Wedding shopping list

Re: Wedding shopping list

I would ask my parents to just give me all teh cash instead of spending on gold and stuff that i am barely going to use.

I wish I had a sister :bummer: I better get something at my cousin’s wedding :naraz:, bechara will have 5 SILs to deal with :cb:

i think it’s all of waste of money :naraz:
i mean why the heck spend so much money on jewelry that you’re only gonna wear for one or two days, and then it sits there in the safety deposit box of the bank collecting dust (nevermind you paying them for it!)

..and why do you need soooooo many joray for? even 10-15 is a lot!! do you know come with clothes of your own? oohhh..and don’t get me started on giving joray to the in-laws and their poora khandan. they’re not getting married, are they? so then? and the whole showing clothes to everyone - what point are you trying to make? that we’re so and so rich ..and that we can afford to give all these things? (nia jee - no offense hon..and it’s in no way directed at you :))

aauughh..it makes me mad when i see so much money being wasted on fazool things. nevermind the large amounts of $$ that are being spend on banquet halls and inviting a gazillion people.
put the money to better use people!

okay, that’s it i think. i need to get my frustration out.. :blush:

i’d like my marriage to be very simple…with only his n my parents there with us…no paindu aunties to do haw haye…it’s my marriage not a faishon show or a medium to show off our wealth n status…:snooty:
n then i’d like to throw a party to all relatives n friends after a week or so…
about the shopping…hopefully we wouldn’t be moving into a jungle after marriage…so it could be done afterwards as well…it’s a very special event in anyones life…n i dont wanna ruin it by having our parents go thru fazool tensions of jahez n bari…i want everyone to be happy and tension free that day…all other things don’t matter

^ i like your thinking :blush:

thankyou!

I am soooo sorry for any heart attacks I may have caused. The big figures were in rupes not dollars. Now take a deeeeep breath :smiley:

I somewhat agree smilestar. I would never go to the extent of buying new perfumes for example just cos i am geting married. As long as I have 3-4 that I normally use I would just take those. I would buy the same thing all over again anyway. There are things that u can just take with you from what u have before and then ofcourse there is stuff that u should make sure is new or somewhat new like...ummm...lingerie!

Thanks ladies. That brings things in perspective.
Ok guppies
Jin bachoN kay pass nokriaN nhin hain, wo job talash karaiN
Jin bachioN ki demands or nakhray hain, wo ooN ko dheela karaiN

Seems like people need to bring more than a pretty face to get married :-D

hahahaha.

its okay Fayz. this isn’t some yardstick that a marraige should be measured against. Rich ppl spend a lot more. My cousin got married and her jahaiz was insane. Mumani gave her like 30 bed sets :faint: all the furniture u need to fill ur home up, she didn;t takea single item that she had used even once at her own home, everything brand new and in multitudes. Really very lavish dowry. Now that is unesecary extravagance IMO, but again its all a metter of persepctive, there maybe some who find our wedding extravagant too. Again my cousin go t married in Pakistan so they HAD to give her all that so no one could ever taunt her. Funny thing, mumani gave her this big trunk to store all her extra stuff and got her a an emoridered cover for the trunk. Cousins in-laws are somewhat gaaontype from chakwal or some place and even though they live in the city their way of life hasn;t completely changed. So anyhow my cousin was laughing at the fact that her mother got her the cover and she said that there was so muc h stuff surely the absence of a cover wouldn;t ruin her marraige. now when she got married and they were putting her stuff away her saas goes, beta is ka cover nahi hei kya? and my cousin was like thank God mum had given it to me! In pakistan u have to spend not just cos u want to but because u have to. Here everyone is a bit better off. no massive dowries, no insane haq-mehrs and a wedding affair as large as u can handle.

So don;t worry. Worse comes to worse elope :smiley:

Yeah guys, the best option is to run away with the bride! Cheap and no in-laws afterwards. :devil:

I think I am gonna kidnapp my dulha :blush:

Femme I know i have seen that, thats how it was for my cousins too. LIke they gave em juicer/blender/cutlery sets and God knows what else :o

i found my answer, thankyou ahmadjee.

:o typical desis :rolleyes:

Most wedding lists contain more important things I believe, such as

-guest list
-catering
-band bajaa etc.
-other things I cant come up with at the moment :smiley:

I mean, I really dont think a girl needs to write the amount of jora s and goldsets down on paper :hehe:
And with just two things, the list is kinda short no?

i got 25 from my mom, 15 from in laws, have barely worn 20 of my side and 10 of in laws...enjoyed shopping but it is a sad waste of money...in retrospect i shouldn't have gotten them...but of course...i was having fun as was my mom.

Gold,
17 sets from my mom, small to large
4 from in laws...

Too many...zakaat is a pain to do and in the US don't really wear it that much.

^ sad.

yeah my friend got 50 jore when she got married... after shaadi, she got fat and there went more than half of the UNTOUCHED clothes

I hate that after shaadi fatness!! Where does it come from???

From Where :confused: