we always hate how ppl leave their parents at old homes. i actually never know how these homes are like and what so bad about them?are they like hostels. r there too many restrictions? i mean what’s the real reason to hate them so much? isn’t it bettter to live there than live with some rude n disrespectful dils who clrealy thinks u r in her way or just living alone if u hav no spouse or kids/sons to look after .
Re: What's wrong with Old Homes?
Senior citizen housings are some of the best places to live in USA when it comes to quality of life and safety. We have few in our area and they are so neat, clean, decently decorated that I wish they let me live there.
LOL.
Even the grave yards are so well maintained that I wish I get buried in there.
I would definitely prefer living in a senior citizen community over living with my kids (doesn't matter even if they're respectful and want me to live with them).... woh bhi sukoon sai rahain aur mein bhi apni independence kay saath rahoon, no rok tok and no babysitting required :D
LOL. Even the grave yards are so well maintained that I wish I get buried in there.
Lol, even better than Gora Qabristan?
There's nothing wrong with old homes. My parents often say that they would not prefer to live with me (or my sister) later on in life. And to all desis who thing old homes are "oh so evil!", most people live more comfortably there than they have ever lived.
My parents often say that they would not prefer to live with me
apni aadatain sahee kar lo, they might change their mind.
Re: What’s wrong with Old Homes?
at the response
But I have heard many a times that they feel very lonely though.
i too think living there is much better than bringing disputes in ur kid's life or feeling that feeling of being dependant on them. as for loneliness u can always still meet old friends and visit family as n when u wish. but may be the kids would feel low as ppl would look down on them "oh they sent poor parents to old home" so it could be a matter of respect n ego.
we always hate how ppl leave their parents at old homes. i actually never know how these homes are like and what so bad about them?are they like hostels. r there too many restrictions? i mean what's the real reason to hate them so much? isn't it bettter to live there than live with some rude n disrespectful dils who clrealy thinks u r in her way or just living alone if u hav no spouse or kids/sons to look after .
Well its not that those house are bad or anything wrong with them its just a pity that if these old parents have a family and yet cant live with them. Its a shame on the children who lets this happen and all those dils and sons can go buy in hell if they leave their parents at somebody else disposal.
Maham there's a phrase "too close for comfort" i bet its not easy to live with ur kids n their spouse and grandkids at old age. what if they don't say anything clearly but it's written on there face " A burden" or u want to sleep n rest but ur grandkids r watching tv at high volume or listening to music or just crying for a candy.or mom n dad going out for dates every weekend leaving u to babysit those spoilt lil brats while all u wanna do is take warm bath n rest ur tired, old bones....
keep visiting them occasionally will maintain a better relation than living with them.
you can get everything in an old home… BUT moral support. lekin phir… who is to say your own flesh and blood will have the time to offer you that when you need it.
we are looking for a new apt to move into and all the awesome buildings i LOVE are somehow pointed out to be old age homes by the husband
do they HAVE to be so hawt!
Maham there's a phrase "too close for comfort" i bet its not easy to live with ur kids n their spouse and grandkids at old age. what if they don't say anything clearly but it's written on there face " A burden" or u want to sleep n rest but ur grandkids r watching tv at high volume or listening to music or just crying for a candy.or mom n dad going out for dates every weekend leaving u to babysit those spoilt lil brats while all u wanna do is take warm bath n rest ur tired, old bones.... keep visiting them occasionally will maintain a better relation than living with them.
Well there are going to be these issues but these are relatively small to otherwise issues of the old parents feeling lonely, rejected, unloved and all of that. There can be no solution to those feelings but you can always work out the issues at home. Also WHY would a grandchild watch a tv at a volume that had disturb his old grandparents? i had hope his parents have instilled that much respect and honour for his family to know to care for their wants and feelings too. And WHY would you not hire a nanny for your kid if you want to go out on dates? How can anyone even think of taking their parents for granted in such a manner. Did your parents think all that while raising you up? NOOOOO. Did they think even for once that leaving you off with some family member for a month could get them a well deserved vacation and time with their partner? I DONT THINK SO.
well maham these things do happen a lot. and grandparents r taken for granted in many families. they are best babysitters in west.
hota hoga...doesnt make it right. i wonder when these same people put their parents in old homes, how do they manage their childs then? howcome then a babysitter is convinent and not otherwise. its such a shame. however i m nt against the grandparents helping out in any way possible, they shud and i know most do more than they shud.
Going to Senior's home is VERY BIG transaction for Desi folks than Gora folks. Goras are pretty much living the same life before but Desi Folks normally die even earlier once move to Old Homes because they move out from hastee-khailtee family to Old Home.
Other than this, Old Homes in US are almost like 3 Star hotels....
Just a supplementary question, how many of you are willing to send your 5 years old to hostel/boarding education for 12 years so they can get better education and are well taken care off?
There is nothing wrong with old homes. Its better than living with family when they require an institutionalized care, like unable to eat, drink or clean themselves. But prior to that when they talk, feel and enjoy company, they shudnt be sent to old homes.
Allah Mafi :( No parent would say the same for their child if god forbid he/she is unable to eat, drink or clean.
I have no more words to say to this now. May Allah show all of us the right path.
We should change Maham's nick to Jazbati Begum ...
I totally concur with this. :k: