What desi mithai can you make at home?

Re: What desi mithai can you make at home?

ok.. we will wait for you in the fail thread.

I can make most. Especially pateesa.

Really shameful but literally none :frowning:

I used to make gulab jamuns really well. Got the recipe from a cookbook, which was compiled as a school project . The only one I followed was this one classmate’s gulab jamun recipe and it was a hit; made it several times. Then I lost the book and all I remember is 10 tablespoons of Needo, a tablespoon of oil, and one egg, lol. :confused: If I ever run into that guy, I think I might ask him about it. I would like to master ras malai…cuz it’s among my favorites.

InshaAllah it will be in.successful thread!!

@Deeba1234

I am with you sister, don’t be

Ras malai ki recipe bhi likh dein, i will try this too, i hope this will work in first attempt inshaAllah

Meray paas hoti to bataati na, lol. But I don’t have a tried and tested recipe. However, I will post the link to Titli’s recipe as this is the one I’d like to try.

Rasmalai - Titli’s Busy Kitchen

Tsk, tsk, tsk. Monk, with his French toast, is more talented than you.

mardoN ko ghar pe miThaaii banaane kii kia zaroorat hai? biwiyaaN kis din kaam aayeNgii? ab to miThaaii merii beGham hii banaayaa karegii iA…maiN bas khaayaa karuuNgaa. D

Could you please share your recipe for pateesa? And if you have recipes for besan ki barfi and jalebi, please post those too! Thanks in advance.

tried this today CB. it came out perfect!
I had previously used another recipe that included egg use but it was never a no fail … this one … each jamun was perfect. Husband loved it and ate six! yes SIX!
thank you so much for sharing it :hugz:

couple of my own notes to add …

I was very meticulous about the measurements of ingredients and used measuring cup/spoons.
judging dough consistency was a little tricky for me as this was my first attempt at this recipe but I did follow CB’s advise and added another couple of drops of milk after the dough came together for a very slightly soft dough. its not a sticky dough at all … meaning there is no residue left on my palms/fingers once its all together.
it does dry out quickly. I used half the dough to make jamuns and fried those first … in those 6-7 minutes the remaining dough did dry up just a bit and required another few drops of milk to get to the right consistency.
I got 15 jamuns out of my dough … not 20 (must be the american vs european size issue :cb:)
frying this stuff at the right temp is critical … i heated up my oil on max heat then dropped it down to lowest point while i was still making the dough and by the time i was ready to fry the first batch … it was still v hot (the jamuns rose to the top too quickly and browned in 3 mins vs 6-7 … luckily somehow they still cooked through but i do think the correct method is to do this slowly as CB said. bottom line … each stove heats at different rates … CB wrote medium high frying … it works or her. for me it was lowest setting of heat.
for the syrup … i used 1 1/4 cups sugar in 2 cups water … just a personal preference for less intense sweet … but the take away point is that it did not ruin the jamuns in any way.

highly recommended!

JazakAllah, all credit goes to me actually, meiny in ki speciality ko samny karwaya hy darasal, so thanks to me ok :stuck_out_tongue:

haha! you can take the credit if you like … but to be honest …CB had posted the same recipe previously as well … i just hadnt gotten around to trying it out then :slight_smile:

Give me a few days, I’ll write everything down and share the recipes. Promise! :slight_smile:

thank you everyone.
here’s the recipe for kalakand.
1 cup whole milk Ricotta cheese (15 oz container)
1/4 teaspoon green cardamon seed powder (fresh highly recommended)
1 can sweetened condensed milk
2 tbsp butter or ghee
1/2 cup powdered milk

Recipe:
In a heavy bottom, wide pan melt butter on low heat and add full container of Ricotta cheese. Add cardamon powder. Cook and Stir continuously on medium heat for 15 min or until consistency becomes like thick halwa. Add milk powder. Mix again. Then add condensed milk 3/4 can. Mix well and check for sweetness. If desire more sweet use the whole can. Keep stirring until you reach desired thickness. Dish out in a flat dish. Sprinkler sliced almonds and Pistachios and silver leaves if available. Refrigerate for few hours and cut in square or diamond shape and enjoy.

add milk powder OR powdered milk? just a bit confused! :hehe j/k

amazing recipe Shab…i think i’ll meeThaa karaao beGham kaa muNh on my honeymoon with qalaqand that i’ll make with my own hands using your recipe and khilaao her on my honeymoo aboard ‘Palace on the Wheel’, one of India’s 7-day Luxury train tour…we’ll be traveling every night and sightseeing everyday. :slight_smile:

CB how do you make pheta?

pheta? do you mean peThaa [Agra kaa mashhoor peThaa]…miThaaii [more like murabba, both soft and hard kinds] made from bariya koRhaa [kaddu] which also called white squash?

peTha phal, peTha is made from**

Few that I can make, looking at Youtube videos:sid:

MashaALLAH. Please share your boondi laddu recipe. Thanks

mawa boondi ladu