Who is better: Pakistani Muslim young men bornthere/ raised here or born in the West?

Re: Who is better: Pakistani Muslim young men bornthere/ raised here or born in the West?

what values are we talking about here?

Re: Who is better: Pakistani Muslim young men bornthere/ raised here or born in the West?

Lets just say they are 100% Pakistani without confusion.

Re: Who is better: Pakistani Muslim young men bornthere/ raised here or born in the W

so true.

some people dont care for that.

ABCD's!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Stop insulting the people from your parents country PAKISTAN cuz indirectly your insulting your parents!!!!

mmm not quite...you can be born and raised in america..still speak urdu, cook desi food, know the traditions (not ABCD) and STILL not want to marry a guy from back home. There is a cultural difference and because of this difference it makes it kind of difficult to work things out with each other.

anyway...for me personally....i always say..be open... Look in American, look in paK..look everywhere. It's hard enough to find a decent person to marry so why limit yourself.:D

i agree....its not right to insult anyone from ANY country because all have their good and bad qualities.

Yah, but still we find people creating threads asking who is better, or these people do this and that.

true :k:
I mean id hate to have parents who are ABCDs…imagine that -feel sorry for their kids.

I am confuzzled: American born desis are ABCD's and the ones born and bred in Pak are just that. What abt ppl born and bred in other than the US or UK? MEBCDs? JBCDs? (ME=middle eastern, J=japanese) etc etc?

Btw, Impulse you are making a huge judgement here. I know some very good ABCDs kids raised by their parents as good muslims. They seem to be more concerned about being good muslims rather than just "patriotic pakistanis".

I"d rather have my kids be more Muslim/ABCD than judgemental , narrowminded and desparate "FOBS". :)

From Personal Experiences!

Usually guys from back home cannot seem to go along with girls from the west that well.
For exmample! This friend of mine got married not to long ago. Her husband is from Pakistan. Guy has major behavior issue, thinks he is on high horse, has a huge ego issue and even disrespect her parents from time to time. She is going through a lot of emotional drama but she is willing to accept it and go forward. I am not sure how far their relationship is going to go to me it seems like she is the only one who gives in.
Another couple! They were nikahed only. Guy started to show his true self over the course of few months. Girl was basically raised here. After listening to some crap she decided to back out. It was sort of appearing guy was trying to go through everything because of US citizenship.
This old friend of mine! She was raised here but her father got her married to a man in Pakistan who happend to be a doctor. He did come here. Father is well off they even bought them a house and a car. Their marriage lasted good 2-3 years only. She is back in her mother's house for past good 2 years. Her son is old enough to go to school now.

A girl from back home!

This baji that i know was born and raised in Pakistan. Bhai lived here. She slowly and slowly molded bhai from being a Jhatka meat eater to a very good Muslim man. They been married for good 9 years at this point and mashallah she is so happy :)

A little different example!
Another couple! Girl was born and raised here and Guy was mainly raised in Pakistan did go to a highschool here. But didn't go forward after highschool degree. Girl wanted to go a head study and become something. Guy wanted her to sit back home and take care of house. Their marriage ended with curses and a lot of hatred. Marriage only lasted for 3 years.

So as you can see its a mix sort of a thing. I personally simply cannot get along with a guy from back home. I know how i am etc. I would not even get along with a ABCD either. I need a Pure Pakistani born there, raised for few years back home and spent rest of his life abroad [with citizenship- so i know for sure he isnt gonig to marry me for citizenship through me]. I do need him to have understanding of both American and Western culture. The most important thing is Religion. I do need him to be a good Muslim at the same time. I dont mind a FOB :D

Ira it matters where one was raised, what family they come from, what their religious values are etc. Everything matters because thats what makes a person.

Nia where a person is raised does not matter anymore. Everything else in your list does. Not everyone who was raised in pakistan is a religious person with good moral, ethical, cultural values and not everyone born and bred abroad is a horrible, westernised person.

Like i say, there are just no guarantees in life.

Ira - I am speaking from a lot of personal experiences. People that i know etc. I even know two guys who are brothers married someone from back home. They married two sisters as well and those guys were kicked out of their own house and live with their sister. They can see their kids once in a blue moon and livin ga terrible life. Its different for everyone as many mentioned

But Ira I can't seem to trust someone from back home. Again its my personal experience may be you can. Atleast over here i can run after him beat him up or do some other harm if he does any harm to me. But back home i wouldnt know a single human being to beat him up.

Nia give me the number and address : i will stop by and pay a visit and deliver your “message”. :hugz:

On a serious note, with all that happened to me, i still dont think its about “where” you were brought up. Its about HOW you were brought up. And even then, its a multiple of other factors that matter as well. In my case, its currently hard to trust anyone at all, not just someone brought up in Pak.

May Allah make this easy for all of us, Ameen.

^ You are correct. It takes some confidence and maturity to trust someone who is from a different region let alone culture, background and ethnicity.
People can have their checklists but you don't know what you are getting into until you know the other "person".

Ira we all have different way of coping.

I don't know if i can trust someone either... it seems impossible :~) but there is hope...

cant stand abcds, trying to be black, or white, never trying to be brown, they r american if they think in english, not pakistani.