Weird

Re: Weird

Thank you for giving us a break! I was getting so overwhelmed by all this bashing. :( Just because we like to correct people based on facts we are assumed to be Fox News loving, red neck patriots with a House Slave mentality. Yet our 'white' country men are much more progressive than us?

It's funny how the incident mentioned in WA had absolutely nothing to do with 'international relations' and 'activities' around the world. We were only discussing that LOCAL issue and stating some facts yet there you all go flailing your arms claiming we are house slaves. It's hilarious how you just want us to fit into your description of an enslaved, insecure ABCD and when we portray ourselves to be anything but that, you all attack us.

Not so fat, Monk bhi. Not so fat

Why do people living in glass houses throw the heaviest stones?

Honestly I think it's really sweet that so much of your energy goes into digging around about America and its desi inhabitants.

I think you have too much time maybe? A job, hobby or maybe some other past time should help with this issue.

Good luck.

That is the problem with Desis, It is good to be Patriotic but it does not give you a license to defend the wrongdoings of your country. The Muslims and people of other countries are not farishtay but United states have surpassed every country in Brutality and injustice.. The self proclaimed policeman and the protector of human rights, and the ""Chachaa"" of the whole world, the only nation left, that was supporting Israel during Gaza war in July. They interfere in other countrie's internal affairs (from iran to North Korea) that is why americans are most insecure people in world due to their dirty policies. Some more facts, their history is full of adventures like bombings of Hiroshima and nagasaki, vietnam war, Cold war and later Iraq war. . They are the biggest moral, political and ammunition supporters of Israel. and nobody can disagree to it. The whole world, even white american criticize their country as monk said. But looks like, these desis are next level patriots. Good for them.

Really? Where is all this self righteous mumbo jumbo when Malala was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize? :) Tab to Malala se zyada zehreeli koi aur thi hi nahin...kyun ke she was not doing parda poshi of Pakistan's faults.

^Glass houses and all that Reha..

That is where, you guys are wrong, haha,. We always criticized Pakistan on this forum, pakistani people are corrupt from "President to thalay-valys" we never ever defended Pakistan. But you guys always defend the wrondoing of your "Better Place". Defend na hony vali chez ko tum log defend nhe kar saktay, mairy Dosto. As far as malala is concerned, she tried to justify the bakwas of Salman Rushdi in the name of freedom of speech in her book. So No support for her. Lecture over. Thanks for reading it.

Freedom of speech is not for the faint of heart to understand. Malala isn't wrong at all. The same freedom of speech provides us with the right to openly criticize Christianity and Judaism and any other religion. So if WE have the freedom to talk s***, why doesn't anyone else?

I don't understand this insecurity...its so weak and buzdil to be scared of what someone might say of your faith. Where is the confidence and faith in Allah? There's none. Saara zubani jama kharch hai. Islam Islam...if there was really any "faith" involved in this practice of faith...people wouldn't be so scared of 10,000 Salman Rushdi's.

Its buzdili...nothing else

The most hilarious part is that people fill in posts after posts across many pages in each of many threads bashing US and desi Americans but still rant we cant take it..
oops, didnt want to pause you from passing judgments so please carry one..its definitely a huge service to society :khumar:

Again, That is where you people are wrong, freedom of Speech comes with responsibility. Malala is absolutely wrong. Salaman rushdi did not said anything to Muslims or their faith, he directly insulted our Prophet (PBUH) and said stupid things about the personal life of Last Prophet (PBUH). So, NO, we muslims are not going to buy this theory. We will never let anyone say anything to our Prophet PBUH under the cover of freedom of Speech. They can insult muslims, they can insult our teachings. They can insult our faith, but they have no right to say anything to our Prophet PBUH. Keep your "freedom of speech" right in your pocket. There is a limit to your freedom of speech right.

Peace sister Reha

I hope this was true ... But it is not. Muslims are not allowed to insult others of their faith, because Islam prevents this ... but others are allowed to insult Muslims by attacking Islam under the guise of free speech ... This right to openly criticise Judaism may be there ... But not to criticise Zionism ... That is too holy and whistleblowers are also engaging in free speech but then why is Snowden being sought by the American authorities? ... Other than cowardice it can also be extreme love that exhibits in similar reactions that Muslims make when we are insulted... We don't welcome one Rushdie because his words hurt us and damages the relationship people have with Allah (SWT) and RasoolAllah (SAW) and his companions (RA) ... Many stronger Muslims would merely be offended, other less studied Muslims would be teased out of adherence and disown Islam resulting from the slander that the Rushdie likes do ... Slander in Islam is a huge sin and punishable in a Shari'ah court. Yet, slander in the West seems to be encouraged ... And then supported by Muslims? We cannot support this form of "free speech" it betrays our core principles. I hope you understand that ... It is not strength to say so ... It is complete disregard of its wider implications ... Be aware of the bigger picture ... Be aware that such tools are being used to control mind sets of nations ... That is all we ask.

And as Americans you can contribute by creating institutions to help build America in a way that suitable for all and not just for a certain group of people. Somewhere in our minds we see that legislation is for us to follow and for others to make ... But you American desis can help make policy and you can influence it ... Just become part of the fabric of society and you will be able to do that ...

There is no need to just be content with the lifestyle and cashing in the cheques and going back to work, living in condos ... That is exactly what many of the oligarchs do ... They are happy themselves so they lose interest in helping others, they don't seem to mind the folly of others. Intellectually challenging the American authorities like Chomsky does and the various Muslim speakers is something all of you can do, correction - should do as citizens of America and failure to do that is buzdilli ...

While I appreciate the nuance in your statement, I would still like to ask you one question. During the life of Rasoolullah SAWS in Makkah, there were many non-believers who insulted him. How did he deal with them? How did the Sahaba deal with it? And how should we, who claim to emulate Rasoolullah SAWS and the Sahaba, deal with it?

You guys are jealous of us desi amreekans, because we have Angelina Jolie and you have Meera.

Psyah,

Freedom of speech is freedom of speech and it applies to everyone equally. The sense of entitlement that Muslims have where they feel as if they're above laws, rights and freedoms is also against Islam. They're not. You supporting it doesn't matter...its there and it should be followed. The fact that its not followed is why you have Christian Pakistanis being burned alive...all in the name of tauheen-e-risalat. Such bakwas.

Salman Rushdi is a mere mortal...Islam thrived before and after him. Whether he lives or dies will not affect its progression nor its decline. To think a simple human being can control a religion bestowed upon man by Allah swt himself is an insult to Muslims alone and that's what I have an issue with. The blatant disregard for the actual Creator himself nauzubillah. Pardon me but it shows insecurity, lack of faith, lack of confidence and also...the realization that being Muslim is just some sort of uthak baithak for people. I'd love to see so called Muslims show me Ahadith in which the Prophet (saw) himself quieted anyone who insulted Islam by force or death threats? Go on, I dare you.

Lastly, telling us to become a part of the fabric of society is like telling Pakistanis to become real Muslims. It makes you mad? Yeah, it makes me mad too.

This is what I mean...people in glass houses should not throw stones.

Umm where did Malala come from in a topic relating to desi Americans? In my opinion, both sides have extreme views of each other. Not all Pakistani Americans are confused desi's and blind patriots and neither are all the Pakistanis in Pakistan or Middle East.

:d6c:

And what makes you think we don't? Muslims in America contribute in many other ways. By merely sending our kids to public schools, even if it exposes them to ridicule and hate, we are bringing the true message is Islam to this country. That is our mujaheda. Do you think they will learn anything good about Islam if they simply follow the news? Every other day we are fighting for masajids, madaris, cemetaries, islamic schools, etc., all within the framework of law. Do you think NYC schools simply decided to declare muslim holidays overnight? A lot of Muslims worked for it.

I don't know about others, but I've always welcomed criticism of US policy. In fact, if you are American, it is your duty to question and criticize it. But like I said before US is bigger than its Presidents and its policies. And the idea of America, you have to know it to appreciate it.

There was a reference to Meera earlier by a very senior member. He should have known better. It was, is and always will be Meeraji.

But they do have their dashing version of Brad Pitt

Freedom of Speech is of course a different debate ... But this attitude is exactly what I feel the OP is contesting ... You don't have to be so American to agree with the hypocritical "freedom of speech" Americanism that it makes you disinterested in the sentiments of Muslims passing them off as insecure or weak in faith. It is a matter of morality, concern and respect that we should not feel free to insult each other, but clearly you support the idea of it and ignore the selective use it by the proponents who have instigated it.