Whats considered a 'healthy' breakfast?

Salam Machofreaks and machofreakans of H&F,

I had a question regarding whats considered a ‘healthy’ breakfast. I’ve always heard you should have a big breakfast. Does that mean lots of milk, bananas, cereal, toast etc? Or is that just a fattening breakfast?

Healthy food usually isn’t considered heavy, so what would you consider a healthy and a heavy breakfast?

Re: Whats considered a 'healthy' breakfast?

I don't necessary think you should a BIG breakfast. You should however eat a complete breakfast which should comprise of

whole grains (toast, oatmeal, cereals) - also provides fiber
Dairy (milk)
Protein (Eggs)
Some fruit.

Some folks say eating a big breakfast is necessary because it avoids over eating during the day. Also what you eat in the morning is burned off quicker because you and up and about.

Glass of milk is good.

njgal is right

however you should know youre own body.
Some people aren't tolerant of milk or dairy products in the morning.
The most importnat thing is to eat within an hour of waking up.

I think that breakfast is the time where you can get away with more fattening things...like muffins, toast with butter etc.

oatmeal is really healthy,
or multigrain toast with eggs

It really depends on what you like...and working around that..

I eat a bowl of fruit sometimes in the morning. Or yogurt...so it really depends.

I know people will laugh at me - but here it goes..

My favourite breakfast - once in a while - which I think is healthy is -

Roti with omlete and chai. (not paratha - because paratha has too much butter)

^I know it's very typical desi food but I love it!

NJMasti - I think If you eat roti (which is grain) and egg (which is protein) and chai (with milk whcih is dairy) that is a pretty balanced breakfast!

yummy too!

Crescent, my not so machofreak

a healthy breakfast is one in which you include all major food groups .....something you should be doing for all meals really.

however breakfast really is the most important meal of the day because it fuels your body with all the nutrients you need to make it through the day...in other words it gives you energy.

Make sure you breakfast is low in fat and sugars. Carbs are best eaten in the morning.

here is an example of a healthy breakfast:

A bowl of Oatmeal (with honey) or a whole grain cereal
2 egg whites
fruit
OJ

Fruits (apple, banana, strawberries).
Cereal,
Toast (multi-grain bread)

Basically, breakfast should contain fiber, vitamins, proteins, and some carbs because carbs provide u energy.....and I don't agree with totally cutting em out. They form the largest group in the food pyramid.

My breakfast has always been a glass of milk. It fills me up. I guess everyone is different. Some people can handle a bigger breakfast. Occasionally I might also have an apple, or toast, or a bagel.

o ji tandrusti kay liye aap ko accha khana khana chahiye nashtay mein..

khalis desi ghee walay parathay..4 anday, nihari..lassi kay do teen katoray..
bas ji banda pehelwaan ban jata hay..

Beans on toast!!!

pehelwaan k saath saath heart disease ka mareez bhi ban jata hay.

But maybe the wrestling will provide a sufficient enough cardio-work out.

Awesome info , thanks guys!

Angel Eyes, Can we consume fruits and milk in one meal like that?

I thought the chemistry of food is such that, you cant have something acidic like orange, with milk...is this true?

about
8 french toasts.
3 omlate
coffee
muffen little butter on them
coffee
dry toasted bred little butter + omlate
refill coffee

yeah!!
Thats what I am going to eat now

Healthy breakfast: Mix and Match

• Bread
  • Eggs (Mixed with vegies: spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes, etc)
  • Peanut butter/ or Almond & Hazelnut spread
  • Nutella
  • Fruits
  • Milk/Chai
  • Orange Juice
  • Cereal

Bon appetite.

As I promised I ate it all.
plus 2 woffels

Since I am always on run therefore I can't ever have time for a balanced breakfast. My breakfast is has to be something quick to make (like in 2-3 min) and easy to eat (even while you are commuting), so basically I take a jam toast sandwich or bagel with some sort of spread.

I am thinking of adding yogurt to my breakfast but since I don't like flavored yougurt so I have to find personal packs of pain yogurt which can be hard at times.

I try to make my lunch more healthy, I eat fruit (mostly orange), some sort sandwich (or carb in some form) with some protirn, and milk.

now back to your question cresi...

A healthy breakfast is one which includes all the food group. My suggestion would that maybe you alternate some food groups every day.

Maybe day 1 you take bread (with some jam, sandwich spead or peanut) + fruit and milk; day 2 you can have bread + egg + juice or milk...so on so forth. This way you will be having a healthy breakfast everyday and it won't be too redundant like mine...lol...

Re: Whats considered a ‘healthy’ breakfast?

Eating breakfast in the morning is soo hard for me… i never feel for eating anything. so, i have to force myself eating a toast or paratha with chai :bummer:

Ive nvr come across any problems.

i eat oat crunchy with raisin, almond and honey, they are ready to eat and i just add milk, it is so taste, i eat 2 bowls same time because they don;t keep me full, so i eat something else like biscuits in the morning to keep me full! is oat crunchy healthy or not ?

the question is how much u can eat?if i eat one bowl of oatmeal(dalia)its gud enuf for me.then i cannot eat fruit but may b after a while but not right away.i hav a small abdomen i guess