Weight Issues

So you know how you guys have the ‘aunties keep bugging me to have kids’ issues.. well aunties keep bugging me about my weight! Since I was a kid, I have always been very skinny. I get it from my mom who was also this skinny but noone except me in my family has it. I have a wicked high metabolism but I still am healthy and happy at 5’6 and 97 pounds.

Somewhere in my mid teens, it started getting to me. Every aunty, and I mean every single aunty, who came to our house would say ‘you look so thin, don’t you eat’ or something similar. It didn’t matter to me initially but then came a point where I took medicine to gain weight, got some stupid protein thing from gnc to gain weight and what not. Soon I realized it was really stupid because at work, soooo many people I would meet would say how they wished to weigh like me. Here I have a blessing where I can eat anything and everything and not gain a pound and I am not even grateful. And more than that, my fiance and in laws have never said anything bad either. My fiance has no issues and my MIL is trying herself to stay skinny so she isn’t concerned either. So for a long time, I kept ignoring all these aunty comments, until last night when I went to some dawat after work cuz my mom kept calling and telling me to come. So I walk in and I had this long winter coat on. The moment I took it off, omg, all these aunties there started with their USUAL oh you don’t eat, do you eat air, do you starve yourself, you’re sooo skinny, blah blah. It’s 10 pm, I am tired as heck from work, and the last thing I want is to hear their ridiculous comments. I already had dinner at work so I politely said no to the aunty who offered me food and buss, that was it. Finally after all the comments, this older lady who always has made comments about my weight goes, oh my daughter is skinny too but not THIS skinny like you in this WEIRD tone and everyone goes quiet. I turned red, got up, took my bag and left. I had the strongest urge to say to her, I know alot of fat people too but noone is fat as YOU are. Or so how does MY weight effect YOU? I was so pissed but rather than saying anything I just felt like leaving was the best option. Considering how I walked out just saying bye to my mom and the host, I am sure it would make me all ‘battameez larki’ but I don’t care and neither do I care to attend any more dawats. I cried when I came home and my fiance cracked jokes to make me feel better but it still keeps bothering me. I just wish I can answer these people so they can stop annoying me!!!

Re: Weight Issues

Hey its better than being made fun of for being fat. :grumpy: ok its not, its just the same.. just be grateful for what you have and as long as ur happy with urself…let the haters b*tch and whine.
PSbtw, i was abt to go :smilestar: on u when i saw the thread title…til i read the whole post :cb:

^LOL.. thanks sarz :)

Regarding negative comments, some ppl just have nothing better to do. I don't believe that crap that everybody's saying it for ur own good. when it's done often enough by enough ppl,it gets really tiresome. It's such a personal thing IMO, and it shouldn't matter what anyboyd else things b/c its just none of their b usiness

awww.. some aunties are really brutal no doubt.. just because they dont kno better..

who cares abt them.. but it sure does hurt..

:hugz:

i fall in somewhat the same category. i eat anything and still stay skinny… yai for us na.. :lifey:

^ chalo lahu laga kar shaeedoon main shamil ho jao :cb:

Hin, yay for us!! You're a hot mom, by the way.. :)

Adre, do you wanna translate your comment?

people amaze me with their comments… :hayaa:
its just better to ignore them
thats all iam going to say…
:@:

I could but its a joke between me and hin :)

I dont understand what you mean by that but cheers to you too :@:

:hugz: Don’t let people get to you. They’re just jealous and so they have to put you down to feel better about themselves. My relatives are unfortunately the same way… a few months back I gained some weight and I was “too fat”.. now I got a bit sick and lost serious weight because of it, and they’re like “you look like nothing but a haddi” :rolleyes: Idiots, really. You’re not out to impress anyone… if you and your fiance are happy with how you look, then to hell with everyone else :slight_smile:

I dont think its jealousy, you dont see Gori aunties handing out these sorts of comments.

Its a desi mentality to take nuqs out in everything.

From what I've seen, its usually jealousy. Desi women are very competitive. They always want their daughter to be the prettiest, skinniest, smartest, most-sought after girl in terms of rishtas, so when they see someone who might one-up their daughter they try to put em down. Like shay said in the original post, the lady made a snide remark about how her daughter was thin but not as much as her.

Whatever it is, its pretty pathetic.

Competition exists in every society and up to an extent its healthy as it drives a person to acheive high goals.

Its all bout insecurity and maybe insecurity leads to jealousy.

If an individual is happy with their life than they are happy for others.

Ive never had much interaction with desi aunties. Other than my khala and Phupi and they have always been very nice.

Shay9164
as long as you are healthy don't worry about what aunties and co have to say. In fact tell em that you possess magical powers and are able to stay skinny regardless of eating anything and everything. And also that you are generous enough to teach them a few spells too so they can do the same. :D he he he...........

theyyyyr jusss jelouuuuuuuuuuss…:hugz:

Its a desi mentality to take nuqs out in everything.

Really? its a desi mentality? I thought it was just part of a pessimistic, miserable personality....

shay9164,
it is true that to be a Mother-to-be, a young woman should be strong and healthy, but not heavy as in a very heavy obese figure. still, it is not for aunts to predict the pregnancy going which way.

an opinion: losing body weight for being healthy is something that the person who is over weight, has to decide on own.
and gaining some healthy weight in case of very thin people, especially men, is also something that they have to make up their minds for.

it is very bad when people make fun of people who are overwight or underweight.
in mental health, low self esteem and body image is a huge topic especially for growing adolescent boys and girls and young adults in their 20s.
what others can do, is influence with healthy diet and active exercise routines.
in relationships, people think being heavy or thin decreased attrativeness. that is not fully true because, a perfect body of a person is no guarantee that that person has a good heart and character integrity, as well.
a personality is composed of all these elements: healthy, fit, strong, clean, fresh pleasing physical appearance, strong and positive emotions, healthy mental presence/intelligent intellectual strength and humble truthful spirtual existence.
self-worth increases with being personally happy and content in one's own skin. and not simply having an artificially kept body that appears to be in shape, when underneath, it is very ugly.

best,
Dushwari

my cousin faces the same exact thing and i'm pretty sure her stats match yours. i tell her same thing - its just envy and jealousy, shay, don't let it get to you. they're obviously insecure in their own appearances and/or their own daughters' and they need to find some flaw to pick at, and weight is the easiest... whether you're over weight or skinny. the bottom line is, you have a great figure and you're healthy and beautiful... makes you an easy target! :)
good for you for walking out!