What can be said about Pakistan today ... to indicate its greatness?

Re: What can be said about Pakistan today … to indicate its greatness?

^ Same molvies who sit on Amir Liaqat’s show and smile away when he is doing his baandar topi draamaybazi??

Another reason is that it is the ancestral homeland of Buttsb. Itne great insaan ke jo janam bhoomi hai (or janam bhoomi of his ancestors) woh great se kam ho hi nahi
sakti.

samajh ni aai?? :konfused: I am talking about molvies you are talking about janam bhoomi :silly:

my Urdu is a bit weak. haha what I mean is that Pakistan is great because it’s where a guy with such integrity as you is from. I wasn’t sure if you were born in Pakistan or overseas so I called it your janam bhoomi or the janam bhoomi of your ancestors. im sure you’re awesomeness will overpower all the negatives..molvies or otherwise

Also another thing that makes Pakistan great which I have not yet fully mentioned is the abundance of great sweets available in Karachi. Karachi sweets ka jawab hi nahi and also shan masala. Shan Masala jiske bina mera college experience adhoora hota. For historical monument, great personalities and contributions in the world of music, food and arts see previous comments. I think Pakistan is also great because of it’s hospitable and friendly people like Lucid. He is very good at communicating and he has a very warm personality.

Hardly there is any news item on yahoo where they do not condemn Pakistan:

Taylor [COLOR=#9B9B9B] • 1 hour 4 minutes ago Report AbuseMany healthy people abuse the disabled parking spaces by using a disabled family members vehicle.
A program was done on just this subject, traps were set up to find if the drivers were really disabled or not and the worst offenders of doing this were Asians as in Pakistanis or Indian. The program was without prejudice.
2 Replies
[/COLOR]

[ul]
[li]http://l.yimg.com/a/i/us/nws/2008/news/us/assets/common/images/transparent.png[/li][RIGHT][COLOR=#2C9801]2[/RIGHT]
users liked this commentPlease sign in to rate a Thumb UpPlease sign in to rate a Thumb Down0users disliked this comment
Alexandra • 47 minutes ago Report AbuseThat’s no surprise Taylor.

[li]http://l.yimg.com/a/i/us/nws/2008/news/us/assets/common/images/transparent.png[/li][RIGHT]1[/RIGHT]
users liked this commentPlease sign in to rate a Thumb UpPlease sign in to rate a Thumb Down0users disliked this comment
Mark • 15 minutes ago Report Abuse**It is the religion of the pakistanis to lie and cheat to infidels.

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/man-court-over-parking-space-death-101344768.html#KJP0B3l**
[/ul]
[/COLOR]

Pakistan has one the best mangoes in the world.

i miss you sindhri :frowning:

lol who are you people 8th graders… wow. Didnt expect this. disappointed. You all just ignore the actual issue I have highlighted. well good luck with whatever is you lot trying to achieve here… fiddling

You claimed that scholars are doing nothing,i have presented some facts what is your comment on these? You started some thing i tried to avoid derailing the thread but on your insistance i replied back. ab kaha ja rahay ho.

Discussion is not always winning and loosing meray piyaray.

you have a good signature :wink:

I hate to get into trivial details to explain but any way. Look the examples you have quoted. They are doing a good job. But these efforts are on a very small scale, minute, dont make a significant difference. Out of hundreds of thousands of molvi hazrat around the country and you have a handful examples. But I am not even criticizing the fact they are so few of them. My problem is that I have grown up listening to people how great a nation we are and how good people we are because we are muslims. And its not true.

Now I think I should clarify I guess otherwise some of you would just assume that I am anti islam or islam basher and accuse me of what not and I dont have time and energy to respond that nonsense. Islam is a great religion. The only true religion that makes sense and helps me believe in God. But Just by saying that you are a muslim and you follow islam does not make you better than anyone else. You cannot take credit for what people did for Islam in the past. like oh our sahaba did this and that and so I am automatically better than that other person who follows a different religion or in some cases dont even follow a religion. What have you(not you literally) done? That other person could be dear to God because of his good nature, because the way he treats others, because he follows every thing like Allah says - but is not a muslim.

You cannot just claim to feel proud to belong to some country either. Its a coincident that you were born there. You had nothing to do with it. You cannot take credit for everything others achieved in that country.

Islam is great - but muslims are getting worse and worse. And its not something new. The deterioration started soon after the death of Prophet PBUH. Its been going on for ages and the problem are we muslims that dont follow it properly. Its a very simple religion but thanks to the scholars you have or soon would have 72 sects fighting with each other. I dont remember ever that when a scholar is asked a question, and he replied “oh I dont know the answer, I need look it up in quran or some other book or ask some senior scholar”. No, they always have an answer - which wouldnt match to the answer of any other scholar. They all have their own versions.

If you go to my original post I did not mention any scholars or held them all responsible. I highlighted an area of problem and it includes them all molvis, imams, muftis, national leaders, politicians, actors, sports etc whoever use the religion or the nation card for (in most cases) their own benefit.

Now this obviously is true that some of them are doing a great job. But they are like “atey main namak”. Something should be done about it. Islam is being used by people like these and it must be stopped.

And stop defending select few scholars, I am talking in general sense here.

And I know its not like a contest that some one is loosing or winning but the fact the people are just ignoring the actual issue is annoying and disappointing. There is not point in going to lengths about an issue if they going to just highlight few words and ignore the rest.

So you can call me meray pyarey now hain? lol I dont mind. But do avoid those smilies.

And please lets stick to the issue I raised in my 1st post if you want to continue this.

:offtopic:

My favourite is the chonsa

Hi Lanfanter

What do you think is inherently wrong in trying to look at the gems and seedlings of good that we have remaining in our country that we can focus on and branch out from, rather than being negative and demotivating about the rest of Pakistan?

We understand you … you have not understood us … :slight_smile:

No longer are we talking about praising ourselves for “who we are” … but we are looking out for “what people are doing that makes us unique in a positive way” and praising those things … Beauty of Pakistani landscape - for example - only when we start to focus on the beauty will we start to appreciate that we need to preserve it … the moment we start to say - oh this and oh that - it will make others become looting opportunists justifying their bad actions or complacent apathy with complaints about others …

I say “don’t give rishwat or take it” - the reply I get is “everyone does it, we can’t escape it” bla bla bla … “reality is an avalanche starts with a snowflake” … Be that small insignificant step change and try to get others around you too. and you will start to see the change.

Look go out in to the community and ask the children to help you clean up the streets give them gloves and collect all the plastic bags and that will start to put a bit of pride (healthy sort) back in to people for their community.

When we start to look at the beauty we will start to focus on the plants in the region and the unique birds and animals it attracts and we will see the devastating effects of war on environment - we think that guns and tanks only destroy homes of people - no … they destroy everything … How good can we become with a negative attitude - and how good can we become with a positive one despite all the bad things happening … we need to become the change we want … we can no longer go with the flow …

Let me repeat I am not saying “let’s praise Pakistan because we are proud to be Pakistani” … I am saying let’s grab what little good there is left and focus on it and seek to grow it and nurture and recreate our society again.

Lafanter …

Pakistan has a beautiful animal that is endangered - it is called the snow leopard … this Amercian NGO is interested in protecting it … Pakistan

Why can’t we protect it ourselves? We can … we need to find more people like this man Nisar Malik or learn about him and become like him … https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.129491703796401.34380.122691597809745

Pakistan is NOT great because of him … I’m not saying that … But let’s look at his great example and try to become like him … then we can talk inshaAllah.

Some people would post this - a person who made his own aircraft … PakistaniAviation.com and claim Pakistan is great because of Asif Tariq … I’m not saying that … we can’t take the credit for the efforts of individuals … but we should desire to be like them so we need to focus on them and raise our own expectations accordingly …

Let’s stop using excuses to be like everyone else and start to make excuses to be like the few gems that are remaining in the country.

Why do you want to be unique while islam is all about equality. When you say, unique some one is definitely going drag in the issue of being better. To some unique is better.

And whats wrong with actually identifying and addressing the problems. Why not fix them 1st, specially when we have a sh!t load of them. Why do you think its negative.

Cleaning the streets with children… what are you talking about. Why not education reforms, why not work towards making our people intellectually better, why not work towards a an islamic social system, why not work towards bringing all sects together. Why are you limiting your self. I am not saying the little things don’t matter at all but come on seriously who are you kidding.

Reforms and making others better is the problem not the solution … because this mindset is about affecting others and not ourselves … We need to do what is in our personal capacity for change rather than instruct others about what they aught to be doing …

Islam is all about competing for good … Sayyiduna Umar (RA) and Sayyiduna Abu Bakr (RA) used to compete on their level of hospitality and charitable nature. Unique is not better … uniquely good is better … the key word here is “good” …

In the UK the scouts and other groups often go out and clean the streets - they do just that … you would think the UK does not need it … but they do it … from a young age children are taught to take care of their environment and then practically shown how to do it and take “pride” in doing it …

In Pakistan we think cleaning the streets is the job of chewra … don’t we?

Some problems are white elephants … they need to be broken in to small pieces … we can’t always deal with them from the highest rung … we need to prepare a new society with a new mindset in our children - we cannot continue to propagate the idea that we want our justice while we are not prepared to give others their justice … Rather we need to start putting ourselves out and seek to find satisfaction in our efforts rather than rewards for our actions …

:confused:

so you(not you literally) have become the best saint and there is nothing to clean any more. now what ?

whats your obsession with cleaning BTW do you do all the cleaning at your house lol I wouldnt be surprised if you do hahaha

We are not there yet …

Continual Improvement - Improvement can always be made … It’s not about cleaning up … It’s about doing everything that we can do to make positive change. The first step is to focus on examples within Pakistan that are making positive change despite the contraflow … We need to study their success stories and recreate them and transfer them to our own areas of work and home life. This is one step … We can guide our children to go in to social sciences or take up positions in the media to get the message of gradual positive change out to the wider society.

Lobby groups need to be made to ensure certain things are kept under hats such as police bribery or paying taxes and making sure the money goes to the right places. But this is gradual - we need to first prove to ourselves that we can focus on effort rather than achievement and reward.