i tried to looked quite extensively for it in Toronto and India Bazar elsewhere but never found it. i think this variety is NOT exported to the west for some reason. may be it’s production is very low which is NOT even enough for the local demand.
i find peThaa in almost every Indo/Pakistani miThaaii stores and packaged ones in Indo/Pak grocery stores.
i LOVE the soft kinda peThaa which has some sheera.
Mostar, dude , hum itnay sukhar nai hain .. I cant make Petha, havnt even tasted it , but got to some day In Shaa Allah :))
That’s a dupe , Tlk. Mithai shortcut sai nai, mehnat sai banti hai
I love the points you added , they will definitely help anyone trying out this recipe. Thanks for adding them
Tahurra sweetie pie, all credit goes to Wah Chef, he has explained the recipe so well , particularly the key aspect of that recipe was understanding when the dough gets ready and how much to heat the oil and how long to cook the jamuns. Had he not told those intricacies , we wouldnt have had our non fail recipe of the jamuns
Its ok Tahurra , they look good . I think you over cooked them a bit. You should have taken them out the minute they started turning golden , they get one or two tone darker after they are dipped in sheera. In this case , you cooked them until they turned dark and the sugar that we add in the dough , caramalizes and carries on getting darker .
If you hear WAh Chef in his video, he had said that if you want kala jamuns ( like yours ) then we can let it cook for a bit.
I agree with CB as well …
so after having read wayyyy wayyy too many jamun recipes over the last few years … here is one bit of info that may be helpful.
adding the sugar to the dough mix … turns it into kala jamun (because sugar cooks/caramelizes on the outside surface pretty fast). for lighter colored/regular jamuns … you need to omit the sugar in the dough. For both types … fry at LOW temps. @Tahurra … aside from the color … how was the taste/texture???
ive alreadt made a 2nd batch of jamuns since my last post (husbands’ request) and omitted the sugar … came out perfect … just like last time.
My gulab jamun recipe is very simple, and pretty fool proof…it’s just equal parts carnation instant milk powder and Bisquick, and using heavy whipping cream as the binder. That’s how we make them in my family and they turn out perfect every time.
Does anyone know what do they call that mithai that was ‘jelly like’ ..usually orange/red in color with a jelly like consistency? I freakin hated that one
My favorite was black gulab jamun cut in half held together by khoya in between
That jelly-like is called “paitha/petha.” It does look different from the other mithaaiyan so it’s very attention-grabbimg. I have never tried it because my intuition has always told me it wouldn’t taste great. You just don’t have that culinary sixth sense, Pisiform…tsk, tsk. Plus, I think that seeing a huge stack of paitha in comparison to a dwindling supply of the other mithais can be a telling clue.
I love gulab jamuns and I believe the original and more simple version is best. The fancier versions with khoya and cream stuffings become too much…kinda like the doughnut with the frosting and the sprinkles.
I bet you do…ahan I’m sure it is. No need to be “jelly” of my confectionary clairvoyance. Good grief, you must love them over-rated, colorful, hamburger-looking macaroons too.
Do pray kay kabhi mein bhi apki tarah banalon, n dont ask me anything about my gulab jamuns, because none could eat them actually i will try one more time InshaAllah, try try till you succeed:)