Re: What is a "good" salary?
including the decimals i do :D
^ i highly doubt if a 6 figure maker would have time to be on gupshup
oh there are plenty of 6 figure makers on GS, I cant name them of course. Now they have not told me thatthey are making 6 figures but I know their titles/roles and companies they work for and know the median pay for those roles.
I mean if someone does not tell u how much he makes but you know he is a senior manager at accenture in US, you know that the person is easily in 6 figures. I know of atleast a dozen guys on GS who are in 6 figures.
There are other guys who I was helping with job searches and they told me what they make and all as well.
none of these guys are going to be showing off in a thread what they make as they are all modest folks.
I am a millionaire in south korean Won, and Venzuelan Bolivar.
one of the biggest expenses for anyone is housing costs, so rent vs buy, condo/townhouse vs singlr family, location and size of the house, property taxes, all factor in.
so the sum on which one can live comfortable in des moines iowa, is not the same on which one can live comfortably in manhattan or san francisco. they will have to sacrifice one thing or another.
I agree with this one 100 %
Re: What is a “good” salary?
lo mr.fraudz hain naa:D and woh jo eik maghroor sa guppy hai pakistnai abroad shayad woh bhi ![]()
I am a 6 figure maker in venezuelan bolivar.
chalo maker nahi hain to investor to hain hi ![]()
I am a millionaire in south korean Won, and Venzuelan Bolivar.
waday loag wadi wadi batain :D
mr frauds ive got you down as the over $100k earner!!
btw whats the tax like in canada and US?
Tax in Canada is basically the same as in the UK. Maybe a little bit less, but not so much so as to have any impact on your quality of life.
The leading problem in the UK is housing prices. It's the one thing preventing me from seriously thinking about returning home. On my salary I can now easily afford a freehold 3 bedroom 4 year old house in Canada, whereas I would barely be able to afford a leasehold 2 bedroom 40 year old apartment in a London suburb on the same amount of money.
I’m a dollar-aire ![]()
Maddy - That's exactly why we moved back to the US. We loved London, but in the end there was just no way that we could afford the lifestyle there that we are able to have here. Taxes are peanuts in the US compared to what we were paying, in fact, I think we must have one of the lowest tax rates of any developed nation - I'll have to look that up :)
I doubt any of the top MBA programs would take candidates with no work experience. 2-3 years is minimum work experience expected.
btw bonuses vary by role and level, if he was in investment banking, then it is entirely possible that he doubled his salary in bonus. but otherwise at a 'manager' level in a bank, that seems a little off. In general someone with 2 years of experience becomes a manager in a bank.
Actually, I would disagree. People at investment firms (e.g. hedge fund, fixed income etc.) basically depend on bonuses for their real take home money. So from the president down to managers get chunky bonuses, some upto 300-500% their salary at higher posts.
yeah but none of the roles you talked about refer to themselves as a 'manager in a bank', that is why I said if he was in investment banking for example, hedge funds and all are similar. But beyond that, the probability of 100% bonus at a manager level does not exist.
London is next. IPR did a study that showed some 6 million Brits live outside the Uk. The primary reason people are leaving is the cost of housing. Even in my nuclear family 2 people have left.
Ave cost of a house in SE is c. £200,000.
Oh what are the best cheap cities in the US, size of 200,000 people + but less then say 700,000.
Maddy - That's exactly why we moved back to the US. We loved London, but in the end there was just no way that we could afford the lifestyle there that we are able to have here. Taxes are peanuts in the US compared to what we were paying, in fact, I think we must have one of the lowest tax rates of any developed nation - I'll have to look that up :)
That's because the USA has the lowest level of government provided services of any developed nation.
I'm a firm believer in the social welfare state and the benefits thereof, so I don't mind paying high taxes. What I take offence at is unaffordable property.
oh there are plenty of 6 figure makers on GS, I cant name them of course. Now they have not told me thatthey are making 6 figures but I know their titles/roles and companies they work for and know the median pay for those roles.
I mean if someone does not tell u how much he makes but you know he is a senior manager at accenture in US, you know that the person is easily in 6 figures. I know of atleast a dozen guys on GS who are in 6 figures.
There are other guys who I was helping with job searches and they told me what they make and all as well.
none of these guys are going to be showing off in a thread what they make as they are all modest folks.
myyy badddd for some reason i thought it was 7 figure....honest mistake...i was using 100,0000 as an example and was not counting the 1 in it..just the zeros :D i need to take basic math again..
yeah but none of the roles you talked about refer to themselves as a 'manager in a bank', that is why I said if he was in investment banking for example, hedge funds and all are similar. But beyond that, the probability of 100% bonus at a manager level does not exist.
U'd be surprised at what ppl call bank these days, for one. Second I've heard a lot of "real" banks are moving towards performance bonuses which results in a much more lucrative results for both parties.
Good salary means jack if you don't have time to enjoy life and spend it with your loved one(s). People are brainwashed into materialism at an early age and learn to associate happiness with "bling". If they are really lucky, they realize they've bought into a sham idea of success and happiness.
The most valuable thing in life is time. People should measure their success by availability of time for their favorite pursuits (not work) versus time spent earning a salary to afford necessities.