Ways to Deal With a DifficulT MIL ..!

Re: Ways to Deal With a DifficulT MIL ..!

PCG, when girls say the MIL objects to waking up late, it is not 8am but b/w 10am-12noon.
I used to wake up at noon when I was a bachelor (my mother hated it, my father spoiled me), however, when I got married, I knew it won't be an acceptable tradition to carry on...once in a while is different but you can't be doing that everyday unless you don't live with in laws, don't have kids arounds, your husband is off to work, and/or the entire household wakes up at that time.
I have a cousin who literally wakes up b/w 11am-12noon every single day. She has 2 kids, I don't know what they do all that time when she is sleeping (MIL looking after them, etc?). By the time, she comes out of her room, the massis are done with cleaning and her MIL is done with cooking.

I am not going to argue with the OP, it is up to her what kind of atmosphere she wants in her house, she can change some her habits that will prevent others from pointing fingers at her. Last but not least, if a girls want to call husband's house/in laws house "their/her home", they have to show it through their actions too.

That's why you don't go live in your in-laws house. You live in your own house. You save up money, you then get married when you're fiscally responsible, and if your inlaws dont want to let go of their son, they can come and live with you in YOUR house. Then you wake up whenever you damn well please.

Pakis are the laziest people I have ever seen. Only few of them picked up work ethics from west but most of them are lazy as hell.

Rabia,

I have read thru the thread. Awal to OP apnay baaray main pooch nahi rahi. She has said ...twice....that she's not asking about herself, that it's about someone else...a cousin, I think. Now, let's give OP the benefit of the doubt and believe that she's asking about someone else.......then why do we need to accuse her of not being happy unless she receives responses validating her own beliefs about in-laws?

She has said that the cousin in question doesn't say anything "right or wrong" to the MIL. Now if this means that the the cousin avoids arguing with MIL....then it seems to indicate that she doesn't condone disrespect toward in-laws. Yeh cousin ki story hai and yes it is a one-sided story as is the case for all threads. Later on, OP shared a little bit about her own marriage. She said that her MIL is depressed and she doesn't respond to MIL's hurtful words and that husband deals with it. Even this little bit of information does not indicate that Sanaya condones disrespect toward in-laws.

Sanaya's "mistake" is that she had said more than once that a MIL cannot love a DIL the same as her daughter or even like the DIL's mother. Maybe because she has stated this reality more than once, some folks on here are assuming that she is hell bent on using this reality of human nature to justify disrespect toward her in-laws. I didn't get that vibe. Unfortunately her own experience with her MIL and the experiences of her friends/cousins with in-laws has not been the best, but is the mentioning of those ill experiences along with stating the reality of human nature....enough for us to deduce that she condones disrespect of in-laws?

Okay theek hai....let's, for a moment, say that she holds the general belief that MILs tend to be difficult based on the experiences she and others have. She's disillusioned. She wanted advice from the married folks on here.....who could have given her tips on how to handle conflicts or bond with her MIL...maybe even suggest tips from an Islamic perspective....or perhaps some duas, etc. People on here could have gently advised to let go of preconceived negative beliefs as they can impact the way she interacts with her MIL. They could extend it further and say that if OP was to have a daughter ...then developing a negative attitude about MILs can be harmful to a marriage as it colors the way you look at things. Advice from this angle could have been given as well.

From what I understand is that she wanted to know what types of personal matters warrant a MIL's interference and how to deal with them. Why are her past views or posts on religion being brought up? How is that helpful...does it not read more like an attack? I don't think Sanaya is being rude. And I agree with Theorist in that the bulk of the negativity in the thread is not coming from the OP.

^ hmmm that's wrong. Pakistan in Pakistan might be lazy (but they aren't,) but in the west they one the most hard working people.

Damn straight.

this is what the whole world does, yet this concept is rare in our culture.

Well it's not rare in my culture. I will retain my right to get up at 11 am, and hit the gym at 1 pm, and then eat "breakfast" at 3 pm, and then fall into bed again at 8 pm.

I WILL RETAIN MY RIGHT.

You can retain all your rights but just remember, marriage is not about "me/I" but "we/us", no matter what part of the world you live in.

^true. marriage is about husband and wife and sometimes compromises on both sides are necessary.
however marriage is not about DIL having to live according to her MIL's rules..

If you are living in a joint family, then you have to find some sort of middle ground. If you can't then please, find your own place.

agreed. and this is why i agreed with what PCG had stated earlier that to avoid all these issues, its better to find your own place before getting married.

Okay so suppose you get your own place before getting married, then you get married, husband moves in, are you telling the husband that xyz are your rules and he has to abide them because it is your house? I hope not, I hope both of you will find some middle ground. I also hope if you have parents visiting, you will be flexible to their needs and/or their personalities. Yes, I do hope that the visiting parent will also show flexibility to the needs and life style of the couple.

It is very easy to melt the ice but pretty hard job to keep it in its solid form.

husband and wife are a team, and neither one should dictate how other should live. however, living in joint family where MIL gets to dictate how DIL should be living her life is what causes alot of resentment and problems. thats why i would never consider living with inlaws. if parents are visiting, they really shouldn't enforce their lifestyle on the children. if my mil stays with me and starts telling me what to do, when to wake up, what to wear, you bet that would cause problems.

From what I understand is that she wanted to know what types of personal matters warrant a MIL's interference and how to deal with them. Why are her past views or posts on religion being brought up? How is that helpful...does it not read more like an attack? I don't think Sanaya is being rude. And I agree with Theorist in that the bulk of the negativity in the thread is not coming from the OP.

thanks alot you people are really sensible.
You have cleared it nicely .. A big thanks to you . I couldnt sleep the whole night because of their response .
I was wrong abt MIL cant love because of some personal reasons . She is nice but she never helped me in house chores, like , chopping veg, dusting or even she asks for a glass of water at bed where she is playing games on fb and im pregnant doing evesythng for her and FIL ,pressing clothes, washing, cooking, cleaning house , each and everything.
But i never complain. On sundays as well, when my husband sees he feel bad . Sometimes i cry because i had never done these things at my parents place. I knw im married and i have to do all these thngs. But whenever my husband arranges any maid she says "bahu ko bigarna hy? Koi itna kam nhi hy, sub krty hain. Hum b krty thy". Now my husband has arranged a separate flat and she is abusing me infront of my fIL and family . My mother cant ever do so. And i never tell her about mz in.laws behaviour. She even abuses my late father :,(
Now we r separate ..
If i was wrong why did my husband is realising everythng on his own without any complain or back biting from my side against MIL ..
Still i do respect her and all members by my heart . And i do hijab when i was 8 yrs old.
Now i hve explained everything ..

Only because people in your family are lazy as hell, doesn't mean all Pakistanis are.

Most people get up early morning and work hard till evening. They do more in one day than whiners like you do in a whole month. And most of all: they don't whine about it and they don't put others down!

Cringe. Sounds more like a 2 years old crying for a cookie instead of an independant adult woman.

^ sounds like your mom didn't prepare you for the married life. Also, seems like this is turning out to be about you rather thn the friend and her MIL???

^the statement has changed a few times.

Anyway everyone gave good answers to u, sorry ur friend i mean. I just wanna say two things:

MIL is not wrong in her comment abt roaming around with fiance. Thts not good :rolleyes: . Ur friend shouldnt preach what she cant practice.

DIL is the one who has to make a place in MILs heart and tht is not going to happen unless DIL start acting like an adult instead of crying like a baby and i really dont Think someone is as masoom as they are trying to be, their behavior until now speaks for itself

Just my two cents for “ur friend” :rolleyes:

Of all the things a couple can argue about forcing bedtimes and wake up times on each other is ridiculous. If I have a day off and I sleep in that's my decision and I'll still manage to get my housework done with my husband, and all the errands run etc.

Pick your battles. Forcing someone to change their sleep wake cycle is a ridiculous waste of time. Time only that a desi unemployed MIL with no hobbies has.