What desi mithai can you make at home?

Re: What desi mithai can you make at home?

so far i am not at all expert in mithai, never tried it before but want you to post the gulab jaman recipe, and also jalebi, i will try within this week inshaAllah,!

jalebi and Imartii. :slight_smile: you need a lot of dexterity to make imarti. :slight_smile:

imarti less like mithai, more like geometry.

I thought you knew how to make khoeya ?

lol…yes…more like artwork. :slight_smile:

bane doodh ko khoyaa banaanaa meraa hii kaam hai! :slight_smile:

Hi Tahurra, I am going to post the jalebi recipe soon. But meanwhile here is the Gulab Jamun Recipe, I follow Wah Chef’s recipe and the Gulab Jamun’s come out fantastic every time .

One cup milk powder
One Tsp maida
One Tsp sooji ( soaked in four Tsp water)
Half tsp baking powder
Half tsp sugar
one Tsp Oil

Mix all of this with drops of milk at a time .. dont pour the liquid milk all in one go, use a tsp at a time and ensure you mix the dough long enough so it becomes crumbly. The better the crumbling with your hands at this stage , the better the gulab jamuns. I take nearly 20 minutes to crumble it properly. Then use tsp more milk and turn this into a slightly soft dough , try to make a ball and if its smooth with no cracks , it means the mixture is ready . If the cracks still appear in the ball , it means it needs a tsp or two more milk to soften it.

Cover this dough so it doesnt dry up and start making small balls.
Meanwhile heat the oil really well and then bring the heat to medium high. Let the oil be for at least five minutes and then rotate your spoon in the oil continuously and start adding the jamuns in . Ensure the jamuns dont touch the spoon while you are rotating the oil. you will notice that jamuns will cook evenly because of the rotation of the oil.
It should take you no less then 6-7 minutes for one lot to fry golden. Any sooner and they will come out kacchay in the middle.

Meanwhile one cup sugar and one cup water , boil it, add in rose essencce or kewra water and cardamoms. When it boils for 5 mintues .. take it off the heat and let it cool until its luke warm .

Chuck in the fried jamuns in this luke warm sugar mixture. If the sugar mixture is too hot, the jamuns will lose their shape and will look like they lost all their air !

Let jamuns sit in this mixture for as long as you like and refrigerate this. When ready to serve , sprinkle a bit of desiccated coconut and throw away the sugar syrup.

itni mehnat :nahi:

One glass of Rooh-Afza that I can make as mithai

A

assalam u alaikum

jazakumAllahu khair

i will try this inshaAllah, but today i finally decided to try it, but failed inna lil lahi wa inna alehe rajeon, i was following gulab jamun by rida aftab from zaiqa, though it was too easy , but i couldnt make dough properly, that became so thin :frowning: instead of milk powder i used khoya, and soji was not in her ingredient.

i will try from your recipe inshaAllah, practice makes men perfect

I tried Rida’s recipe and failed too. This Wah Chef recipe is epic. Non fail. Try it , you will succeed.

The trick to a good dough is to take time to crumble the mixture. Oil takes time to get into the particles. So you have to keep rubbing it between your hands so that the crumble totally absorbs the oil .. finally start adding milk , a tsp , then mix mix mix and then another tsp and mix mix mix .. do this until its soft and gives you crackless lumps.

It sounds like a long process but believe me, it takes me just 20 minutes to get the dough ready and another 20 minutes to get the jamuns ready !

Tahurra, this is the link of Wah Chef’s recipe , I follow this recipe, do watch it before you try making the jamuns , he used two cups of milk powder that would give us like 40 jamuns ! so I halved it and only use one cup milk powder and other ingredients accordingly and get roughly 16-20 jamuns !

I guess the link you posted is of YouTube. It doesn’t open in Pakistan. :frowning:
Could you please post it’s URL so I can look for it?

meethaies i can make
qalaqand

milk baisan burfi

jalebi

mawa boondi ladu

and gulabjamuns

nom nom nom

Please post your recipes! Especially for the besan ki barfi!

Yummy with eye catching presentation, plz share recipe of Qalaqand, mawa laddu and besan burfi.

yummy in everybody’s tummy except mine :frowning:

kahaN Ghaayab haiN aap itne dinoN se? kia GS kii yaad kabhii nahiiN aatii? :hmmm:

Lived near this place for a large portion of my life, and I can agree that they literally make any desi sweet your heart desires. But as for me, I’m super pitiful and can only make gulab jamun and rasmalai…with the box mix ofcouse.

mA, mA, mA..you are so blessed and talented!

The kalakand has just left my mouth watering, please, please share the recipe.. it looks divine.

shab it all looks amazing!
plz do post recipes of your qalaqand and gulab jamun if its not too much trouble!

I’d love to try a tried and tested recipe of cham cham or ras gulle as my mom loves them. Personally I prefere sandais (sp?) it’s super easy to make and I can also make mooti choor laddoos. My gulab jamuns are hit or miss . I just end up buying jalebi rather than making it at home