What has been your BEST experience of a wedding?

It could be YOUR wedding, It could be ANYONE’S wedding. Just aslong as you enjoyed it… Do tell us a a good story, to cheer up the bride to be’s and those who well jus wanna add a lil input..Or those that jus wanna hear a nice wedding story :chai:

Re: What has been your BEST experience of a wedding?

Change the topic from "best" to "worst" and the stories will come flooding in.

^ :omg:

OOooh thats tru, can some1 change it please??

I had alot of good moments.. I think meeting up with friends and family and having so many people together at the same place is so much fun. And I just love good food ;)

I take it back. I just realized I'd have an easier time describing the decent weddings I've attended than the pissy ones since the former could be counted on one hand even if I chopped off four fingers.

Let's start with the bad weddings, shall we?

Exibit A: I was forced to attended my #@$% cousin's wedding last winter, and upon arrival I was forced to pay $5 for parking. Regular guests had to pay $14.

And that was the nicest thing I could say about that wedding.

^ LOOOOOOOOOOL!!!!

I take it 99% of us have never attended a decent wedding then.

I LOVE getting ready for a wedding but then realising I look like a drag queen brings me wayyyyyyyy down.

Are you kidding me?!? South Asian culture is the only culture where looking like a drag-queen works to your advantage; you're automatically invited to all of the best shindigs! All you have to do is show up and threaten to curse the hosts' child/engagement/marriage if they don't pay you cash money, 'cause that's how hijras roll! I'm tired of giving out money at weddings; let's make some for once! reaches for makeup

lolz ^^ :cb:

HAHAHAHA luv it....

Well I haven’t attended many desi weddings coz of living outside of pakistan almost all my life… but the best wedding that I ever attended was when I was 10 or 11. I had sooooo much fun on that wedding and I still remember it quite well… that whole family had such a good sense of humor and we were on the floor laughing the whole time! Even their mother did a short comedy skit, where she dressed up as a doctor (u can imagine a 200 pound woman in tight trousers n tshirt!) and she was holding a doctor’s bag .. she sat beside an old granny and said “ao maa ji tuwada operation kariye, kere kere purzay jawab de chuke han?” she opened her bag and there were like HUGE knives n blades etc in it :rotfl: … and u should have seen the look on the granny’s face!!!

And I remember, the boys got loads of fire works and started lighting the patakhas at the girl’s feet! And all the girls were screaming and shouting n especially one anti was just out of this world!!! She was running here n there screaming her head off, didn’t care where her dupatta was… lol (and the patakhas weren’t dangerous at all, they hardly made a noise!)

To be honest, I think I only enjoyed that wedding because I was only a child…

When u grow up, u start understanding the s**tiness that people cause on weddings.. u start understanding the taunts and the looks… the issues, the complaints… :smack:

^ That happend at a WEDDING?....

That is soooooo trruu

And yes i agree evrytime u go to a wedding u shud be prepared and hav atleast bloody £100 on you. 50 to the groom 50 to the bride. Jeeezzz Cheaper going to eat downstairs at the restaurant!!

**This is the WORST experience I had at a wedding :

Everyone was enjoying the wedding and suddenly an aunty shouted : " KHAANA LAG GAYA HAI TOOOOOOT PAROOOOO " and everyboday started running to the banquet. And some aunties took other ppl's chairs to sit there. It was really horrible !

My Elder Bro's Wedding in 2004. It was a blast! :D

I really enjoyed this one wedding. It was some really rich family back in Pakistan.. I love food and this wedding they had small stalls for Everything.. from fruits to veggies to raita/chutneys... fried stuff... different rice dishes... different curries... kababs an on-site roti thing.. everything has a different stall dedicated to similar kind of foods. That was a good wedding. We kids had a lot of fun.. We were small and every kid was given bunch of baloons and goodie bags..

My own wedding was fun too because at the wedding day ... I didn't worry about a thing.. I just sat at the stage with my husband like we are the only two in this world... Didn't care or even look at the guest.. lol

One of the best weddings I went to was a Sikh one,some years ago.

The ceremonies started really early in the morning,so by the time we got to the evening reception,we were really tired.But after the food was served.....OMG the dancing started.
Eveyone,but everyone was dancing and doing bhangras really loud.It was too fabby for words...bit like our mehndis I spose.
Our weddings are more ...what's the word...dignified?...sombre?...boring even.You go and sit...***** about everone else's clothes and makeup....listen to the nikah (which is nice),have a break for namaaz,eat...after making a rush for the buffet,keep going back 'cos ammi/auntie/hubby/ can't be bothered to get up (and everyone thinks when was the last time you ate,or do you have worms),watch while there are a gazillion pics taken (none of you btw), and then go home

Thats the way it shud be! Congratualtions x