So, my SIL and her family, and my parents and bro are coming over for Eid dinner.
I’ve no idea what to make! we’re in the middle of packing but I wanted everyone to come over to our place cus MIL is visting.
Any ideas?
So, my SIL and her family, and my parents and bro are coming over for Eid dinner.
I’ve no idea what to make! we’re in the middle of packing but I wanted everyone to come over to our place cus MIL is visting.
Any ideas?
Re: What to make for Eid dinner
Make a roast chicken, mutter chawal, dum ka qeema, and one salan. Salad and dessert.
Or do a tandoori platter...grilled chicken, seekh kebabs, chappli kababs, fish kababs over a bed of mixed greens etc... Have naans and haleem. You can do the groundwork/marination for all the kebabs/etc earlier on and cook on the day.
I've no idea what to make! we're in the middle of packing but I wanted everyone to come over to our place cus MIL is visting.
Any ideas?
You're in the middle of packing? Moving somewhere? Vacation? Keeping that in mind, keep the menu simple, Sadzzz.
Usually in a formal desi meal, rice is a must (whether it's plain rice, pulao, or biryani). So pick one of the three.
And then have one meat dish (chicken karahi, roast/baked chicken, korma, nihari)
And** one** vegetable dish (palak or cholay, for example).
That's it. You'll have a balanced meal. Warm up some roti to go with the veggie/meat salans. Include salad (buy pre-packaged) and chutney or raita.
And for dessert, you can make two simple things: sawaiyan (vermicelli) and halwa. Serve it with chai. You're done.
Thanks guys!
my issue is.. I ALWAYS make chicken karhai and channe... well channe not as often as karhai but whenver i have peopel over, thats one thing that i can make really well so i do.. lol
hmm i was thinking of making haleem Niksik.. thats a good idea.. and mattar palau sounsd like a good idea... i might do those or channe walle chawal... both are quite easy to make..
ive never tried dum wala keema... do u have a tried recipe?
Im going to make dood wali sawiyan on thursday night Inshallah... so one thing outta the way..
hmm what are u guys making?
Magic, we're moving from our rental property to our new home Inshallah this sunday.. we're just in the middle of taking things across
congrats on the new house :).
you could make shami kabobs ahead of time as well. or marinate chicken ahead of time and bake it the day of.
try sara516's butter chicken recipe...its divine! i've perfected it and its a staple dish in my house now :).
mutter pulao or chana pulao goes well with butter chicken and is simple to make so stick with that.
for dessert- try the truffle recipe SGC posted....YUM :)
You need US to tell YOU what to make for YOUR MIL and their family? Interesting concept, hope it works out for you and them...
On the other hand, why not ask them what they LIKE to eat instead of trying something funny and ruin the evening?
We are having eid dinner as well with friends and MIL/BILs coming over, and guess who decided on the menu? I did, not some guppan, experimenting and learning how to cook in household forum. You should try it sometime, its really satisfying.
^Erm whats happening? Crappy day? Calm down, she is just asking for ideas.. erm
For Eid we have planned .. well I have planned as my family dont care as long there is meat :p
Dessert
- Chocolate chip muffins :D
- Kheer
- Maybe Saviyaan as well
Day couldn't be better... if someone is cooking a dinner for me, I would like them to ask me what I like instead of some learners forum. But then, I like Karailey and some other high quality dishes so they might end up on some forum looking for a way to make karailay!!!
^Lol
Karailey!! Tauba tauba .. I would never make tht for you even if u insisted!
Maybe she wanna give her guests a surprice? :p
Day couldn't be better... if someone is cooking a dinner for me, I would like them to ask me what I like instead of some learners forum. But then, I like Karailey and some other high quality dishes so they might end up on some forum looking for a way to make karailay!!!
"Karailay" are what you consider "high quality?" LMAO. Very rarely are "karailay" considered "high end" enough to be made for a formal occasion. They tend to be bitter-tasting, kinda like your post.
I certainly hope you're kidding because usually (and this also includes Western culture) the host does not ask you what YOU want them to cook. Instead the guest should be GRATEFUL that he even received an invitation and that somebody is taking time out from their already busy schedule to cook even a single thing for him. I think the poster was merely looking for suggestions that would be appropriate enough to make a decent impression and can fit within the time constraints she has. (rolls eyes).
Jaan leva.. i just needed ideas
and btw, i make the BEST karele ever… people cant stop eating them
was thinking of making them for eid
so guys, from the ideas you have given me and talking to the better half
im thinking
haleem
kebabs (keeme walle)
matar pulau
a chicken dish (if i get some time)
kaleji (mums making that)
and maybe karele as there are no veggies
sawiyan for dessert
ive made cupcakes… not sure if i’ll get time to make more on the day though.. it already looks like a very busy day.. yikes
Mutton pilao
kaurma or aaloo gosht
shami kebab
raita
naan N nihaarii plus laDDoo kii kheer :)
ladoo ki kheer? Never heard it before.
yes, motichoor ke laDDoo kii kheer...meri bhabhi banaatii haiN aksar aur masha Allah zabardast hotii hai...maiN un se poochh kar recipe aapko bhejuuNgaa iA :) try it...u'll LOVE it...i promise! :)**
^okay.....inshallah do so. :)
is Hareem ur real name Hareem Ji if i may ask...i never heard this name b4..its quite unique and a lovely name masha Allah :)**
"Karailay" are what you consider "high quality?" LMAO. Very rarely are "karailay" considered "high end" enough to be made for a formal occasion. They tend to be bitter-tasting, kinda like your post.
I certainly hope you're kidding because usually (and this also includes Western culture) the host does not ask you what YOU want them to cook. Instead the guest should be GRATEFUL that he even received an invitation and that somebody is taking time out from their already busy schedule to cook even a single thing for him. I think the poster was merely looking for suggestions that would be appropriate enough to make a decent impression and can fit within the time constraints she has. (rolls eyes).
High quality as in what health benefits the food has for your body...
Sadzzz, ap ke karailay bhi khaney hee parain ghay! esi bahaney australia bhi dekh lain ghay. :D
You can try keema bharey karelay... my taste buds are having an orgasm just thinking about this stuff.