Writing anything (novels, drama, poetry, short stories, etc) in any language (English, Urdu, any regional languages). Also share your most favourite book by them.
re: ‘Who is your favourite writer / poet from Indo-Pak’
Seems no one reads Pakistani writers ![]()
indian bhi ADD kar deN to kuchh maiN bhii 'arz kar sakuuN…maiN ne naturally kisii Pakistanii writer ko nahiiN paRhaa…sholly! ![]()
re: 'Who is your favourite writer / poet from Indo-Pak'
indian bhi ADD kar deN to kuchh maiN bhii 'arz kar sakuuN...maiN ne naturally kisii Pakistanii writer ko nahiiN paRhaa...sholly! :(
Ok, you carry on with Indian writers there are some writers like Manto, Ismat Chughtai & Qurat ul ain Haider who can be termed as Indian/ Pakistani writers simultaneously. BTW, you must have read Pakistani poets.
Moderators! Plz rename the thread as 'Who is your favourite writer from Indo-Pak'
Izmat Chugatai is one of the most well known.
However I find the works of Tariq Ali as being very outstanding as well… his more recent works are very under-rated but to be fair to him the man knows his stuff. :k:
Yes Ismat Chughtai was brilliant writer. I like her novel on Karbala ‘Ek Qatra Khoon’. Its like Meer Anees’ marsiya in prose. From her short stories, I like ‘Nanhi ki naani’ most.
I read Tariq Ali’s book ‘The Book of Salladin’. It was interesting but at some places it was unnecessarily tilted towards sex life of the characters. One of my friend, who hardly put his hands on books read half of the book due to this in a day. lol
Ibne- Inshaa is a nice one.
Hahaha yes Tariq Ali's fiction works are like most works of fiction very much about gaining as big an audience as possible. His non fiction work though is what I was refering to as being under-rated.
To people who can remember his Bhutto film was banned by the BBC for some time... and his other short works on the recent war on terror period are equally contraversial but the facts are well presented and he makes a very strong point. In that respect he is not quite as good as the likes of Moore in the USA but he is nonetheless good at making a social and historical point.
Ibne- Inshaa is a nice one.
I love Ibna Insha's poetry. Choti behr ki ghazlen aur meethi nazmen. When Misbah Khalid used Insha ji's nazm 'Ik baat kaho tum meri ho' as OST for Indus TV Drama 'Laila Majnoo', it became immediate hit in younger generation, who in other case don't know about Urdu poetry. No on can forget ghazal like 'Insha ji utho ab kooch karo, and Nazm like 'Jale to jalao gori preet ka alao gori'.
His prose was also wonderful especially his book 'Urdu ki Akhri Kitab'.
Hahaha yes Tariq Ali's fiction works are like most works of fiction very much about gaining as big an audience as possible. His non fiction work though is what I was refering to as being under-rated.
To people who can remember his Bhutto film was banned by the BBC for some time... and his other short works on the recent war on terror period are equally contraversial but the facts are well presented and he makes a very strong point. In that respect he is not quite as good as the likes of Moore in the USA but he is nonetheless good at making a social and historical point.
Yes I've also read some parts of his book 'The Duel' and liked it.
Re: 'Who is your favourite writer / poet from Indo-Pak'
Dr. Younis Butt - Family front Drama
Book - Butt-tamiziyan
Novels : Umera Ahmed and Maha malik
Poet: Ahmed Faraz, Amjad Islam Amjad, Perveen Shakir, Mohsin naqvi and many more
Re: ‘Who is your favourite writer / poet from Indo-Pak’
Neverthless who written the dialogues of drama ‘bulbullay’ :k:
so true i love bulbulay ![]()
I think dhoop chaon is also best written drama.
I don’t remember story of dhoop chaon now ![]()
I m not that old na ![]()
neither I ![]()
dont lie ![]()
Dr. Younis Butt - Family front Drama
Book - Butt-tamiziyan
Younis Butt is gr8 writer with witty lines. He is amazingly handling 'Hum sab Umeed se hain'. Younis Butt also written screen play of Pakistani movie 'Chalo Ishq Ladaen'. Didn't remember 'Dhoop Chaon'. was that also written by Younis Butt? I think he also written / dramatised some serious dramas.
Bulbulay is written by Ali Imran who also wrote Nadanian *ing: Yasir Nawaz, Nida Yasir and Danish Nawaz.