What do you feel bad spending money on in the wedding

During weddings we spend a lot of money on outfits, accessories, makeup, MAUs, photogs, venues, caterers, floral arrangements, etc.

Did you spend money on something during your wedding which you regret now? Or spent too much on something you wish you had spent less on?

The only thing I have ever heard people say is they spent too much money on their wedding dress and regret it now since they have only worn it once.

Re: What do you feel bad spending money on in the wedding

i dint spend anything so no regrets :snooty:
j/k..

gifts for hte in laws of course. But it was her (moms) decision so whatever.

But I did like the mehndi/makeup/vide/photoraphy etc

i can't think of anything, to be honest. the priciest thing on our list (after the food), were our photogs and i don't regret a single penny of that!

I have decided not to have a cameraman (for wedding film) for my wedding, as looking back at my elders siblings weddings we hardly watched them. it costs so much money these days that i thought that was something i may regret.

I've gone all out with my photographer tho, mashallah he's great and I know I will always look back at photos.

Feel a little bad about my chooriyah.. they worked out really expensive but I blame parents for buying my gold during the recession!!!

well that sucks. if ur certain that u wont watch them or would want others to see then i guess dont do it and instead have relatives make videos.

all of my family saw our wedding videos and after the wedding i saw the videos almost every other day. and im sure later on people would want to see them including myself so its great to have them.

I will have some family who will be making video, think I'll prefer the more personal touch... We made video for my engagement (small function at home), we all watched it the first day and then never watched it again..

Hoping I won't regret decision to not get one now.. :S

^ we opted not to have video either and it'll be fine! if your photog is good, they'll capture all the moments just fine. plus, the camera adds 10lbs :p

Inshallah photog will be great.. He cost loads so me and in-laws shared costs and will use him throughout whole wedding. My mua suggested him and I've seen lots of work from them both together. He's a gora that says mashallah and inshallah and salaam etc, as spends so much time with Muslim people!

I think I would feel bad spending too much money on invites...sorry, but who cares?! People look at it once and generally throw them away. Obviously if I was loaded it wouldn't be a big deal, and I still want NICE invites, but its something that I wouldn't care to go over the top for.

^ totally agree. I'm going to get my invites made this week and I could care less what they look like as long as they are decent looking. My fiance on the other hand, wants scroll invites which are more expensive! Grrrr.

Invites were a big deal to me and probably the one thing my dad wanted to shoot me over during the wedding. I dont know what the import laws are anymore from India but when I was getting married it was very difficult to get things from there and I disliked every card I saw in khi and only liked this particular one from India. I eventually got the invites. They were gorgeous and completely different from the stuff in khi. Some people actually told me that they had kept the invites and didnt throw them away cuz they were so pretty.

^ nice one! now go post some pics in the Wedding Stationery thread! i wanna see!

wow, i could never imagine doing that. i'd cry if my wedding weren't filmed!

in one thread, i think someone posted a link of these invites from a hindu-muslim wedding where the invites were stitched together. they were really pretty! couldnt you get that done easily in pakistan? I think the only down-side to that is people generally invite people to some events and not others (e.g. someone might only get invited to the shaadi, but not the mehndi) and in a booklet-type invitation, you'd have each event on a separate page.

there was actually one shop i went to in khi that made booklets. and i took my dad there i said, if u can get this guy to make this invitation, then u dont have to order it from india. it was a booklet, amazing paper quality, amazing graphics, but the guy said to make that invitation for the numver of guests we wanted, he would need atleast 6 months and we only had 2. so i got the ones i wanted from india. i think i posted the link on GS before, the pics on his website dont do justice to it. the website is actually very good, the guy mails u samples of whichever 3 cards u want from delhi and he pays for shipping himself.

the invitation i wanted, i went around the invitation stores in khi and everyone said they cant make it cuz the quality of paper doesnt even exist in pakistan. pakistan has 3 paper mills where as india has over 100. the types of paper are obviously limited in pakistan.

yeah I remember that website, your invitations looked great mA :) unfortunately I dont think my parents would let me order off a website...do you happen to remember the name of the shop you're talking about in khi?

Surprisingly, I was very budget conscious during the wedding planning and didn't have a single bridezilla moment.

Looking back, I have no idea why I was SOOO super laid-back and wish that I'd had at least a teeny, tiny tantrum just so that I could say that I did. :( Wonder if someone slipped me something? Lol.

That's a very valid point. I guess some people may go with 2 types of invites ; one the more expensive kind(booklet for close freinds and family) and the other regular.

i dnt get the point of wedding invites for weddings in pakistan, who needs a invite there,. theyl turn up anyway, free foood can be smelt a mile away....lol no seriously you just give them a call, and theyl turn up. i dnt get the wdding invites thingy.

nothing...although i feel like i should have spent more money on my clothes. I feel like i don't have enough :)