Wearing a nathni (nose ring)

My friend got married last year and she didn't get heer nose pierced either. So, she went for a clip-on nath. You could do the same, i guess.

Re: Wearing Nathni (nose ring) but my nose isn't pierced - Wht to do?

clip ons are painful!

I have seen big ones with clip-on as well. Perhaps you can get it made, big thin and clip on!

My nose isn't pierced so I also wore a clip-on one on my wedding. It totally didn't hurt at all and stayed there for the whole ceremony. Infact, Id gone with a really traditional look for the wedding so I've to say this nathni really tied it all together. Thankfully my in-laws had sent it.. Otherwise, I think my face would've looked a little empty.

Infact I think it got pulled off only at the rukhsati b/c I was hugging my parents/siblings and it prolly got pulled off in someone's clothes. But I put it back on when we were in the car on the way back for any pictures later...

I would really suggest you to not skip it. It definitely looks VERY weird when you just put it on your nose any day, but it looks amazing with all the bridal makeup/ dress/ jewellry... so go for it!!!!

oh and mine wasn't too small either. it had I think a 2 1/2" to 3" dia... Are you wanting something even bigger?

twinkle why dont u ask someone to get it for u from pakistan. here there are clip on ones as well artifical and real both, plus i dont know about gluing but probably why not show to a jeweller there only and request them to convert it to a clip on ??

ive heard if a girl iz planning to wear a nathni on her wedding she should pierce her nose atleast 6 months before the wedding cuz it takes time to heal n stuff...i am a big fan of studs and nathni....but my mom sayz unmarried gurls with pierced in nose luk elder than their actual age...is it true?? m very blessed as far as my nose iz concerned...its a totally "khari naak"

oops n yeah clip ons nathni are gr8 alternate...iv never seen it loosen up or sumthing....but yeah ive heard it really hurts...make sure the clip has some soft support to it .

clip on is the best...my cousin had a clip on with no problems...and not every girl wants ther nose peirced so its a great alternative i think :-P

I actually wanted one for my wedding but then I saw what happened to a cousin of mine.. She hasn't got her nose pierced so she just got one of those really nice clip on ones. So during the rukhsati she started crying etc, and when she hugged her lil bro, it slid off (mind you the camera is still rolling). What do you know, she had like 5 different fingers up her nose trying to shove it back it .. hahha it was soo funny !!1 finally she got tired and just swung it over her dupatta !!

aww, ur poor cousin... So, did u wear at ur wedding? or got ur nose pierced..?

Actually got my nose pierced esp cz i love the big naths...
but now i've heard so many stories and even saw few brides who had so much trouble taking in and out... Now im thinking not wear one... why not enjoy ur day rather than taking all the pain on ur Big day...
I love the lil stud i guess i'll b wearing that on the big day.. :)

I had my nose pierced like about 6 years ago and it was just a bad experience for me. 1) I was working out, and I used a towel to wipe my sweat and the thread caught on to my nose ring and it got yanked out - blood everywhere. not a pretty sight. 2) I woke up one morning and the nose stud and gone INSIDE my skin so it was covered with pus (yuck I know) and when i tried to pull it out I finally did but I fainted in the end. Needless to say, it left it and it closed. I wanted to get it before the wedding but I thought if it turned out ANYTHING like before I'm better off without it !!! So I didn't .. even though I had my mum's and it was BEAUTIFUL !!

i wore a nath with clip. kuch bhi nahin hua... nath bilkul nahi hili... i think u can get it from pakistan... i borrowed it from an aunty...

I'm going to Pakistan in may so hopefully I'll find a few clip ons there.
I'll do a trial and wear it at home for a couple of ours in my pyjamas lol

Thank you everyone for sharing their good and bad experiences <3

Re: Wearing Nathni (nose ring) but my nose isn’t pierced - Wht to do?

I’m soooooooo confused .. shud i wear a nath or not… :konfused:

Re: Wearing Nathni (nose ring) but my nose isn’t pierced - Wht to do?

I love naths/nose rings on brides. It just completes the whole traditional look.

Here is a bit of a history behind the nose ring tradition:

Nose piercing is a cult-like tradition in India. Nose piercing was introduced in India by Moghul Emperors during the 16 century. The left nostril of Hindu girls as young as five years old is pierced. On the wedding night, the bride wears a Nath (Nose ring). The Nath is hooked by a chain to either the earring or hair. The bridegroom removes the Nath, symbolizing end of bride’s virginity. A widow does not wear any jewel in the pierced nose. It is claimed that nose piercing decreases pain of menstruation and eases the child birth.
Woman follow this tradition with the fervor of a cult even if they don’t have their nostril pierced, or they may not be virgin. They would wear a clip-on Nath connected by a chain to a clip-on earring, just to be removed by the groom on the wedding night.

Healing time for earlobe piercing: 3 to 6 weeks
Healing time for Nose piercing: 6 to 12 weeks

In United stated, piercing may be done only by the persons certified to perform body piercing.

Care:

The pierced area are susceptible to infection. During first week, cleanse the piercing two times a day. Let the water run over the pierced area to dissolve dry crust. Rotate the jewelry. You want to make sure that jewelry is not stuck to the skin. Don’t force the rotation, it may cause a tear. Wash with medicated soap or saline water. Rinse with clear water and pat dry.
Do not use oil or ointments.

Here is Tofeeq Umar’s wife with a clip-on nath for her valima:

Re: BRIDAL PICS.

does wearing a nathni on wedding has a meaning? ya aise hi pehnte hai'?

Re: wearing a nathni( nose ring)

I personally think a nath (nose ring) give the bride a real touch!
My cousin wore it a fe mnth back and so did the rest when they got married..i'd love to wear one when i gett hichted!

Re: wearing a nathni( nose ring)

naths look good and gives u very traditional look..... i like em!