What should I do?

Re: What should I do?

ughhh i hate to say this but i think OP is just a liar. i have been losing sleep thinking about her horrible situation and what kind of environment her innocent baby will have to deal with (maybe cuz i'm also pregnant), while she seems soo comfortable doing nothing to change her situation and just complaining on GS every now and then. There are SO many contradictions in your story:

1. i don't care how filthy rich your husband is, there is no way somebody buys two houses, pays mortgage, bills, maintainance on both knowing full well the money is going to waste. either OP is straight up lying or simply exagerating the 2 months that her in-laws spend to be more like 10 months.
  2. you had the spine to go against your parents' wishes and marry your boyfriend. your husband had the balls to do the same. but now all of a sudden you two are little spineless idiots who can't even utter a word in front of MIL and you are too afraid of getting a divorce because you are scared of what everybody else will think? why didn't you worry abt that when you were marrying him and ppl scandalizing this love marriage?
  3. you have two professional degrees but have hardly used your brain in any of these little battles with MIL. instead of worrying about the bigger picture, i feel like you placed more effort into how to have that dawat without your MIL then the effort you are now putting into making sure your kid is safe and healthy.

i don't want to be mean to you, but obviously the bundles of love, support, advice you got in the prior 12 pages hasn't helped you think rationally through this and its making me mad.

No, the house is in a different state. About 12 hours from our place. My husband and I used to live there in the beginning of our marriage and then he got a job here. We moved here and my in-laws decided to come over after about 9 months and since then they live here and occasionally go to that other house to "check" on stuff. I can't move there. The PROBLEM isn't that they came HERE, the problem is they wanna be with us, coz obviously they're getting free catering of their needs. If I go to that house, they'll come there. It won't end. My MIL is a smart women, she won't buy any "excuses" and think she kicked me out and all that stuff.
The problem is my husband that he lets them have their way. They have other sons and a daughter and they won't even dare to stay at their places for more than 2 weeks. I think my husband's guilty that he married me against their wishes so this is his idea for "making up for it". He's said stuff sometimes which makes me think this way. I, on the other hand, let them have their way, because I can't tolerate people yelling at me, calling me names, and what not. And on top of it, I don't want hubby to divorce me in the heat of the moment IF things get out of control some day :(

Praying that things get better for you BB.

Some people on here have been very harsh. It's easy to criticise when you're looking in from the outside. I will type a full response when I have more time but in the meantime keep hope.

Wow, that was hurtful that you called me a liar. What exactly do you think I'm getting out of lying? Is anyone paying me for it? WHY would I lie or exaggerate? And, I come every now and then because I can't sit on the laptop without my MIL standing next to me asking what I'm doing and who I'm talking to.....even if I'm just reading news! I have to wait for friday (when she goes out) or someday when she's not around, or when I have time from all the house chores. About the contradictions.....

1. That IS the thing....my husband is not a millionaire! Yet, they order him to do stuff like he is! He works for two different companies (same job). He didn't think his parents will come to stay with us for months when he bought them the house. Besides, we used to live in that house in the beginning and then he got a job here and we moved here. He bought a house here because he doesn't believe in paying "rent" which goes to WASTE. Mortgage doesn't go to WASTE. Also, we live in Georgia and my in-laws house is in Fl, pretty cheap states to buy houses in compared to others. We're not THAT rich! And my in-laws ARE here 9-10 months out of the year.....I don't have to lie about that, I'm not getting anything out of it.

2. I didn't elope with my "boyfriend". It was a regular wedding, just no one was happy about it. They agreed to do the wedding coz according to them "beta haath se nikal jaata". My parents agreed coz I told them I won't marry anyone else. I'm not spineless and my husband isn't either. I just don't want things to go out of control. AND, no one scandalized this marriage!

3. I had the dawat when MIL was NOT around. Which brings me to the point that I don't want things to get out of control in HER presence. You don't live with her, so you don't know what happens when she throws tantrums. I didn't have to place an EFFORT for the dawat. She was out of town and hubby had told me before that I can have it. Besides, I had already called people. Well, that dawat is not even a topic anymore.

I'm thankful for the support and advice but it's really hurtful for someone to call me a liar when this stuff happens in my life, and on top of it someone tells me I "exaggerate". Anyways, I do take the advice seriously, but I have to wait for the "right time" to use it coz I'm all alone in this. I can't do all this at once and blow things up with my husband and MIL so they can kick me out. I just wanna do it in a way that hubby is on my side too.

UPDATE for everyone else: I told mom that she elbowed me and mom was really mad. She wanted to call MIL and yell at her and stuff. I told her not to. Hubby had a "talk" with me. I told him I'm in a lot of pain and that house chores and all the "extra" work is really bothering me. PLUS, MIL decides to call her friends for chai even more often now. Obviously, I have to cater to them too. I told one of the aunties I'm expecting, MIL didn't wanna tell anyone. And the aunty was like go rest phir itna kaam kyun kar rahi ho. I did it on purpose so she tells others (she's they type that goes around and talks to everyone) that I'm expecting and that people know. After she left MIL yelled at me for telling her. The aunty even "mubaraked" my MIL and MIL just said "chai thandi ho jayegi" just to change the topic, as usual. Eventually everyone will find out so I don't know what's her problem.

Anyways, I cried to my husband that if his parents are not agreeing on going to Pak then send me to mom. I told him he's changed and he's taking his mom's side even more when obviously she's on the wrong side. He said he's being "nicer" to ammi coz he doesn't want her to think that "bache ka sunte hi beta badal gaya". I don't get that logic but oh wells. He's agreed to send me to mom's. He said he'll tell his mom that since my dad is going to Pak too, my mom will be alone, and I'll get some rest too. Yup, still making excuses, he still can't tell her straight out that he wants to send me coz of all the stress I'm in because of HER. But, works for me, for now at least. 

I have told mom to cancel her ticket. She said she will and I'll most likely go in a week or so inshaAllah. Other than that, things are as usual. I'm still cooking, still setting the table, and go in my room. I don't come out till later. FIL makes the evening chai for himself and MIL but all the dishes are there from lunch and chai. MIL hates me using the dishwasher because "Allah ne haath kis liye diye hain" but I still use it and I make it a point to use it when hubby's home, she doesn't say much in front of him anymore. Hence, he thinks his mom is "changing"....yeah right! I'm just in my room, just sleep after I cook and come out after asr (which is when hubby gets home). Of course she told hubby that I'm "always" sleeping. Hubby asked her then who cooks and stuff and she said "oh she does" and hubby goes "that means she's not always sleeping" . That made her quiet for a while lol. 

Besides that, I'm making lots of dua, and really happy to go to my moms! Thanks everyone for your help and support too :)

Busy Bee I have read your whole thread from the very start and I see so much of myself in you and it makes me so sad because I feel as though I am reading out my own life.

Granted my MIL is not quite AS difficult as yours but I have very similar issues. It is a very hard situation to be in and for all those people giving her such hard advice try and actually be in her position, all alone, with little or no support.

You need to understand that the type of people you live with are purposely giving you a complete mind fu*k and they wish for you to break apart and strip you down until you are nothing but an empty shell. You need to be stronger than that and that will only happen with time. It will not be over night. You will see... One day it will be one comment back, then two and then before you know it you will be standing up for yourself. You need to gain support from your husband and gain confidence. Confidence will help you escape this dark tunnel. Live for yourself not your controlling MIL. Get a job. Stop allowing her to run your life. My MIL made such a paddy when I finally bagged myself a job and so to get back at me dumped me with as much house chores as possible, purposely, to ensure I would become so tired and reduce my hours at work or to cease completely. I pushed forward regardless. Kept myself busy. Did all the chores from a-z and waltz out of the house with my husband to enjoy my weekend and she can not say a thing. Do not give her an excuse to moan at your husband.

My husband has witnessed himself how difficult his mother became when I got a job and now he helps me out in all the household chores himself - something I thought he would never do. this drives my MIL CRAZY. Trust me with a little perseverance you will get there too.

I would like to think that good wins over bad any day, and karma is an awful thing and believe me there will come a day where she will cry and apologise for all the injustice she has put you through. Keep faith in the almighty. He only tests those he loves the most and does not put you through something which you can not handle.

But going forwards, please take care of yourself and your unborn child. He/she should be your priority and your husband needs to fix up big time. He is going to be a father and so he needs to grow some balls and fix this mess otherwise his children will suffer. Please don't blame yourself. This is your husbands family it is his duty to open up his mouth and tell his mother what is right and wrong. Simples,

mean while chin up and don't lose faith. Xxxxx

When people say play smart - that is **exactly **what they mean. Always try to let her get caught lying and eventually your husband will see things for himself. This is what you need to be doing more of.

Rest easy and please try to relax.

Ps really glad you are going home to stay at your mums xxxx

Seriously how do in laws make DIL's work like slaves, doing household chores, catering to their friends, preventing them from going out and working in countries like the US :s

The bahu expected to slave for the in laws is all cultural. From what I have read and researched, its the sons duty to take care of his folks and he can't force his wife to do so if she is not willing. Also she is entitled to separate living quarters if she wishes.

I ma glad BusyBee, things are looking better at least for the short term. Prayers for you. Did you go and see the doctor after the "elbow in the ribs"?

Some people marry to go abroad or for other financial sake... n thats the root of the problem

It's good to see that you're making progress. I have a couple of suggestions:

1. Let your MIL know that you're staying with your mother AFTER you've already left with her so she can't interfere with it. Also, if MIL tries to get in touch with you after that point, have your mother deal with her first and have your conversations with her on speakerphone in front of your mother whenever possible.
  2. Use your laptop freely from your room when you lock it. Take it in with you and make it clear that you don't care if she doesn't like that.
  3. Try to record the stuff she says to you; don't try to get your husband to confront her over the things she says to you very often. What I would suggest is that you keep those recordings and if confronts you about something, then play the recordings in front of him.

It's good to see you're standing your ground more but you still have a long way to go. I hope you get there sooner rather than later.

Hi busybee I really thought I had the ultimate breakout plan for u but oh well! So is it that u used to live with them before as well? When u were in FL or did they fly in from pak later? One more thing I realized from your info is that u said that they never live with the other siblings for more than two weeks, do u realize that ur hubby and u are both the enablers? They see that they can play u both, ur hubby guilt tripped and u pushed into a corner (because u listen to ur hubby and because u don't want to upset them)
Its like they know exactly what buttons to push. And do u think that ppl like ur pil will not have tried this with the other brothers? They must have had some roadblocks like other sons not taking crap and standing up for wives and also bahus not caring if they r pissing pil off. But they are only able to do that because their hubbies stood up for them. I think in ur initial relationship with pil and also with their son after u got married they realized they can cash on his guilt and ur non confrontational eager to please behavior. I think maybe with time u will realize that no matter what u do they are going to be mad at u, bad mouth u and treat u like shi* and then u will think that u wasted time trying to please them. Cuz if it doesn't matter and daant khani he hae to Phir Banda poori Apni marzi na kar lay and then daant kha lay for something uv actually done?
From the situations that I've seen, in my extended family, it's only a matter of the last straw, cus it all ends after that. Since ur the one showing the sabr then I'm hoping the last straw will b in ur favour when it hits ur hubby after years of discord (unless it becomes so ingrained that it becomes a way of life). In one case I know the wife had been bearing all this for about 15+ years, till her kids got older and stood up for their mom and gave her support. One fine day after a mil beating and name calling her kids called the police and she pressed charges (btw I don't think beating was regular occurence but had happened before at some point, like pushing or slapping maybe or elbow nudge hint hint) , put her foot down that mil will not come back to the house. Hubby was basically spineless and saw no way out (in previous years as well as now). Mil moved in with her married daughter in same town ( who took very good care of her) and lived there for quite a few years till she passed away. After the charges incident bahu controlled all communication between families, cut off whenever she thought they were giving her crap again and basically just lived her life. But do u know what all these years of mistreatment right under Ur guardian's (hubby) nose gives u, a marriage that's dead inside. But ofcourse then U have r children and their accomplishments to live for. It was all the same stuff,
restricting bahus movement, not allowing contact with her own family, picking on little stuff, controlling grand kids life according to own principles, not letting u make decisions for urself, ur opinion not mattering, bad mouthing bahu I front of everyone and the list goes on. I think the hubby gave in and let her go to extremes because kids were grown up and stood behind her and against all the injustices they had seen all their lives. (btw all this was in US)
Anyway I hope it doesn't go to that, but what u have to understand is that whatever u r doing is not making them change, and it won't happen. Well iA anything can happen but just generally it's most likely not to happen. Ur hubby has definitely known his mom longer than u he must know from past experience (b4 marriage) of the drama causing abilities. I think he's also just doing wishful thinking and taking the easy way out ( of not doing anything). The way u have described ur pil unless they have a really life changing experience in which they truly discover God (not the way she has right now) a good change is highly unlikely.
The other last straw could be Urs and I really hope that doesn't happen. But the way u r determined to get thru it I feel u will always find a way to live with it rather than get a divorce and I don't call u stupid for that because I would have done the same.
So finally IMO u should take baby steps and just start doing what u want. Keep ur door closed while using r laptop so no mil over shoulder. If she still asks say oh ammi aapnay laptop use karna hae Mae itnay min Mae day doong, or reply with a question like Ji ammi aapko koi kaam hae. I'm learning these things from my surroundings everyday, I will still never learn the art of it, k baat bhi suna daini Aur doosray Ko pata bhi na Chalay k did this person just say something to me or not. I dunno how they do it, it's this subtle skillful art, that as a punjabi i think I will never be able to master! Owing to the khullay dullay log that we are. Seriously they use this subtle subliminal messaging with their hubbies as well and it works! If u know anyone like that in ur community make them ur friend and start taking advice from them!
Anyway I think my posts always become a ramble but hopefully soon I will get the hang of it! Meanwhile I will pray for u.
Btw when u go to ur moms place how does ur mil manage the house. And do ur fil and hubby help her? Btw it's a very simple line for ur hubby to say "ammi busybee ki tabiyat sahi nahi hae khana wagera aap dekh liya karain. Waesay bhi maa k haath k khanay ki kya baat hae" or when he's calling u back " Ammi busybee nay pata nahi Kub tuk rehna hae udhar, maenay usko keh diya hae k Mae seat karwa raha hoon fikr nahi Karo hum mil jul k kar laingay, ammi khana wagera kar laingi bus ab ghar aao". Guys are pretty clueless cuz they only know one way to say stuff... As it is! And they think it's too blunt. And frankly speaking that's the only way I know how too mostly. These are all the things I come up with when I think I wish I would have said that! And never haazir dimaagh in the moment can I come up with this!

[mod]Please avoid off-topic posts, foilks.[/mod]

Lol....I guess you didn't read any of my other posts ever. No one married for the sake of going "abroad" here. I was born and raised in the U.S and my husband came here when he was 15. AND, when we decided to marry each other, we were still in high school and there was no interest in "financial sake" at that time either.

When we got married, my in-laws were renting a condo. I lived in that condo with them for about three months and that's when hubby decided to buy a house. He bought a house and we all moved in. All this time, my husband was applying to jobs elsewhere too. We knew we'll eventually move to a different city/state. He bought that house thinking that he's buying it for his parents because despite living here for 25+ yrs, his dad was never able to buy a house, so he wanted to give them a house. His older brother was already working and married at that time too, but DIDN'T help with down-payment or even a dollar for any of the expenses. We lived in that new house for 8-9 months until he got a job offer in North Carolina and we moved there. We were there for about 3 years and then moved to Atl. In-laws used to come to NC too but not for 9-10 months at once. They used to come for 3-4 months, then leave for 2-3 months and then come back for 3-4 months....coz my youngest BIL didn't have a job then. They used to bring him too (he was doing online schooling).

The other kids don't even bother calling and telling them to come over. Yes, my hubby and I are enablers, we both know it, but can't help it much :( I guess I should've stood up for myself since the beginning and now since it's too late, I have to take baby steps, so, it'll take a long while till I get there. 

My MIL is really active. She's not even 50 yet. She can take care of the whole house if she intends to. Besides, she's never done anything for FIL anyways. Since I got married, I always saw him wash his own clothes, make his own breakfast, chai, even clean bathrooms/kitchen and stuff. But, he doesn't do much when at my place bcoz obviously I do it. MIL never does much for him and when they came to stay with us once few years ago, he was doing his stuff and MIL started saying "app rehne den bahu kisliye hai". Since then, he doesn't do anything when I'm around, but when they go to their house for however many months, he does his own stuff. Hubby doesn't help anyone, not me, not his mom. He's really tired by the time he gets off of work and then goes to the gym, then comes home. Hubby knows his mom can do everything, it's just he doesn't want them to say stuff about WHY he let me go. 

Hubby's already booked my ticket but now MIL is playing the "can't fly in pregnancy" card. The flight is only about 3 hours and it's not like I'm near my due date. She's just playing innocent and saying stuff like the baby gets effected from the flight.....right! My husband is not even saying a word back to them anymore, at least he used to say "some" stuff before but not anymore....don't know what changed. He's fine with me (most of the time) but doesn't wanna hear anything about them or say anything to them. 

No, not after the elbowing. I'm supposed to go on Wednesday for a regular 8-week appointment. I was scared to call my Dr and tell her that I wanna come in coz my MIL elbowed me. I didn't want it to become a domestic violence case :(

Good! When are you leaving for your mom's? Let your MIL say whatever she wants. You keep your hubby focused on what the OB says. Is your husband going with you to the appointment next Wednesday?

Don't ever think it's too late. You're already taking steps in the right direction, which is much better than when I first read this thread. Anyhow, from here on out, don't involve or discuss any of your matters with your MIL.

Hubby's already booked my ticket but now MIL is playing the "can't fly in pregnancy" card. The flight is only about 3 hours and it's not like I'm near my due date. She's just playing innocent and saying stuff like the baby gets effected from the flight.....right! My husband is not even saying a word back to them anymore, at least he used to say "some" stuff before but not anymore....don't know what changed. He's fine with me (most of the time) but doesn't wanna hear anything about them or say anything to them. 

This is exactly why I said stick with recordings. He's probably stressed enough with all this and would like to limit his involvement. So try not to get him involved in confrontations. If he confronts on behalf of his mother, then play the recordings.

Good! When are you leaving for your mom's? Let your MIL say whatever she wants. You keep your hubby focused on what the OB says. Is your husband going with you to the appointment next Wednesday?

My OB appointment is on Wednesday and I'm leaving on Friday. Yes, hubby will go with me to the appt. Funny thing is, whenever I used to go to any dr before, MIL always wanted to tag along, even if I just went for flu. Now, she doesn't say she wants to bcoz she knows if the dr says anything in front of her, she can't play clever anymore.