Re: What can be said about Pakistan today … to indicate its greatness?
I’m pretty sure the OP requested we mention things that are great about Pakistan… no where was it suggested that Pakistan is a great nation overall. I’m sure we can all find positive things to say about Pakistan, without much thought.
And please stop with the “molvi” bashing… they’ve never been in power so they can only have so much negative impact on the country as a whole… we’ve had 60 years of secular/ dictator government so I think they’re primarily responsible for our messed up state.
What do you want from scholars? they are writing scholarly books,they are guiding people towards ALLAH and they are making thier voices against the tyrants. Exceptions are present but we should look at brighter side rather then always having inferiority complex.
I dont want to derail thread but you can always start a new thread to discuss whose mistake is this that our *mulk is in this bharr.
We need to start from somewhere … as I said earlier … we need to pick ourselves up. Let’s stop resigning ourselves in our own pitiful cynicism and start to be positive and make some changes …
Peace Lafanter
Please can you do a favour? You are in Pakistan … and you can make a big change …
a) If you drive - don’t use your horn or take over on the inside lane
b) Get 10, 5 ruppe notes and slip them in to the pocket of random people without them realising
c) When dealing with shopkeepers say salam, shukriya and do du’a for them so they can hear you
Just this much from one person … Let not your perception of the people taint your own ability of being good … Be nice to others and don’t expect anything in return just the pleasure of Allah (SWT) … Oh by the way watch this video …
May be - but things like physical beauty are limited in real greatness ability and they are more God given than a trait that is born out of hard work and effort.
@**psyah
Please stop with this peace thing. It is very annoying seriously. And how judgemental of you telling me about abc. Judging me that I dont drive properly or I am rude to the shop keeper, and what the hell are you talking about in b. I did not come here to take lesson in morality. I probably am better than you… who knows we have never met each other. You dont know me. Stop with this holier than thou attitude.
Now back to what I said. My point is that instead of cherry picking the few good things and celebrating, we should 1st focus and try to fix the issues that are plaguing our society/nation/religion.
I know what the thread is about and what the OP requested. To blow our own trumpet.
The molvis are not meant to be in power. They are not meant to be in politics. But sadly they have been with almost every govt be it political or dictatorship. They have been supporting and standing behind it in one way or the other. This is exactly what they should have not been doing.
Well they are probably doing a very ****ty job then, because people are turning away from Islam. According to my little knowledge about Pak history, they actually supported all the tyrants. Identifying problems to fix them requires courage, and there is nothing to feel inferior about it.
bhai debate kero na, rooth k kidher ja rahey ho. Enlighten me with what you know that I dont. Do that mehnat they always talk about. Why are you turning away, why giving up so easily, why letting your brother go to hell hain ?
Tell me about the work of scholars that you disagree with, all over the world religious circles praise pakistani scholars so can you tell me where they went wrong. Bear in mind that political scholars are very little and majority of religious people in pakistan dont give vote to any one.
What is your knowledge apart from jamiat islami/fazulr rehman ? who else i the scholars and their work do you know? and only juhala who know very little are turning away from islam otherwise there is a good number of people who are turning to islam thanks to ulema.
i have presented some facts in my posts like names of books/scholars. try counter this with some facts.
stop using that smilie yar, it looks fake.
So the muftis and shiekhs you have mentioned. No body knows them, they dont exist really and their work is not making an impact. My problem with them is that they just talk, quote things that some one did or said long long time ago. I can do that as well. Its not hard. You can get an idea of how massively they are failing that a poser/actor like amir liaqat has more impact on people than these scholars. He is reaching out to the masses with the wrong message.
Their biggest problem is that they dont have any solutions to people’s every day real problems. Why did Allah sent all those messengers. He could have just sent books and every one could have read and become a better person. He sent them to be role models, living examples of how things should be done. Why dont we have any role models to follow in islamic world. Why dont I see them doing any real work for the people, work that would actually make a difference in peoples lives. Why dont they make hospitals, schools, colleges, or infrastructure for their local people. Why are so many molvis so keen to collect money to make a mosque and their house next to it instead of working their ass off and use that money. Why dont they have any organization or club or some thing to help during a disaster and contribute to the relief efforts. These raiwind people spend billions on lavish get togethers, why cant they build few big hospitals or technical training institute or a research center.
They just like to sit on their arses, judge others and whine.
PS. lol name of the books and people are not facts come on. A fact is a statement that could be proved true with some supporting evidence.
Peace … Sorry… Hi Lafanter
I have no doubt that you are better than me … You said earlier however that no one in Pakistan is good … You are in Pakistan aren’t you? Well start to trust yourself for being good my friend and start to trust the rest of the Pakistanis who are better than me too.
The point I am trying to make is that Pakistanis need encouragement for doing good these days … If we allow the thought process that Pakistan is a hellhole this will creat a sentiment that justifies to people to be as bad as they want … This is going to seal our fate for sure …
one way to get this encouragement is to start focusing on the good that you lot have been doing and what good our predecessors have done. We need inspiration for being better than what you say we have become … We were not always like this … Let’s see … I am not asking you to falsely think yourselves good and become an ego bubble … Rather I am saying lift yourselves up and hold yourselves to a higher standard … And the starting point is not to focus on the negatives.
If you think religion is the solution then why don’t you join a seminary, learn some religion, do some research and be the voice of change you so badly desire.
On Social work**
You need to realize that you need to know more before you make such comments. some of the most efficient charity organizations are run by scholars and mashallah they are doing wonders. You must have never heard of alrasheedtrust/maymar trust/alakhtar trust etc mainly becuase mainstream media dont care about them and you dont live in such environment to know about these people.They have one of the biggest relief works in pakistan.They have hospitals/schools/colleges every thing and mashallah they are giving quality education.
I can give you more details, only giving detail of karachi based organizations, there are plenty working in other areas including lahore.
PS/ Do you expect the same from doctors/engineers to do charity work like this. You dont expect doctors to build schools /build masajid/build madressa do you?
**Tablighi jamaat
**You need to spend some time with them to know whether they spend “billions” on “lavish” gatherings or not.
Can you tell me what you have done so far, so that you dont qualify in this category.
PS2: I love that smile because i am usually in good mood/ghar main nashta ker kay ata haun iss liye khush rehta hau.
PS3:i am not your yaar as far as i know
Right… so Molvis should never come to power, nor be associated with any government, but should be the ones building schools/ hospitals/ institutes… did i get that right Lafanter? Pray tell, what exactly should the secular government be doing aggar saari responsibility inn moviouN ki hai?
Trust me, if the molvis had their way with any government, itni be-hoodgi jo maashrey meiN phel rahi hai woh kabhi na hoti.