Re: What has been your BEST experience of a wedding?
One of the best I've been to was my cousins in Pakistan. During the mehndi, my mamoo and his wife ( groom's parents), my mom, khala, another khala and my nani all did luddi together. Everyone looked so happy and there was like this special aura around them..like they were all in their own world...I took a picture of it and its one of my favourite picture. Little did we know that my khala would be taken away from us less than a year later. That memory would always be in my heart.
WORST experience at a wedding …
The imam that did the nikkah ended up giving an HOUR LONG lecture on how kids growing up in the west are getting messed up and their parents are not doing a good job raising them. Basically hating on every single guest there. He even started getting fired up over young guy’s facial hair and hair styles in general. The whole thing was so ridiculous
at the Same wedding: the sound system was completely messed up. So when the nikkah went down, some guests did not hear the girl agree to the marriage. So once dinner was served (after being delayed for an hour due to the imams lecture), people started gossiping about whether or not the bride had agreed to the shaadi. The poor dulhan actually stood up while eating her dinner and basically screamed/shouted that she had agreed to the marriage. She probably got sick and tired by the gossip and drama that was started to be created. It was so mortifying.
At the same wedding: as I mentioned the sound system sucked… the “background” music was like club level loud in the back of the hall…where all the uncles were sitting actually. My dad got a headache by the end of the night and complained he literally could not even socialize with his friends. No one could hear anyone talk.
it was a traditional pakistani wedding where families got together for several days, sat down, talked to each other, had loads of fun... and thats where the comedy thing took place... at night when all families were sitting down having a great time
not like now... u go to a wedding for 3 or 4 hours, eat, drink, watch people, gossip, get ur photos taken, especially ur video, n come back home
Thats sweet. May Allah grant her the highest place of Jannat. Ameen xx
That is indeed, AWFUL. That poor poor dulhan. I wish for once people wud have the decency to save their gossiping to when they get home! My uncle had a love marriage, and everyone was chatting sh*t about him n his wife in the WEDDING. He realised this and at the walima he did a announcment that ‘’ the 6 years hes been with her had been the happiest etc’’
LOL the look on peoples faces!! hahaa
it was a traditional pakistani wedding where families got together for several days, sat down, talked to each other, had loads of fun... and thats where the comedy thing took place... at night when all families were sitting down having a great time
not like now... u go to a wedding for 3 or 4 hours, eat, drink, watch people, gossip, get ur photos taken, especially ur video, n come back home
Ummm... no not really. It depends how close u are to the people. If its close family you literally stay there a week b4 the wedding and have dolkis. If your not close then you go to a wedding for 3-4 hours. Then it is kinda boring because ur not involved.
^agreed.. it all depends on whos wedding ur attending...
in our families.. pre wedding festivities start almost 2-3 months b4 the shaadi.. we do all niters.. play games.. dance.. soo much fun.. n it never gets boring..
I wouldn't know coz I haven't really had a chance to attend weddings of close relatives... even on my own sister's wedding, I went only a week before the wedding coz of my internship... so yeah, that wedding from when I was 10/11 is all I remember
ive been to a few weddings.....not many recently mayb the most recent was 06.....it was my cousin in the UK....ive not seen many weddings in pakistan cept my mamoo bt i was abt 8 or 9 and jst remember being uncomfortable cos i didnt know abt the rasms and wot was happening....altho i loved singing along in the dholki......
as for my cousin, well it was a wedding wer i felt involved even tho i hadnt seen her in abt 5 or 6 yrs....it was nice since me and her sis get along really well....they had a marquee in the back garden and wud have jst random bhangra and dholki and jst have a laugh it was so much fun...best part was at a dholki the night before her wedding and these aunties came and did traditional "tappe" like punjabi folk songs...it was alot of laughs...the wedding itself was amazing...we had to meet and greet the barat....and they came literally with band baja!! then wen had to bring my cousin down....it was so nice and taking pics and jst having fun.......i really enjoyed myself i must say....
but i really wana attend a shaadi in pakistan....haha mayb thats why i secretly want mine to be there..... :)
at the Same wedding: the sound system was completely messed up. So when the nikkah went down, some guests did not hear the girl agree to the marriage. So once dinner was served (after being delayed for an hour due to the imams lecture), people started gossiping about whether or not the bride had agreed to the shaadi. The poor dulhan actually stood up while eating her dinner and basically screamed/shouted that she had agreed to the marriage. She probably got sick and tired by the gossip and drama that was started to be created. It was so mortifying.
That's really sad. And you know, I'll bet they started talking afterward about what a shameless dulhan she is for getting up and talking like that. Is it just that they don't know what their actions do to people, or they just don't care??
That is indeed, AWFUL. That poor poor dulhan. :( I wish for once people wud have the decency to save their gossiping to when they get home! My uncle had a love marriage, and everyone was chatting sh*t about him n his wife in the WEDDING. He realised this and at the walima he did a announcment that '' the 6 years hes been with her had been the happiest etc''
LOL the look on peoples faces!! hahaa
Unfortunately that's the way things go. Although it was a nice gesture supporting his wife, i bet it did nothing to quiet the crowd, they just would have started saying things about how much influence she has on him or some lame stuff like that. Seriously- you can never win!!
^ Lol my uncles the type tht he doesnt care. Hes does mela's and sings all the time, so people b*tch abt him for that. But i love him, hes my faaaaaav :p
Worse wedding - There were not enough chairs for everyone so we had to wait to eat but people were literally standing behind the chairs waiting for people to get up. So after the second serving the bride's sister told us to go sit on the stage and eat there as the bride was meeting and greeting. We got to the stage and sat down which was way embarassing cos everyone was looking at us, like why are you sitting there?! About 5 minutes later we had to stand up because the bride came back to sit down. So we just decided to leave without eating.
Best wedding - My chachoo's wedding. I was only about 8 but it was amazing. Had so much fun. First wedding in my family in the UK which meant everyone wanted to enjoy it so the celebrations started weeks before the actual wedding with dolkis every night. I remember aunties would come straight from work to our house to join in. And the dolkis continued for a few weeks after the wedding too.
Everyone was enjoying the wedding and suddenly an aunty shouted : " KHAANA LAG GAYA HAI TOOOOOOT PAROOOOO " and everyboday started running to the banquet. And some aunties took other ppl's chairs to sit there. It was really horrible !
loooool thats xactly wat iwas gna say!! its like they have never had a meal before!so bad...
Afghan weddings rock! The best wedding I went to was of my afghan friend. They had rented this really cool, posh place with waiters and everything. The guests were taken really good care of, as if you were royalty. The food was amazing! They had a buffet with over 15 dishes!! Everything about the wedding as awesome. Kids were seated in another room where they could watch cartoons etc....I've als been to other afghan weddings which have been really really good!
ooh yeah the traditional attan at the afghan weddings rock - the girls of the family wear traditional afghan clothes and jewelry and perform at special choregraphed attan. Plus at the weddings they usually have live music, song and entertainment which makes the entire event so magical - I so love when the bride enters and the singer starts singing "ahista boro" ( a must at every afghan wedding), so special!
That actually sounds like the best wedding ever: one where the officiant takes to the mic and turns on the guests. I truly wish I had been there! I might have had to stuff my pallu in my mouth to keep from laughing, but I would have enjoyed it immensely and taken pains to capture it on my cameraphone. A week later you’d be seeing it on youtube.