Re: What can be said about Pakistan today … to indicate its greatness?
Peace KKF
This post is off topic …
Peace KKF
This post is off topic …
I would like to add … The greatest lovers of RasoolAllah (SAW) are in Pakistan.
Quite an innovative set of people too … Our suite of proverbs …
Nobody’s stealing the nukes. That’s just American/Indian propaganda. The Army isn’t gonna skimp on protecting those nukes after spending a fortune acquiring them.
Pakistani nation is very resilient. against all odds and hostilities, despite all the corrupt and traitorous leaders, despite all the wealth looted and plundered, we have survived and are here to stay
thats something one can be proud of,besides the nukes and food street and pristine beauty
You took the idea from mymind.
I was thinking of writing something similar for Independence day.There are a lot of hidden treasures about Pakistan that the world does not knowbut I try to inform people when Pakistan is the source of debate amongIndians/Pakistanis and others. I am of Indian background and here are a coupleof things I admire about the many things originating from Pakistan. Taxila, wasthe site of the first university, the ancient civilisation of Mohenjodaro andHarappa, the tomb of Shah Hussain and Madho Lal is so beautiful, Lahore fort,Badshahi mosque one of the world’s largest mosques. For the Sikhs of India and Pakistan, theSikh Gurudwaras taken care of in Lahore is significant. I came across someinteresting little known historical sites on this website. For the Hindus of Pakistan and abroad,there are some important temple attractions, which are in slightlydilapidated condition and not used as much, such as Gorakhnath,Katas Raj temples (where Pandavas from Mahabharat spent some of their exile,and when Shiva, one of the Hindu gods cried at the passing of his wife,two ponds were supposedly created one in Pushkar, Ajmer and the other atChakwal, Lahore), Hinglaj Mandir in Hingol national park,Balochistan where Ram meditated to atone for killing aBrahmin Ravana. And then Sharda Devi temple across LOC in PakistaniKashmir where there used to a Buddhist university and Adi Shakara visited inhis travels. There is also great natural beauty such as the beautiful SWATvalley, the Gilgit region and the mountainous K2 peaks. I know Food street inLahore has amazing food and so does Karachi. The poetry of Bulleh Shah,the poetry of Iqbal sir whose famous poem has become a popular patrioticsong in India. History has it that Jinnahji asked Jagannad Azad, aPakistani Hindu, well versed in Urdu, to compose a few lines in ananthem for the newly made Pakistan. The lines were along the lines of"*Aey sarzameen-i-pak Zarrey terey hein aaj sitaron sey tabnak Roshanheh kehkashan sey kahin aaj teri khak." (*Oh land of Pakistan, eachparticle of yours is being illuminated by stars. Even your dust has beenbrightened like a rainbow). I think there are many greattourist attractions that the world does not know about anymore but back in the60s they were major attractions for foreigners in West and also othersubcontinentals would love to visit. There is that saying that one who has notseen Lahore has not lived. I could post some links but im new sonot sure of the rules around posting links. Can we post links of articles?Though I am Indian I feel Pakistani culture and the historical monuments inPakistan are as much mine as I think the heritage of India such as Taj Mahaletc can be seen as a Pakistani to be theirs. Of course no compulsion toperceive it that way but that is just how I think.
Sab neighbours unfriendly nahi hote. I’m sure all the neighbours want what many Pakistanis want- a vibrant, inclusive, happy Pakistan.
Why you hate Indians?
chhodo yaar yeh baat karenge toh off-topic ho jayega. Maybe he had bad experiences and not any positive ones, maybe he has heard a lot of propaganda about Indians. The truth is similar attitudes exist on the other side and I think it’s really because of media, politics and the minimal interaction between Indians and Pakistanis living in India, Pakistan. Back in the 60s, even tho it was closer to partition time, there was more interaction and flow of people and goods between both countries and attitudes were not so negative. Abroad, the story is different because we have more exposure to people of different backgrounds. Although I have met many liberals Indians and Pakistanis who have interacted online. Waise itni bhi nafrat nahi meri comment ko like kiya
I have found online chat when I say hi to Indians and Pakistanis I have had more Pakistanis reply to me then Indian but I cannot generalise because of the smaller sample size.
My point of this thread …
We need to gather our thoughts and start to think positively about ourselves again … CENTCOM is trying to make us positive … But we don’t need CENTCOM to show us these things … We are bogged down by our our acts and we are losing hope and gaining despair … This is a dangerous cycle … Because all this negativity is breeding more … It justifies the cynicism of the nation and empowers the evil minds among us.
Take charge and start doing little good things, channel our energy into sport and science, art and charity … We can be charitable by respecting others … First … Let’s bring those times back … Let’s stop gambling, stop charging rishwat and start to pay our taxes properly. We can do it!
Make Pakistan great again and attract those expats to come back and help bolster the country.
Attracting the expats back is a great idea because they are quite awesome and will contribute in many ways. Take, for example, Syed Ali Haider a professor of Opthalmology, who left his job abroad and came back to serve the people of Pakistan. In my workplace I have met many talented Pakistanis who could make a massive impact in Pakistan as well as just abroad if given right support. Continuing with the theme…[FONT=Times New Roman]Not sureif you want to consider this in the category of greatness or category ofsuperficiality but I think Pakistani girls and guys are considered very attractiveacross subcontinent. This fact is openly admired in India and I had a femalefriend from India who came to study here and she was told she looks like aPakistani girl (as a compliment because she had light coloured eyes) and shewas quite flattered. Also Pakistani dramas are popular in India and my parents,who live overseas with me, only watch Hum tv dramas. They don’t watch as manyStar Plus dramas these days as the story drags on. Their favourite shows areZindagi Gulzar hai and Aik Pagal si larki. In the 60s and 70s Pakistanimovies were also liked and watched by many. Also we admire Pakistani singersfrom Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan, toAtif Aslam and the range and depth they have in their voice. Ithink Coke Studio has 2 million likes just from India and is popular dueto fusion of classic, jazz and cultural music. I also like how thePakistanis I have met abroad are not shy to wear their traditional clothes likeShalwar Kameez and talk in Urdu ya Punjabi. Also, some of the new movies comingout from Pakistan have deep storylines and tackle tough issues like Bol. Iadmire that and my Aunt said it was one of the best movies that year shewatched. Lahore is probably the one place everyone wants to visit kyun ki JinneLahore Nhi Wekheya O Jammia Ie Nahi. Khussa and Peshwari chappals areespecially admired because they are comfortable and look good. Truck art inPakistan, Sindhi Ajrak, food street in Lahore, Pakistani handicraft have uniquestyle, the Wagah border ceremony, K2, Kaghan valley, Murree, neelum, and AzadKashmir. I have lot of online friends from Pakistan and what really struck mewas how liberal, open minded and how knowledgeable they are and how they arestriving to make differences in different fields. I also think generallyPakistanis are quite warm and friendly to tourists and I remember SouravGanguly mentioned how heart touching the response was when he played inPakistan back in 2004-5. This was mentioned on this discussion in 2012 onwhether India-Pakistan are games or just war.Wonderful Speech By Sourav Ganguly on Indo-Pak Rivalry at Agenda AAJTAK - 2012 - YouTube Being a cricket fan, Ialso admire Pakistani bowling and after supporting India and Australia(where I live) I support Pakistani team and other subcontinental countries.
[FONT=Times New Roman]
The ability to stay calm during load shedding and act as if everything is normal.
Lahore fort (which is witness to the ups and downs of Lahore), mogul and victorian architectures. World’s oldest university in Taxila, some of Sikhism’s most sacred sites. Badshahi/Faisal Mosques, historical Katasraj Mandir and Buddhist engravings in Swat. Jhelum, where Porus valiantly defended the land from Alexander’s armies. Khewra salt mines (biggest salt mines in the world), tarbela dam (biggest earth filled dam), some of world’s highest peaks and one the world’s best river irrigation systems. Peace and equality as taught by the sufis.
Today I was “window” reading a famous book. One chapter started with this.
Supersymmetry is the ultimate proposal for a c o m p l e t e unification
of all particles.
Abdus Salam
There is one thing I know, I think many athletes would know, but I haven’t heard it from any one.
Pakistan have tons, tons of potential in many many supports.
Bodies are suitable for many athletic and combat sports.
Once some one pays attention you all are in for a big surprise.
Our scholars. :)(of subcontinent)
We have some of the best scholars in the world. In all of the major work on islam be it tasawuuf,hadith,quran,tafsir,islamic finance pakistani scholars have the major share alhumdolilah. For example
Badhlul Majhud by Shaykh Khalil As-saharanpuri appears to be accepted as the standard commentary on Sunan Abu Daud around the world.
I’la as-Sunan of Maulana Zafar Ahmad Uthmani is regarded as a masterpiece by Hanafi scholars around the world
Awjazul Masalik commentary on Imam Malik (ra) Muwatta by Shaykh Zakariyya which has astounded Maliki scholars around the world
Fath al-Mulhim, commentary of Sahih Muslim, by Shaykh Shabbir Ahmad Uthmani - also used widely in the Arab world
Hayyatus sahabah is considered as master piece on sahabah by Moulana yousuf kandhalvi.
Works of shaikh taqi in translation of quran in english/urdu and his tafseer, his works on islamic finance.
Sufiya like Shaikh taqi/Pir zulfiqar/Shaikh saleemullah khan/Hakim akhtar and many more have a big impact all over the world.
How much one may disagree or find loop holes, the work of dawat tableegh has a great impact on the muslims around the globe.
And that is why there is always a deliberate attempt to villify these scholars.
To be honest, I don’t think anything can be said about its greatness because it is far from great.
I don’t hate Indians. Why would I? I’m all for peace.
However the animosity between the governments of the two countries cannot be ignored. The Pakistani government ( rather establishment ) isn’t without fault either, however I don’t believe they’d hand over the nukes to terrorists. The Army just isn’t that stupid, at least I hope they aren’t.
I wrote American too, and I don’t hate them either.
You know me better Southie pai jaan
Both Jameela behn and Raheem chacha are going to get a kick out of this. That you didn’t realize I was just saying hello to you my own way after a long time.
Hope things are well in your new place in Amreeka.
We are a charitable lot… despite not being a wealthy nation ourselves we rate highly with the most charitable nations…
Eg, I was telling the cleaning lady (who’s obviously poor) that comes to our house just generally that the sadaqa we give may come in handy in averting an aazmaish… she responded saying “yeah we always give to those who come knocking on our door for money”! SubhanAllah!
I am so sick and tired of this bull**** talk of how great nation we are. Its just that “bary bary batain”. Nothing in real. Pakistan I know is a nation of hypocrites. They just talk the talk, no one walks the walk or even try. Same goes for religion, bus bathay batain kartey rahain ge. o jee hamarey sahaba yeh thay, o jee flaney ne yeh keha or flan ne ye fermaya. Bus batain, us se agey kuch nai. Sarey molvi beth k bus batain kertay hain, mulk bhar main chala gya, deen sary duniya main badnam ho gya or yeh bethay hain hath pe hath rukh k.