These indians are trying very hard to prove that Wasim will/should coach indian bowlers. Let them copy/paste all articles about Wasim and let them have some fun.
Some people can't differentiate between 'coaching a team' and 'giving advice'.
*Originally posted by karina: *
Never said he was not well off, or that he prefers Mumbai over Lahore. Instead of attacking my ego, how about you find an explanation for this -
The rumours have been going around for 2-3 days, the whole world heard them, Wasim must have too, yet he chose not to make an immediate denial.
When asked, he confirmed that Wright and Ganguly had asked him to coach the bowlers and said, 'I would love to become the Indian bowling coach if the BCCI approaches me.'
(would that entail living in Mumbai? Yes or no?)
Bottom line is he has not agreed and has issued a denial. BTW I have no problem with him coaching the Indian team for the Aussie tour. I was referring to your second thought that he is thinking of moving out of Pakistan and that Mumbai would be very attractive. Where did that one come from?
‘Nobody has approached me,’ says Wasim Akram
Wisden Cricinfo staff
November 20, 2003
Wasim Akram has stated that the whole issue about his coaching India’s bowlers was a “misunderstanding”, and that there was no truth in the recent reports linking him to an official post. Speaking at the Scorpio Speedster contest in Mumbai’s Shivaji Park today, he said: “There is no truth behind these statements. There has been no offer from the BCCI. Nobody has spoken to me.”
He also said that he was aware about a court case being filed against him in Lahore in this regard. When asked to comment on that he said, “If there is any truth in the statements I can comment on this, but the fact is there is no truth.”
“Wasim bhai”, as everyone fondly referred to him, confirmed that he had signed an 18-month contract with ESPN-Star Sports as a TV commentator. He said he was looking forward to working with old friends like Ravi Shastri and Geoffrey Boycott, and added: “I enjoy spending time with them.”
He also confirmed: “My playing days are over. Nobody can go on forever. I played only half a season with Hampshire, and decided to stop after that.”
He was aware of Shivaji Park being the ground where Sachin Tendulkar learnt his trade, and reminisced about bowling in Santh Nagar – a similar ground – when he was young. And he mentioned that Kapil Dev was one of his idols when he grew up.
Wasim was very excited about India and Pakistan renewing cricket ties. He said his fondest memory of visiting India was “the standing ovation that we got at Chennai after winning the Test match in 1999”. He ended by saying that if there was one moment he would like to relive from his cricket career, it was from the World Cup final at Melbourne (where he was Man of the Match): “I would love to go back to 1992 and bowl those two balls to Allan Lamb and Chris Lewis.”
Source
Undoubtedly the peak point and highlight of his career ![]()
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Bottom line is he has not agreed and has issued a denial. BTW I have no problem with him coaching the Indian team for the Aussie tour. I was referring to your second thought that he is thinking of moving out of Pakistan and that Mumbai would be very attractive. Where did that one come from?
Moving out of Pakistan in a temporary sort of way. Anyone would know that if he actually did coach the Indian team he could not live in Pakistan till he stops. If a simple rumour can get a court order for him then you can guess what would happen if he is helping us.
Why do you say living in Mumbai is not attractive? If it was that unattractive Wasim wouldn't keep saying how much he likes it and feels at home there (now don't ask me for the link, he's said it often enough). Wright loves Mumbai, he's going to keep his pad even after he is no longer the coach and will continue to come and stay for short periods in Mumbai, as he stated. It has nothing to do with ego, Ehsan bhai, many people love Mumbai for particular reasons. It won't make Lahore any less attractive, nor will it make Wasim any less patriotic.
*Originally posted by a1kashur: *
These indians are trying very hard to prove that Wasim will/should coach indian bowlers. Let them copy/paste all articles about Wasim and let them have some fun.
Some people can't differentiate between 'coaching a team' and 'giving advice'.
Can you differentiate between what Wasim said and you what you hoped he said?
I think you have taken the comment too seriously. Nowhere did I say that Mumbai is not attractive, merely said why should he prefer Mumbai over Lahore, especially as Lahore is my hometown.
You can’t attack my hometown and get away without a comment from me. ![]()
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Saby - Look at the first thread to know where This COOKED UP story appeared FIRST. I am sure you will ignore that and blame it on Indian Media. This story was reported by every newspaper in the world (which covers cricket) including the BBC. Wasim may have been in talks with PCB, I am not denying that but I dont think he got any positive response from them . To me this attempt of his looks like a well thought out plan of Wasim Akram which forced PCB to respond fearing backlash from fans. :)
You are sure about all assumptions you make, you always have been. Anyways top make my point clear, i was referring to that 'feeler' thing that indian newspapers are making it sound as if Akram was the one who was intersted and THEN Ganguly and John Wright put forward his case. Also 'the well-thought out plan' comment was a good one, i almost laughed :)
Umair I think no matter how talanted our bowlers are, they are not even half of what Wasim was. So they can always learn from him.
EDIT-- Karina ji, look at the article you posted yourself, there is a big difference between 'helping out' and 'proper coaching'.
Ah, I should have known.![]()
Well, you’ll have to admit that Mumbai has more taporis than Lahore. You can’t win on that!
*Originally posted by karina: *
Well, you'll have to admit that Mumbai has more taporis than Lahore. You can't win on that!
You are obviously itching to get yourself banned from KK. :)
*Originally posted by saby: *
You are sure about all assumptions you make, you always have been. Anyways top make my point clear, i was referring to that 'feeler' thing that indian newspapers are making it sound as if Akram was the one who was intersted and THEN Ganguly and John Wright put forward his case. Also 'the well-thought out plan' comment was a good one, i almost laughed :)
Umair I think no matter how talanted our bowlers are, they are not even half of what Wasim was. So they can always learn from him.
EDIT-- Karina ji, look at the article you posted yourself, there is a big difference between 'helping out' and 'proper coaching'.
Forget I said or posted anything. It's obviously becoming a sore point.
What confounds me is why a person of Wasim's calibre had to wait forever for the PCB to make up it's mind. YOu'll have to admit that if all this had not happened then the PCB would have gone on dragging it's heel.
Good luck to Wasim. For India, it would have been nice to have him as coach (would have built some bridges) but Dollarmiya for once got it right when he said that given the nature of politics it would never work. I suppose we'll find a coach from Australia. That was the news some months back.
You see! YOu can’t be sinister if you tried. Mumbai wins! ![]()
http://www.howstat.com.au/cricket/Statistics/Matches/MatchScorecard.asp?MatchCode=1211
^ This is the match where Waseem believes he was at his peak along with Waqar.
Waseem : 5/45
Waqar: 5/22
NZ all out 93. They lost the match from a comfortable position. :jhanda:
^^ yaar i remember that match, i have it on cd :D
but talkign of wasim's heroics, those two delieveries instantly come to my mind.
grow up kids..... ksi kis ko chooseni ke zaroorat hay? :p
Thats true. I mentioned that match because I watched Cricket legends just last week and remembered what he said. Whats even more interesting is the way Imran used Waseem. I was watching that famous Sharjah match between India and Pakistan where Javed hit the six of the last ball. The combination of Waseem and Imran ran out an Indian player on the last ball of their innings. Imran had placed himself close to the fielder on the off side and the ball went straight to him. The batsman wanting to take a single off the last ball was run out from Imran’s direct throw! ![]()
so hes hired by PCB rite??
yeaaaa:jhanda:
u mean hes takin over javed miandad or only for bowling:konfused:
Wasim is a freakin genious
He got all these people worked up over a fake rumour and now he is back in with the PCB. Remmeber that Wasim’s rivals (Aamer Sohail, Rashid, Miandad,) took over after the World Cup, maybe this gives him a chance to get his foot back in the door.
As for Wasim wanting to live in Bombay, where did that one come from? Do they even speak Punjabi/Urdu in South India
I wanna say something that no one has brought up so far. for the past few days people have been bad mouthing PCB over "disrespecting" wasim. Michael jordan wasn't offered a job as bulls head coach after his retirement, i guess that makes the city of chicago and bulls organization ungrateful bitch. dan marino, troy aikman, steve young, mark mcgwire, charles barkey and countless others did not hang around for coaching their old team and they weren't even asked to. i guess it makes all these organization ungrateful. since when does a great fast bowler automatically get a job coaching the team. is he really entitled to the job. don't get me wrong, i would love it if wasim came back to coach the team, but he should not "expect" PCB to fall to his feet as soon as he retired. we are pakistanis, we produce fast bowlers without any coaching help, maybe indoos need to fall at his feet because lets face it, they have never produced any "fast" bowlers, ( no srinath doesn't count). I URGE ALL THE PAKISTANIS IN THIS FORUM TO THINK ABOUT WHAT THEY ARE SAYING BEFORE GETTING ALL EMOTIONAL.
I think Bombay is in West India…Yes they don’t speak Punjabi/Urdu there…