Which do you think is the most progressive Muslim country?

I am not sure. I used to think it was Malaysia, but they are under a lot of “Islamization” pressure, too. Turkey maybe? What do you think?

Re: Which do you think is the most progressive Muslim country?

Turkey or Iran.

what does that mean? define progressive

Turkey may be. But it is too dependent on America.
I would like to see Muslim countries moving ahead without much American influence.

zarurat ke waqt ghade ko bhi baap banana parta hai..:hehe:

Turkey all the way, economically, defense-wise & cultural - they are on top. Period.

Pakistan : p

PS: you Pakistan haters, keep them coming...

I thought some happy and positive thinking person opened this thread, but now after reading the first post I know it's some sara hua person with twisted ideas. This could've been a good thread but the first post changed it all.

Good question. I suppose progressive is whatever you think is the direction of progress, of positive development.

I put "Islamization" in quotation marks because what some people claim is Islamic ain't necessarily so. For instance, Taliban may consider that complete cessation of education for females is Islamic. (I do not.)

Gee, thanks. How do you get that?

And what is your contribution to the discussion (besides attacking the OP - me - for some unexplained reason)?

where do you get this from? can't believe people still believe such propaganda. it's been 10-14 years, i thought they'd learn.. but no sir

I will categorically say India. I am not joking.

Maybe I get it from the shutting down of girls schools of Afghanistan during the Taliban times. Maybe I get it from the bombing and gassing of girls schools in Afghanitstan, FATA and Khyber Pakhtunkha. Maybe I I get this idea from the killing of teachers and acid-throwing at female pupils. Maybe I get it from the threatening of girls college in Lahore if they didn't institute hijab. Hmmn. Perhaps that's where.

Got anything of value to add to the discussion of the original question?

And thanks for the luffs, it was a pleasure! :D

nice mixing of facts and fiction. and yes the most progressive and Islamic country is the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan. inshaAllah it will be an ideal muslim state in the future, which can become a model for the rest of Muslim world.

cricketplaya:

inshaAllah it will be an ideal muslim state in the future

The original question was not about future but about present.

that's what i said, it is and it will become an IDEAL state. not saying it isn't already. just waiting for the terrorists to pack up and go back to their sorry lives to a bankrupt state.

*"O Say can you see
how afghans kill thee..."

What about Indonesia or Egypt? Is Lebanon considered a Muslim country?

cricketplaya:

not saying it isn't already.

Some people may be khariji-supporters there, but the government isn't.

Perhaps Indonesia. But certainly not Egypt.