Re: What is a "good" salary?

^Are you working now Sara?

No, why?

^ Are you Sara's new alt?

well as human "jitna zayda ho utna he kum hai"

but i have firm believe on rizq-halal....so who cares (no one gonna start eating five times a day :D)

Are you serious? That's incredibly cheap compared to average house prices here in Dubai.

How big would a £200,000 house be?

^^ 3 bedroom house but not in very posh area !

Are we talking about real houses or "townhouses"?

A 3 bedroom townhouse in Dubai would cost you at least 2 million Dirhams (approx. £ 300,000) these days, if you are lucky enough to find a desperate seller.

My parents sold a 70-year old 4 bedroom semi-detached house with a huge lawn in a middle-class suburb of London for about £320,000 2 years ago.

That's the type of house I want to move back into in London.... I'll move back to the UK when I can inshallah afford a place like that and 2 kids in private schools.

When do you plan to return ,in 2025?

Most brand name B-schools flat out don't accept candidates with less than 2 years of post bachelor's experience in their own field. Flipping burgers does not count as experience.

[quote="LuxuryItem, post:7, topic:159897"]

Good salary means jack if you don't have time to enjoy life and spend it with your loved one(s). People are brainwashed into materialism at an early age and learn to associate happiness with "bling". If they are really lucky, they realize they've bought into a sham idea of success and happiness.

The most valuable thing in life is time. People should measure their success by availability of time for their favorite pursuits (not work) versus time spent earning a salary to afford necessities./quote]

:biggthumb

Re: What is a “good” salary?

For some work is a favorite pursuit :snooty:

Yaar Tofi, I have worked in 2 banks myself, one of them being citibank. in the areas of insitutional asset mgmt, and securities trading.

so I speak from personal experience, and know people in regular banking jobs right now, and a 100% bonus at a manager level just does not happen outside of the fields we already covered.

that's what they told you to keep you quiet :)

there are exceptional cases, but very rare in terms of experience e.g. someone who had an undergrad in literature but joined peace corps and then stayed in some war torn area for a few years.

I know of one Kellogg MBA who did exactly that, but just the work she did with peace corps was so strng, and she made such a strng case for herself that she got in the program.

Working is for suckers. Hustling or a fast buck is the way.

Working in IT consulting in NY, area with the biggest gathering of banks, I had access to a lot of info. Plus I worked as an employee at one of those firms myself. And when i said "some upto 300-500% at higher posts" I didn't mean manager level, I meant executive level. For the general public i used the term "chunky bonuses". :)

go to salary.com or vault.com and check :)

Tofi I know what you are saying dude, those 300 to 500% bonuses at executive suite are a reality. at a manager level if you are in i-banking area then yes it is very realistic as we all saw with goldman sachs last year.

But if some manager from chase or capital one lock box operations shows up and says I make 100% of my salary in bonuses...you and I both kow that would be ridiculous.