What's the rudest/weirdest/craziest thing you've come across.......

…while planning your big day?

Everything doesn’t go smoothly when you are trying to put a big event together. From pushy family members, rude vendors to insensible In Laws demands, you have to juggle all and still try to maintain peace if you want the planning to go on without any glitch.

So please share, the rudest/weirdest/craziest thing you’ve come across while planning your big day or any other wedding. And, also, how you dealt with it with your desi power!

:rotfl: … the only problem i am facing right now is with my airline! is it possible to have a shadi without a bride? :cb:
the airfare quoted to me is ridiculous in comparison to others flying with me :what: ..i am flying a coupla weeks before

Re: What’s the rudest/weirdest/craziest thing you’ve come across…

craziest thing? i said yes :chai:

Re: What's the rudest/weirdest/craziest thing you've come across.......

So, no one came across rude vendors, even?

^my worst experience thus far has been the odd and sometimes unexplainable behavior of extended relatives. but alhumdulillah, its in your happiest and saddest times that you find out who truly cares about you and wants best for you.

That's so true, fasaadi.

So a friend of mine got married a few months back. The wedding was held in a hotel. There weren't enough chairs and tables because they decided it was more important to have a few tables next door at the Ghulam Ali concert (whoever that is)....

The light went out a few times for several minutes during crucial ceremonies (ring ceremony, etc...) all because the DJ decided to plug in everything into one outlet. He distributed his cards at all the tables and had a projector shining against the wall advertising himself.

The events assistant manager felt it was unnecessary to refill the food even though everything was running empty. She then stood around the food tables with her employees complaining about all the unreasonable demands of the bride's family (lights, food, tables, etc...)

The bride's family had requested a cake cutting table to be placed in the front, next to the stage and the assistant manager nearly had a fit! Turns out they were putting out as little food as possible so they could take it home for themselves!

At another wedding I attended, the electrical outlets short circuited near the stage, and there was smoke everywhere and half the stage lights went out. The imam continued with his speech and everyone was oblivious to what was going on, while I was running around trying to find the staff and the fire extinguishers :)

^ crazy!

i met a really rude florist when i was searching for vendors for my wedding. she basically told me my budget was too small and the best she could do was $800 over! now i can appreciate that when you have a smaller budget, there will be some vendors that will be out of your range- but she led me on to believe she would work with me when we chatted over email, but when i saw her in person for an hour and a half, mind you, she just did an about face and was really, really unpleasant about the whole thing. ugh. needless to say, i did find someone else who was amazing and worked within my budget. who needs high maintainence vendors!

1- Groom was sitting on the stage inside the hall on reception day and taking pictures with guests and the bride was sitting outside the hall on the stone, holding big wine bottle in her hands, full time drunk, smoking and yapping with her friends.

2- Boy and girl came to the hall to check the arrangements for their wedding day including the decoration and stuff, starts to argue and then fight over certain things, parents came, everyone went home, both decided not to marry with each other any more, wedding got canceled for ever.

both were Pakistani Muslim weddings

Re: What’s the rudest/weirdest/craziest thing you’ve come across…

Groom’s BIL and chacha refused to give the bride the option of khula AT THE TIME OF NIKAH because they read the nikah-nama right there on the stage and decided to show their concern and importance this way. This was when the groom and his mom and elder brother already had decided to grant the permission of khula’a earlier but since these two men were ‘elders’ and ‘respectable’, they decided to stay quiet. The bride’s mom called the bride who was at another floor of the same marriage hall about the dispute down there and the bride told to the groom and his family to just cancel everything because she doesn’t want to get married in a family that doesn’t stick to their decisions..this was when groom’s brother told everyone to stay out of this matter as it is for the bride and groom to decide about the issue and they have no objection to it-and the function continued.

^ that happened at MY wedding by the way :halo:

Is this true, I cant even Imagine any of these situation happening in real,especially in pakistani families :confused:

We showed up for a wedding all dressed up and sign said event has been cancelled. We were like what!!!! Called around and it was really cancelled. Bride and Groom's families had a dispute at the last minute, apparently an ex was involved.

OMg you don't know Ghulam Ali... BTW he's a realllyyy popular ghazal singer from pakistan1

Uff, proto! Here's to woman power! Great job!

I’ve seen a Muslim bridegroom getting drunk on his wedding day but never the bride..

Some ppl we know asked their future DIL after the engagement to get a nose-job, another asked the girl to lose weight.. Honestly, if my inlaws had the nerve to be so rude I’d be tempted to call the whole thing off..

mee too if they said do a nose job and loose weight!
Taubah log bhi!

Really!! Are they willing to pay for the nose job?

^ LOL!

someone in my distant family -- after the nikah took place, during the nath ceremony -- and the groom's mother or khala or phuphu discovers that the bride does not have a nose peircing, so she holds the nath and asks the others, "issi se ched kar dun kya?"

... whether she was kidding or serious about this mild act of sadism, it doesn't matter, because later at that same event, there was more drama. a LOT more.

Ouch! What happened later, laadbazaar?