Western reaction to the Emergency [merged]

Re: Western reaction to the Emergency [merged]

You see nothing else wrong with Musharaf what he did except you can not watch your favourite tv show...the only reason why he should step down>>>

if not musharraf then its benazir if we assume molvis dont assume power. we are headed for an iranian like revolution. sadly.

Arrey you're calling for Mushrrafs ousters too? I dunno what to say...but this calls for another emergency or martial law. His fan club is shrinking fast. :D

BTW, funny thing is that he has blocked tv channels and internet sites including dawn. However, Indian tv channels which are providing wall to wall coverage of events in Pakistan are still available on cable. So, Pakistanis are getting news about Pakistan from Indian news channels. Can it get anymore funny than that?

Peace All

Pakistan needs an arbitrator. Someone who is a true neutral to the army, the Muslims and the democrats.

I see this being one who represents the correct view of Islam. First thing is to call a cease fire and and universal truce. We need to calm down not escalate a situation.

Whatever the judges have in mind they should forget about it. Musharraf for standing down rather for even thinking about standing down should be commended. The things he has done in the past should be ignored completely, to encourage progress. He should maintain his power as a military leader and nothing should be done to make his position feel weak. If there is the slightest feel about it then he will not stand down. After he stands down there should be no treachery rather he should be given respect and protection.

The system of authorities should come to an agreement for gradual handing over of power to the democratic people, not to the Islamic people. I say this because this is what the population wants, not because I think it is right. The system should attempt to appease the Muslims by providing a positive slant to the re-establishment of Islamic values in Pakistan. The democratic leaders need to be chosen in joint leadership as temporary rule and to follow a campaign to purify the voting system.

Islam should be the desire for all Muslims. The people who understand it correctly, unlike the oppressive regimes who only profess to it should come to the fore and be allowed to undertake their duty to bring harmony to the Pakistani populous.

Re: Musharraf and the West - endgame? [split: Extremism needs a political solution]

I don't "know", but am just inferring. Reasons being, Pakistan has been under a dictatorship all these years anyway, so how much 'freedom' and 'rights' can be left to be lost to an emergency? I will give you some examples of things he has been able to do without 'emergency':

• change constitution at will to suit him
  • file and withdraw cases against bhutto to suit their personal deal
  • send in Paksitan air force to bomb Pakistan!

So what is the difference to awam working for their daily rkm?

Glad to hear the international communit. isnt supporting our little dictator anymore... Hope its enough to dislodge him before Pakistans economy nose dives comepletely...

Re: Musharraf warned: hold elections and quit as army chief

slap on the wrist, nothing more.

Re: Musharraf snubbed Brown and Rice on emergency rule

Don't be so naive Reza, before 1999 coup, US officials "hinted" Pakistan that there might be a coup.... lo and behold few weeks later Musharraf takes over. Don't believe in the "official statements" that go out for media relations, they are just blinders for common people. The guy who responds and changes his decision for a call at 2:00AM can ignore Admiral from same country? You are giving way too much "macho" benefit to Mushy.

New elections under new judiciary and constitution will fix the the problem of US and western pressure for Musharraf.

or be ready to be either toppled by his own military (that would be the greatest day in the history of Pakistan. That's the ONLY way we will ever-get rid of this laanat of military rule. I would surely pray 10 nawafil) or assassinated

Good to see educated and intelligent people like you getting off the Mush bandwagon. It's never too late..

^ though the chances of him getting toppled by yet another COAS are getting higher but I believe that will only give "hope" that things might get better, not a "solution". Pakistani population sets hope with every new face on the seat of President/PM/COAS-taking-charge etc.

No but I mean the new COAS should not seize power but hand over power to the Senate Chairman, i.e. ask him to be the interim President until election in Jan. 2008 (as happened in 1988)

bhai mere, its all 'wishful thinking' that someone will grab power and handover to someone else (no matter how deserving), in case of Pakistan its like wishing for miracle.

^ but we have two examples where the army did not actually grab power

1988: COAS General Mirza Aslam Beg asked then Senate Chairman Ghulam Ishaq Khan to be the acting president following Zia's death in a plane crash.

1993: COAS Gen. Kakar did not seize power but instead asked both President Ghulam Ishaq Khan and Prime Minister Mian Nawaz Sharif to step down following bitter acrimony between the two.

mutiny from within the army will make subsequent coups less likely because then the COAS would think twice before committing treason.

^ I believe the two examples are not similar to the situation now. If army "takes-over" it means they are "over-throwing" current regime. In 1988, Aslam Beg was sort of "delegated" the power, in 1993 the regime was civilian in both president and PM. There is very very little chance that the new take-over-COAS will handover because of possibility that generals who are now siding with Musharraf may not support the take-over and try to bring back Mushy or someone else from the gang.... hence greater instability.

Mutiny within the army will destroy Pakistan Oh fulsafy sahib!

you want Pakistan to become Islamic jannat of Mogadeshu? (or worse Islamic jannat of Afghanistan).

Man! these convoluted minds will not rest until the utter destruction of Pakistan.

Captain is correct that new COAS will simply be another CEO for 10 years.

It is so strange that some people Pakistani quom sow the seeds of anarchy and hope to reap the fruit of democracy! Wah bhai wah!

Read the DT editorial of today to see how the revolutionaries have in fact harmed the prospects of civilian rule.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\05\story_5-11-2007_pg3_3

Yes I am against any military involvement in politics. Do you have a problem with that ? That’s none of their bloody business. They should behave like public servants or naukar as per our Quaid. They don’t bl**dy own our beloved country. Civilian rule however bad is a far better option. You guys are just blinded by your hatred of jehadis and what not. Yes we are all against religious extremism but now sane people like myself have come to this painful conclusion that it’s Mush and dictators like him that have fuelled extremism in Pakistan. And we don’t think that he’s sincere about eliminating it…he only takes some cosmetic and token measures every now and then just to keep his masters happy. He needs Taliban and their kind to justify his power. Extremism feeds off dictatorship and dictatorship feeds off extremism and these dictators have been fooling us with their game for 50 odd years. Got it blind Mushy supporter…

riddle me this batman...if military topples him. how will military rule end?

Yeah like a true politician you very conveniently ignored my other post explaining what I meant....if military topples him but does not seize power....Wishful but yes that IS possible (esp. if the Americans put pressure) even if some of you don't believe....

because not every general is politically minded. The way Mush is going Gen Kayani would not ever become COAS or any VCOAS for that matter. Got it Einstein.....

No I don’t actually buy that. Not ever general is politically-minded…