am always devoid of this commodity. I attempted to commit suicide twice in one month however unlike everything else, I could not achieve “death” when I so desire it.

What’s wrong with me sir?

(First session concludes).

May you people help me to find what is wrong with this boy?

Re: Why am I suicidal

WhatTT

Some one needs to put things in perspective for this guy.
Thats it.
Nothing much to it.

:sadaf:

you do that!

Peace IntelliPhant

This guy has a classic condition. It is called spiritual starvation.

The first thing he needs to do is fast. To do so on a regular basis. Say once every Monday.

He needs to pray and do so with intent

He needs to give charity ...

He needs to go and sit with a tramp and ask himself why that tramp does not kill himself ...

He needs to remember his Lord and ask for light to be put into his heart

Happiness doesn't depend on outward things or events. It depends on what is INSIDE us.

The state of his inner self isn't right, that is why he is unhappy.

That won’t help either. How does fasting make you happy? It doesn’t - unless you believe in magic.

Praying, though, definitely helps. You see what you are looking for. If you’re not searching for something, you always miss it.

If you pray for positivity, you are in fact searching for it, and so you will find it.

Giving charity will not help either if your attitude isn’t right. There are a lot of things that are supposed to make us happy but some times they don’t, because there’s something wrong with OURSELVES.

He needs a reason to live or needs to know the meaning of his life. I suppose everything has been given to him he hasn't had to face adversity or see the gritty and grey world outside.The boy should meet people with real problems like homelessness, severe disabilities and i mean people that will shake you to the core of your soul but haven't taken their lives and have a positive outlook. Has he considered volunteering in Africa going on a journey to find himself.

Another facet to consider would be why he talks about ageing does he think life has no meaning because the things you want and value are unobtainable to certain people but are given to people he thinks have no need for
like his mother wants to look young but isn't successful while his father looks young.

Also why talk about the material things he has gained what about the emotional support he needed growing up. He says his mother came to tuck him in at night but wasn't available all the time as she was socialising did he not have family time.

If he is a religious individual or a Muslim try to help him spiritually but at a very slow pace.

That is exactly what I said … Fasting is about staying without … what this boy has done is tried to do more things to get, but for the inner condition to gain he needs to exercise reduction and self restraint. No magic here!

I like the youtube video

Giving charity will help because it does … proven thing. Even if the intention is not right. You are either made to pass something you want willingly or unwillingly to others again it is the exercising of self-restraint.

He is looking for happiness but really that is not the right word for it … He is looking for balance. For a person who has got everything from day 1, will not necessarily develop the sense of appreciation … that can be achieved when you go without what you want.

Army camp does treat people and makes them savour the lives they used to have.

Very good analysis, most important thing to understand in psychoanalysis is to ask accordant questions and then listen carefully to the responses. Some times a word reveals more clues into the personality than a full session. Human personality is a net of feelings; at every inch of this net is a knot of strong emotional event link to another knot, these feelings are acquired by us through both nature and nurture.

You have paid attention to what he is saying, and then tried to draw a conclusion why he is saying that. I will invite you to come back and tell me more when I write details of second session.

Thanks

Psyah Bhai, Ap nay Phir Darya Ko Qozay Main Band Ker deya.

I want , from you, a diagnosis or psychoanalysis before a remedial measure.

I would have accepted your statement had you said;

"Happiness doesn't depend on outward things or events alone. It also depends on what is INSIDE us."

I agree wiv all of above views
I think one need 2 purify his Heart & Soul

there are three steps towards getting back on teh right path. first of all recognizing that you have been sinning, which comes through knowledge and hikma. The next step is swallowing our pride and sincerely begging the almighty to forgive us. most people are able to get to this step, but the third is about making sure that we never do any of these sinful acts ever again. This can only be done by purifying the soul, which leads us to your question- how do we do so?

"your ideas become your thoughts, youth thoughts become your actions, your actions become your habits and your habits determine your life"

-paraphrased quote from Abdul Malik (look him up on youtube)

Here are a few steps to purify your heart and soul...

1) Fast (has to be atleast 2 days, must be voluntary not what is fardh)

2) Praying nafl or extra deeds, and make sure you pray your fardh salaats.

3) Seeking more knowledge from Sunnah and Quran, remember knowledge is power

4) Doing more good deeds such as doing what your parents tell you to do, help elderly, help the poor and make sure u stay away from sinning..

-The nafl Fasts can be done on the 13,14 and 15th of every lunar month.- Day of Arafat - 6 Days in Shawwal

You must do or 3/4 of what is written...

Remember a muslim fasts and controls his/her hunger; and if they can do that they can resist from any evil.

Peace

Yaar lambi chori baat kaun sunta hai aaj kal?

Ok then ... Bismillah

First thing is first ... he recognises that he is in need and he has poured his heart out to you. Imam Al-Ghazli said that after seeking a shaykh and permitting him to take charge of his soul, he should seek a pious and perceptive friend. That you are.

By the way I am going to quote extensively from Al-Ghazali (RA) as he is the alchemist of the soul. Translations by Abdul Hakim Murad.

"the soul which perceives with inner sight is of greater worth that the body, which see with ocular vision, which is why God has stressed its worth by ascribing it to Himself ..."

from this statement we can begin to see that matters of the heart are to be dealt with more emphasis on the soul the bodily pleasures will be a distraction from the inner chaos and when the bodily pleasures become boring then they fail to distract from that chaos in time and soon nothing is working and we have despair set in.

To qualify this statement that he has been giving too much emphasis on the outward we can see his discourse:

He comments on his fathers and mothers appearance ... he talks of his fathers material success and his mothers state to appear as expected before others. He thinks it is very important of what others think and he seems to have little knowledge of his parents about what type of people they are and what their personal beliefs or principles are.

He emphasised the remorse in being given 'everything' but failed to realise that in fact he was given very little and in fact the toys and luxuries were really a way for his parents to make up for his loss. From this it is clear that his parents have never been apologetic to him. For had they been then he would have known that there is more to gifts and luxuries and that they were only a compensation not a fulfilment.

This suggests his lack of closeness to either parent and was probably expected to achieve and live an emotionless life of valour and family name esteem. I'm not sure these are his words or not but it seems he views school like a chore ... like work ... as he commutes to it in the mornings. His statement of motherly love is ingrained is like an irony a complaint without actually making one.

He re-iterates success with running a Beamer garage which was gifted to him by his father. He seems to be in self-sympathy mode and his attempts to kill himself must therefore indicate that he never intended to go all the way. He may push himself all the way, but by far he prefers the attention. The servants doing everything for him and then having to do things himself, links back to his statement about his parents who he focuses on their age. This means he is internally scared that his parents will soon die and leave him to fend for himself. His training may have taught him manners, but didn't teach him hardship and self-reliance after God of course. This bugs him to be a responsible adult - or being forced into it by age. He views age an enemy and probably does not want to aged himself. I deduce that his attempts to kill himself and tell others that he did 'without success' speaks volumes that he didn't really want to kill himself ... he just wanted people to attend to him.

He needs positive attention but at the moment he is finding ways of getting any attention be it is negative. He needs to quit the cigarettes as that may open a few more doors to a better social life especially with the Muslim community.

Any way please read another quote from Imam Al-Ghazali:

"Four things are thus involved. Firstly, there is the doing of something beautiful or ugly; secondly the ability to act thirdly, cognition of the act; and fourthly, a condition of the soul by which it inclines to one side or the other, and which renders the beautiful or the ugly thing easy to do"

More to come later inshaAllah ...

:salam:

Please explain this . I could not completely understand it.

:jazak:Khair !!!

:wsalam:

I was going to explain … but I ran out of time … This is a breakdown of the mechanism by which a character is known.

The first is to do the act
The second is ability - or to increase in its ability
The third is the knowledge that such an act is being done
The fourth is the slant of the heart in any given direction

Some people are unaware what they do, some people can’t do certain things, some people find it easier to do something like a sin when they have been doing it for some time and hence their hearts become drawn to it.

What I was doing was preparing the reader for the next part which was about the crux of the initial point … that balance is lacking in the man in question.

Imam Al-Ghazali says:
“Just as one’s external appearance can never be beautiful when the eyes are beautiful but not the nose, the mouth and the cheek - for all [the features] must be beautiful if one’s outward aspect is to be beautiful also - so too there exist things, four in number, which must all be beautiful if one is to be possessed of a beautiful character, which will obtain when these four things are settled, balanced, and in the correct proportion to each other. These are the rational faculty, the irascible faculty, the appetitive faculty, and the faculty which effects a just equilibrium between these three things.”

:salam:

:jazak:Khair for trying to explain but i still didn’t understand.Still confused.Could you use simple words please.

:jazak:Khair!!!

suicide ideation is a red flag. so whoever it is, if it is not a fictitious story, please get him help. or else, it may be too late to save his life.

Imam Al-Ghazali is explaining how ‘character’ is found. We need to see a person who does good acts that may be a person who is of good character, but if he is being made to do the good act by force or without knowledge that it is good, then we need to look for more information.

So the next thing is to look at the ability so by not being pushed into it is the person acting by himself?

But then he could be doing the good act without force but he may not know why he is doing it he may not be aware that he is doing it and in a different circumstance he does something else.

The last thing is after doing something over and over again it becomes a desire to do it. So if the person does good acts, by himself with no pressure, knows what he is doing and likes it then his character is good.