I went to a bengali wedding; no cutlery, no tables or chairs. Just a ramaal on the floor and we were all sitting around this big cloth on the floor. There were about 8 big trays full of boiled white rice and we were eating with our hands from this tray. To every tray there were 12 men, it was so dry and tasteless to begin with but after the 7th fingerful I was eating rice drenched in bengali man saliva.
My parents went to a wedding where the groom's dad had a heart attack and had to be taken away in an ambulance - and the wedding carried on as normal..
That's awful ...
I was at a wedding back home and the groom's brother got shot and the wedding carried on as normal...
Re: What's the rudest/weirdest/craziest thing you've come across.......
Eating with hands and sitting on the floor is sunnah, these are prob more to do with the families being religious than anything else.. I've never been to a Bengali wedding where they didn't use cutlery and sat everyone on the floor lol but I imagine the more practising families would do this.. I know stricter Arab Muslims also eat on the floor and with their hands as well..
Re: What's the rudest/weirdest/craziest thing you've come across.......
never went to bengali wedding but after seeing their dressing sense and all the traditions and cultures posted here..... i think that was the main reason east and west pakistan divorced.... they are soooo different totally opposite in so many things!!
the weirdest and the rudest thing i found was at sehra bandi rasam of groom. the groom's brother sat with a register (huge note book in Pakistan) and wrote down all the Salami everyone gave to the groom. and annouced it with a laugh if it was not not a lot. my parents didnt give him anything at the point..... even the bro called my father keh aap reh gaye hain.. my father was like... tum yeh chichorapan band karo tu main suchoon ga keh dehna chiaye ya nahi.
there was actually one wedding where the girls tried to do the shoe stealing thing and groom actually became furious and made a scene demanding his shoe back and ridiculed them for even thinking he might give them money. it was really weird and just messed up the entire mood of the wedding..
I went to a wedding once where the Groom was about to put the wedding band on the brides finger when his mother suddenly started making a huge fuss that she had to be the one to do it. The groom and his mom started arguing… loudly … and made a huge scene. The bride looked so embarrassed and her family just kinda tried to disappear into the background. Yikes. This was weird as well… could only be found at a desi wedding and messed up the entire mood of the wedding…
Guests stampeding like a heard of elephants towards the buffet is also pretty “Paki”. An outsider would literally think these people have all been starved for who knows how long and this is their first legit meal in a long time.
And whats up with the stealing of the seats??? Brides hard work of making a seating arrangement is often thrown out the window. And even if there is no seating arrangement, people still don’t respect the fact that a certain seat has been taken and just sit down wherever they please…whenever they please. This is a pretty horrifying practice. I can only wonder what our goray friends will think if this occurs at my shaadi down the road.
there was actually one wedding where the girls tried to do the shoe stealing thing and groom actually became furious and made a scene demanding his shoe back and ridiculed them for even thinking he might give them money. it was really weird and just messed up the entire mood of the wedding..
If the wedding is being held in Pakistan, that might just be the case; don’t mock the halaath.
At my beloved cousin’s wedding, her mother forcibly assigned seating by table and demanded that I sit with the den of vipers that is her family, instead of with own friends. 2 minutes into the seating arrangement, the table was abandoned by my cousin’s brother and his cousin, and my sibs and I were forced to babysit my cousin’s slightly sinki older sister for the remainder of the night. This is the same wedding at which we had to pay $5 just to park. Classic.
i have to say my wedding was pretty bad in coupl of respects...hubby's family came from karachi to lahore for mehndi and rukhsati...we had arranged for a photographer for both those days..well my khaala saas wouldnt let anyone from my family come to the stage for photos she kept saying pehle humaare log ho jaayein....and unke log khattam hi nahin hote thay so practically no photos were taken of my side of the family on both the rukhsati and the mehndi
and on mehndi there was another atrocity...my hubby's sis and one of his cousin sisters (again khala saas ki beti) were doing a dance number and since it was getting late the DJ cut off their song so that hubby and I couold have a chance to dance...well once we got to the dance floor my khaala saas comes over to my hubby and goes like larrke hoke tumne humaari besti karvaadi and she walked off in a huff and puff and my hubby left me alone on the dance floor and went after her...i was sooooooooooo embarrassed
At my beloved cousin's wedding, her mother forcibly assigned seating by table and demanded that I sit with the den of vipers that is her family, instead of with own friends. 2 minutes into the seating arrangement, the table was abandoned by my cousin's brother and his cousin, and my sibs and I were forced to babysit my cousin's slightly sinki older sister for the remainder of the night. This is the same wedding at which we had to pay $5 just to park. Classic.
Red flag it was going to be an awesome night for you when you (as a family member) had to pay the five bucks to park. I hope the parking was atleast valet and near the entrance of the place where the shindig took place. Family members atleast deserved priority parking spots.
Aweeee … Again - only something one will encounter at a “Paki” wedding. I have never seen this go down at a goray wedding. Even if someone is annoyed about something… you don’t hear about it till afterwards… you definitely don’t SEE it. That is horrifying that you were left on the dance floor. I think u posted this story on another thread and I said the same thing… reading the story again .. my reaction remains just as mortified. People in our culture really need to understand the concept that it is NOT THEIR day to shine… unless they are the bride and groom.