When ppl lie to you

Re: When ppl lie to you

i think its the "Glass half full or half empty" theory.

anyways
just 2 weeks ago i asked my best friend to go to a show with me on a sunday, she agreed... but on sat she mesg. me that she has to work (on sunday) n cant go...i end up not going either, and when i called her at work just to chat (called at her work # since i knw her cell doesn't get signal at work) the assistance picked up and said she wasn't working today.
now i could have thgt that she lied to me...n just didn't want to go to the show with me or something.
but i didn't, instead when we talk again, i told her i didn't go either and asked her what happen that day. she explained that since she was there on sat n the night shift person called in, she end up staying and working the night shift and left work early in the morning. she was planning to work the day shfit on sunday but didn't since we work the night...
u never knw whats the reasoning behind others actions... so u cant just label them a liar.

Seriously, why can't she come and share her stories even if they are negative? Why do people here need to jump at anyone who's not having a good marriage or having trouble at work or has horrible inlaws or just doesn't have a good life?

:rotfl: .
You are brave to admit it.
Very few people can claim that they never lied in their life. Many a times you know that the other person is lying, so what , you have to let it go, if it does not harm you or anybody else in any way. We do no live amongst angels. Do we ?

If they are sharing their life to get some good advice then why there is a problem if someone is offering positive criticism and advice how to make things better. What is wrong with that ? :confused:
What good it would be if I say , yes yes your friend is horrible lier , your SIL is evil , your husband is selfish , your life is so miserable etc and then go on my way just blowing whistle.

look it's fine to tell your stories and that's one of the great things of Gupshup. But the other great about GS is that you can learn A LOT ABOUT YOURSELF- your OWN bad habits! while people in the "real" world would be hesitant to tell you about the reality of yourself, in GS people will tell you straight up.

I learned that myself when I posted about how i disliked my roommate. I learned that a lot of it is my own fault--that's the great thing about Gupshup--> you can learn where YOU NEED to improve, and MANY TIMES, it's not the "other person". IT'S YOU, YOURSELF.

Gupshup goes two ways-- yes you can vent, but be prepared to see the truth about yourself- cuz posters are going tell it to you in your face.

To each his own…:slight_smile:
All have their own opinions. Share them…fight over them…wow…:smiley:
Such a nice conversation…:p…that too starting of the weekend…:hmmm:…this weekedn is going to be FUN..:smiley:

hahahaha..u r funny:)

You know your friends better than I do. I just said what I would have assumed had it been one of my friends.

I used to be friends iwht this girl, Id say I was pretty close to her (but it was only one way). So she got engaged over the summer, I knew her baat pakki had happened and all, and i saw the pictures on FB later. Since we werent’ close or anything I didn’t really expect anything. A couple of months later, I ran into her at a party..this was my first time talking to her after months, so I was congratulating her on her engagement, saying she looked gorgeous and all. and she said “oh u know im sorry i didnt invite u , it was a last minute thing, i had no time to prepare.” I dont know if this is relative to the topic but that’s one incident i can anme…it wasn’t exactly a lie but, well i can’t get the words to describe it…

NOT COOL! :mad:

Now that I think about it I lie ALOT! (mostly to my loved one) Examples

**My kids: “Mom I want cookies” **
**Me: “we are ALL out” (lie) **
I have a Sam club embership there are 15000 of them in garage

**My hubby: "Honey did you pay the bill **
Me: “yes I did” (lie)
It’s still in my purse somewhere

**My hubby: “How much did these shoes cost” **
Me: “$20, I got them on sale”
more like $80 - and I could not live without them

**My boss: “In your assesment, how long is this work going to take” **
Me: “um 4 weeks”
more like 1 1/2 if I worked really hard

I am going to hell aren’t I? :devil:

Lovely sharing.

bowingbowing..Thank you C…atleast you smiled in all this..:smiley:

We do this…we have loud and dumb fights which we know are not worth fightin…but still do…you know why…it helps take out the pressure…at the end…your heart feel light and you let bygones be bygones…

It was so much better when we were in college..meeting everyday and sharing tidbits and all this..once you are like on your own and have responsibility’s its so much different and difficult..:(.

I will give you an instance…me having lunch is a big pain…know why…

1 I usually eat alone, then inbetween i started eating with my Librarian friend…then returns my friend from her maternity leave and 1 other friend who calls me with him when he has no company and other friend who also has no company…so what do I do..:konfused:…all are alone, have to eat and stuck in middle is poor me…uff…I forgot to tell..I told them that i eat with nobody…thats a mistake i did??..:confused:…what do you think??

what do i do…I go out 4-5 times in an hour…make sure that i spend the time with them when they eat and i sit talk to them…at the end most of them are happy…but sometimes i do get frustrated and make up story’s for not wanting to go…but…you understand rightt…:slight_smile:

Does this make me a bad person??..now tell me C…what if i did something like this to you??

well Chameli.... you know what i would've done.....

i would've simply told her that no my number was changed and on that old # there is a msg that says this number doesnt exist anymore..... did u hear it .... wow thats strange.... hhmm
and continued the conversation..... and i would let her explain her...

as for being your best friend and not telling u abt her marriage....

well i was going to Pakistan for getting married i didn’t tell ANY of my friends and not even to my THE BEST FRIEND accept one of my class fellow (yes a class fellow who sits next to me in one of my courses) just cuz I knew this girl don’t know any of my friends or people I know from the community so this news not gona spread around….. till I actually do get married…. (yeh i do believe in evil eye....aur kabi kabi ap ka acha cahne walon ki bi nazar lag jati hai)

I called my The Best Friend 4 or 5 months after I got married….. (we both live in the same city...we are just 15 minutes drive apart) and broke the news that I got married 4 r 5 months ago….

Does that mean I am her “so called” friend…. I don’t think so cuz I still consider her my best friend and she consider me her BFF…..

One of my other gud friend and i use to share every single event of the day with each other….. she told me….that she was getting proposals but told me 3 days before her wedding cuz everything was so sudden that she couldn’t inform me well in advance…… I don’t call her my so called friend (this reminds me I didn’t call her for so many months…. I think I’ll give her a call today….. and just so she don’t think that I forgot her I’ll say I called her before ;)

kidding... no i am not gona lie

I am not trying to defend a lie and not encouraging anyone to lie (big or small…..it hurts someone or not) lie is a lie. And as a muslim we should refrain our self from lying….

Hazrat Abu Hurairah (Radhiyallaahu Anhu) narrates, in a hadith, that the Prophet (Sallallaahu Alayhi Wasallam) said, "The signs of a hypocrite are three; whenever he speaks, he tells a lie; whenever he promises, he breaks his promise; if you have trust in him, he proves to be dishonest."

Wo kehte hain na ke 1 jhoot ko chupane ke leya ap ko 100 jhoot bolne parain ge tu its so true…..

jub yaqeen hhe utth jaye tu dosti ko budnaam kernay say behtar hey usko bhool jana

don’t think you’ll go to hell…most probably to heaven…bcos you seem to like and enjoy the idea of going and staying in hell so you’ll be sent to heaven as punishment.

^ I wish itna assaan hota!

theres nothing asan or mushkil in life all u need to do is to make a move

sigh

iss move wali back se kia kia yaad agaya...

mein ne move banaye thi...aur phir shadi ho gaye...

sahi kehtay hain....
harkat mein badbakht hai.

now move :stuck_out_tongue:

dont think over it again :hehe:

That’s true but not EVERYONE here has the best interest when they offer crticism and that’s what I was talking about in my earlier post. You’re fairly new here so maybe you didn’t get a chance to read the older threads but trust me, not everyone here wants to help. Alot of people here are too judgemental and cynical, some just have a great life and as soon as they read someone with problems, they label them as negative and annoying, or just attack the poster for no reason if they are having a bad day :halo: