Re: Who’s the Bride???
lol you’re welcome
I wouldn’t’ve given you dirty looks if you wore ur bridal dresst o my wedding ![]()
Re: Who's the Bride???
At the end of the day it looks dumb!
people seem to be split on this issue. i would rather be the only bride looking person at my wedding, i don't care if people who wear red are not trying to compete, even if that's not their intention its looks retarded....i just don't like it...full stop.
i'm not insecure about the way i look, i don't think people won't realise i'm bride, because they will, i just don't like the fact there will be lot's of pretend brides wandering around! you had your time now let other have theirs!
As we are split on this issue, people at the wedding will be equally split on this issue... so half the people don't care and won't have anything to say on the matter and the other half will be saying what a stupid woman wearing red to someone else wedding, she looks silly etc.
At the end of the day. respect it's someone else's day, wear your red bridal wear on the mehndi or valima, but the wedding day should be the brides day!!
Ji, here you go. this is how the front row will look like on Mehnaz’s wedding reception. ![]()
lublujubly its better not to invite any body on ur wedding :). then its all ur day .
now why didn't i think of that! actually everyone on my side are courteous enough not to be so anoying, it's the other side i can't control. i am a bridezilla, but even i can't ban grooms side...or can i?!?!!?!?
thats the thing . u cant control grooms side. its there brothers wedding ( so wo apnay sray arman nikalain gay ). dont take stress, every thing will be ffine inshallah. ( jalnay kurhnay say kuch hasil nahi ho ga ).
lubly, again, I agree with you. I don’t think anybody here, other than you, understands what I am thinking … oh well.
http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/thumbs/ashtray/Brides_ka_jumma_bazar.jpg that pic is jus scary wonder where that was taken
I don’t have an outfit like that
So I guess I can’t go to mehnaz’s wedding.. ![]()
Mehnaz, from personal experience, no matter how perfect or not-so-perfect your wedding turns out to be, you won't care on the *day *of your wedding. Believe me, you won't even remember what most people wore, and nor will it matter.
I wasn't the shy bride staring at my feet the whole time, and yet I don't remember what a lot of people wore. And no matter what they wear, just take it as a sign that they've done it FOR you...not to compete with you. Everyone knows it's your day. Whether someone's tryin to steal the limelight or not, no one can ever outdo the bride.
i didn’t pick up the fashion thing at all… i guess i don’t follow lehenga fashion very closely ![]()
At the end of the day it looks dumb!
people seem to be split on this issue. i would rather be the only bride looking person at my wedding, i don't care if people who wear red are not trying to compete, even if that's not their intention its looks retarded....i just don't like it...full stop.
i'm not insecure about the way i look, i don't think people won't realise i'm bride, because they will, i just don't like the fact there will be lot's of pretend brides wandering around! you had your time now let other have theirs!
As we are split on this issue, people at the wedding will be equally split on this issue... so half the people don't care and won't have anything to say on the matter and the other half will be saying what a stupid woman wearing red to someone else wedding, she looks silly etc.
At the end of the day. respect it's someone else's day, wear your red bridal wear on the mehndi or valima, but the wedding day should be the brides day!!
bingo!! on principle, i could not do that to another bride and would not take it lightly if someone did it to me.
Lublyjuby/Mehnaz, I would love after your weddings if you will comeon this thread and tell us if in the end any of it really mattered..
my guess... to be honest...this will be the last thing on your mind on the day... I think you are being a little selfish, and I dont mean to be judging you or anything like that...
But, I have one brother, all of us sisters have kept our wedding outfits to wear on his barat.... inshallah... for us that is a source of pride and happiness... I think you are being unfair to your SILs by saying they are trying to upstage you at the wedding.. perhaps they are participating with HAPPINESS in their brothers wedding...
The fact that you can even think that a bride will be upstaged at her own wedding... welll I dont know its kinda impossible.. I dont know how many desi weddings you have been too... but its just impossible... Yeah a sea of red... but really... who cares... Paki weddings you will have a sea of red regardless...
someone could wear a breathtaking sari that just blows everyone away with gorgeous jewely and if you are worrying about upstaging..that person could upstage you......
Allow everyone to participate in your wedding with happiness and joy.... yes this is your day...blah blah blah... but its only one day... pray that you have many days in your life with your husband that are worth celebrating.... but at the same time its his families day as well... I guess I am a little offended by your attitude towards them.... but again, I dont know the situation, if they are constantly doing mean things to you and trying to ruin ur wedding and all that jazz...then maybe you have a point..
but it seems from the post...all u are worried about is being the super star at ur wedding...and that will happen regardless..
Muzna I totally agree with everything you have written!
Where have I said anything about my SILs or any of my in-laws? My initial comment, which partly drove Muzna to open this thread in the first place, was in response to another post where I was talking very generally, about guests, outside of the immediate family, wearing their bridal gear.
I love how things get so twisted here. ![]()
I would never, under any circumstance, go to a friend’s wedding in my bridal clothes. If it’s a relative, then I will get their permission first and I would avoid wearing it on their shadi day. I can wear it on the mendhi or the walima. I would not be happy if a friend did that to me, so under no circumstance would I do that on someone else’s shadi. This is just how I am.
You are right though. At the end of the day, it won’t matter at all. However, since this topic is being discussed here, I don’t see any problem in voicing my opinion on this issue. Be it selfish, self-centred, etc. etc.
i dont think there is any problem at all with wearing your bridal dress to someone esle's wedding-- of course dont wear all your tikka jhumar and the whole nine yards but wearing the lengha with toned down jewelry and makeup is perfectly fine, the only caveat is that it should be someone close to you, not a random wedding
most ppl who wear their wedding dress again already follow these guidelines (toned down jewelry etc) so whats wrong w/ pragmatism or taking joy in someone's wedding?
in fact, in our family its kinda traditional to wear you wedding lengha to the wedding of the first cousin that gets married after you
its fun to dress up and and as a bride you have to remember that it isn't JUST your day, other ppl are related to you and your husband and they have the right to celebrate too
Lublyjubly, MehnazQ and SGC i agree with all 3 of u on this whole issue. Im married and have been for nearly 4 yrs. No1 wore their wedding outfits at my wedding simply cos i was the 1st one out of my mates to get married.
When i did wear my wedding outfit to my close friends wedding i wore the outfits on days that WUDNT clash with the bride. So red at the valima, my green valima outfit at the mehndi and cream/ivory sari for the wedding. Of course my mate had given me the all clear and shes like my sister. Theres no way id have done it for any1 elses tho.
There is absolutely NO excuse for that kind of hogging. I dont think its selfish at all. Its the one day in ur life u deserve to get every1s attention not by having sum flippen red jora wearing attention hogger. Hell they've had they're wedding day....they had their day of getting all the attention on them. Why the hell r they parading around in a laal jora on SOME1 ELSES shaadi day. Every1 voices their opinions on here and heres mine:
ITS NOT RIGHT!!!
Mehnaz,
I don’t think that GummyBear was twisting anything. She was referring to lublyjubly when she spoke of the SILs and the in-laws, not you.
Oh one thing i forgot to mention when we made my shadi langa and walima one...we had lighter dubutta made to match...that way when wearing my lengha again...i wouldn't have the HUGE dubutta to deal with.