Western reaction to the Emergency [merged]

Re: Musharraf snubbed Brown and Rice on emergency rule

Yaar hum loug kiya ker saktey haiN, sawaey jalney aur kurhney key

they don't have to waste their troops bcos they have their air-bases in afghanistan to keep an eye on pakistan for exactly such circumstances.

Raza Pehalvi , people like you need to go see a psychologist for mental disorders. You are beyond my understanding. You call that Pakistan first.

Now, now no need to get personal. This is only a discussion forum, and I am entitled to my opinions as you are to yours. :)

^^^^

Agree with Reza here....

I think at the end Mushrraf will be forced out like Ayoub was. My dad was telling me that is this repeat of 1968/69.

From what I know, Musharraf did not wanted to impose Emergency, but many in armed forces were very upset and wanted a hard hand … rather very hard hand, on Media, Judiciary, Lawyers, as well as opposition, especially Judiciary and to an extend Media. Let see.

I have feelings that we might see very heavy hand on those that make troubles, especially those terrorists fighting armed forces in tribal areas and those retards that make noises elsewhere in Pakistan. Probably heavy military actions and plenty of terrorist killings without consideration could follow.

Re: U.S. Is Likely to Continue Aid to Pakistan

“The equities in Pakistan are huge,” said a senior official deeply involved in trying to persuade General Musharraf to fulfill his promise to hold elections and run the country as a civilian leader. “We’ve got U.S. and NATO troops dying in Afghanistan, and a war on terrorism” that cannot be halted while General Musharraf tries to shore up his powers, he said.

^source

Yup, it is also interesting that US Admiral William Fallon was in Pakistan at the time the Emergency was declared. So either his advice was totally ignored, or he did not object to it?

I regret to see an educated person like you advocating hard hand instead of supremacy of law...let me tell you my friend...we do not have a better system in the world other than institutional justice....it may have it's flaws and may not be 100% perfect...but still is the only system....hard hand should be from instituional justice and not from an military dictator....hope you can understand this simple thing>>>>

The New York Times article posted in the opening post of this thread.

Did I supported or opposed anything in my post (that you quoted)? I just mentioned what I came to know.

BEIJING: The United States has suspended annual defence talks with Pakistan because of the political situation there, the Pentagon’s spokesman said here Monday.

Eric Edelman, undersecretary of defence for policy, was supposed to head a US delegation for the talks beginning on Tuesday, but he will not go until political conditions improve, Pentagon spokesman Geoff Morrell told reporters.

Morrell is travelling with US Defence Secretary Robert Gates, who also on Monday called for Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf to return his country to a constitutional democracy as soon as possible.

What do you mean totally ignored? Is Pakistan not taking dirctions from the US. What are you suggesting Reza?

Yes Musharaf is taking direct directions from US to help republicans win an election by turning Pakistan in to Iraq>>>

<<<<Shamraz what I fear is that this stupid dictator has comitted the same mistake what Saddam Hussain did when he attacked Kuwait...He was assured by CIA that they will remain neutral....later they attacked Iraq....

At the moment with US elections coming they need another Iraq and Musharaf has walked right in to their trap....

Study carefully again the cover of last Newsweek, "which is the most dangerous nation (not place or country): It's not Iraq, it's Pakistan."

I hope rest of the military brass really understand this situation and get rid of this mad man who is taking country towards a very big disaster.....>>>>>

Does this mean that Pakistanis are being 'liberated' just like the Iraqis, and President Musharaf who is described as dictator by many is part of the plan for liberating them. Interesting.

YEAH JUST LIKE SADDAM HUSSAIN....

GOD BLESS SADDAM HUSSAIN

GOD BLESS WHAT HE DID TO IRAQ

actually bhai the analysis of both that crisis and the asian financial crunch was to prove that pakistan's economy is surprisingly resiliant. a downturn, but dont negative growth would result.

i oppose both authortarianism and islamism, off the 2-there is no third option at the moment for the nation-i will take my chances under musharraf.

Re: Western reaction to the Emergency [merged]

Although I support Musharraf but what he has done by blocking out channels, arresting opposition leaders is very stupid.

Don't know what his rationale is behind this.

I think its time for Musharraf to step down.

He has been in power for nearly 10 years and after such a long time, the leader becomes ineffective.

Fresh blood is needed.

And not Benazir or Nawaz