Saby,
Thanks for articles.But Please post your views also .That will help as discuss it.
**Disciplinary records key factor behind Sharjah Cup selection
Not only form and performances, but recent disciplinary records also played a big part on Thursday in the selection of the Pakistan squad for the triangular series in Sharjah. * a try to end player power?? :eek:*
Sources said that while seniors Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Saeed Anwar, Inzamam-ul-Haq and Saqlain Mushtaq were not considered because of their form and recent performances and long term future, fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar has been sidelined because of complaints about his behaviour in the World Cup. * Its high time shoaib realizes that getting at the top is one thing, maintiaing that position is another *
“The selectors and captain Rashid Latif held discussions on the merit and demerit of selecting Saeed, Inzamam and Saqlain in particular, but there was not much discussion on Wasim or Waqar,” a source said. “And as far as Shoaib was concerned, the selectors had been informed they should not consider him for the Sharjah tournament,” the source said. * as I see, we can kiss Wasim and Waqar good bye, coz they were not even discussed that much it seems.. fantastic careers… i m already missing them
It is learnt that the feedback the Board Chairman has got from manager Shaharyar Khan and other team officials about Shoaib’s behaviour in the World Cup has not pleased him at all given the sort of special care the Board took of the fast bowler in the hope he would deliver the goods in the World Cup.
The Board at present is said to be investigating reports about misconduct by Shoaib and some other players in South Africa.
Sources said the selectors and Rashid had agreed that while Inzamam and Saqlain could still play and serve Pakistan cricket, at the moment they required to take a rest and recharge themselves.
“The body language of Saqlain in particular and the recent form of Inzamam was debated upon in the meeting and the unanimous conclusion was that both the seniors needed to go back and change their attitude and body language towards international cricket.”
Saqlain, an experienced off-spinner has been off-colour for sometime now and this could be because of the lack of confidence the previous skipper had in him. While Inzamam had a horrific time in the World Cup failing to cross double figures even once in his six innings.
Sources confided that there had been lot of debate on the form and selection of allrounder Abdul Razzaq and the skipper wanted him to be given another chance.
“In the end the selectors went along with Rashid who has assured that Razzaq will soon recapture his previous form,” a source said. * Good to see Rashid trusting Razzaq this much, i hope Razzlers recpatures hie best form
Sources say there were no differences between the selectors and the captain on the selection of other players particularly the uncapped ones. “However, no discussion has been held as yet on the possibility of starting to build separate Test and one-day squads.”
*Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *
Saby,
Its very easy to cut paste article.Please post your views also .That will help as discuss it.
i know, i was just going to finish with them first then edit them. :)
Interesting team selection. I am surprised that they decided to boot out all the senior players. But I totally don't understand the reason Azhar Mehmood was left out. Just plain stupidity. Other than that..the team looks good.
Razzaq maybe a quality player but he seems like one of those players, who are hot early in their career but stay put as they get older.
I read Aamir Sohail's comment in the Times newspaper today and he said that "Waqar and Afridi" have been dropped for good and the rest have been asked to take a rest.
Originally posted by ehsan: *
I read Aamir Sohail's comment in the Times newspaper today and he said that *"Waqar and Afridi" have been dropped for good** and the rest have been asked to take a rest.
Ehsan bhai, Aamir Sohail never used the word *for good *. :) I saw his press conference recording on television. He said WAqar has been dropped 'on performance' and Afridi was not considered coz of disclipinary reasons. To answer a question about Afridi, he said he has to change his style and improve, and no one will be selected on 'past performances'.
Here’s an article: I must say Aamir made good points.
[thumb=B]_38984143_aamir150.JPG[/thumb]
Sohail knows the pressures of captaining Pakistan.
Chief selector Aamir Sohail insists Shoaib Akhtar and seven other experienced Pakistan players have not been dropped because of their disappointing World Cup performances.
The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has named an inexperienced squad ahead of next month’s triangular one-day series with Sri Lanka and South Africa in Sharjah, led by new captain Rashid Latif.
There is no place for Latif’s predecssor, Waqar Younis, along with Wasim Akram, Saeed Anwar, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Shahid Afridi, Azhar Mahmood and spinner Saqlain Mushtaq.
Their places have been taken by relative unknowns such as Mohammad Hafeez, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan and Umar Gul.
But Sohail believes the absence of Akhtar and the older players does not automatically signal the end of their international careers.
“These are precious players for us,” the former Pakistan captain told the BBC Sport website.
**"Shoaib was struggling with his fitness - but he hasn’t been dropped, he is being rested
"What we are trying to do is get these players rested and use the opportunity to see what we have for the future.
“We have a perfect chance to see how these youngsters can handle the pressure of international cricket.” **
Pakistan are in the process of rebuilding after their lacklustre performances at the World Cup in South Africa.
Former captain Javed Miandad has succeeded Englishman Richard Pybus for his third spell as coach.
But the biggest surprise was the appointment of Latif, who was persuaded to come out of retirement to replace Waqar as captain, with Yousuf Youhana named as vice captain.
“We never wanted to give the captaincy to a youngster at this particular time, we simply couldn’t take that risk,” said Sohail.
**"Rashid Latif will groom the younger players and at the same time, give them the confidence to succeed at the highest level.
“We also did not want too many captains playing at the same time. We need to make sure Yousuf Youhana has the ability to captain Pakistan or not .” **
Despite an abundance of talented players, Sohail is keen to find consistent performers in key positions for the future.
“We require two or three quality batsman, a new ball bowler and someone who can pick up wickets after 20 overs,” he said.
**"If you look at the match against Australia, Pakistan were 86-4 and they went on to score 300 runs. England were 118-5 and they eventually scored 240 runs.
“There is something missing and we are trying to fill these gaps, trying to get the balance of the team right.” **
saby, I am reporting what the newspaper had said. Under an article "Pakistan drop eight after cup failure", they reported the following:
" Aamir Sohail, the chief selector said that only Waqar and Afridi had been "permanently dropped". The remainder have been advised to rest".
Unfortunately the article is not on their website otherwise I would have provided the link.
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
saby, I am reporting what the newspaper had said. Under an article "Pakistan drop eight after cup failure", they reported the following:
" Aamir Sohail, the chief selector said that only Waqar and Afridi had been "permanently dropped". The remainder have been advised to rest".
Unfortunately the article is not on their website otherwise I would have provided the link.
hmm, i m not doubting your authority Ehsan bhai :D, i m juust saying that Aamir Sohail didnt use the words 'permenently' or 'for good'. Maybe tabloid is wrong???
poor Rashid ..... he's not 100 % n how can u make him the skipper ..... i dont know wats been happening .... where is Wasim Akram .... hasnt been selected for the sharjah cup ..... God .... poor selection again .... where the hell is Imran Nazir ? n y the hell they have dropped Azher mahmood .... poor PCB .... i think ab tu sharjah se bhi haar ke hi aayen gey .... Allah bhalla karey
Here’s a more detailed transcript from the Press Conference.
Eight from the World Cup squad sacked
Agha Akbar - 20 March 2003
LAHORE – As expected, the fresh set of national selectors along with Rashid Latif and Yousuf Youhana, the newly-appointed captain and vice-captain, have gone for a 16-member squad for the Sharjah Cup, so distinctly different from the one that only recently crashed out of the World Cup without a whimper.
Despite the outbreak of war in the region, the tournament, which also involves Sri Lanka and South Africa other than Pakistan, was still on, according to latest reports available to the PCB.
Though anticipated that some of the seniors would not be called for national duty, when chief selector Aamer Sohail announced the squad, eight out of the 15 that went to South Africa stood dropped. Though Abdul Razzaq and Saleem Elahi managed to survive, but only just and, as Sohail divulged, that too because of the intervention of skipper Latif.
Those who have hit the sack are: Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram, Saeed Anwar, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Saqlain Mushtaq, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Akhtar and Azhar Mahmood. Some of these, though, have merely been rested, insisted Sohail.
They are likely to make a comeback once their hunger for the game is renewed after a spell away from the game, said Sohail. “I think there is a good three years of cricket left in Inzamam; he is an asset and should not be written off”.
Desperate times, as the saying goes, require desperate measures. And, these certainly are desperate times for Pakistan cricket, but in naming this hugely green outfit, have the selectors gone for overkill?
Aamer insisted that they had not, and that it was not reckless changing and chopping just for the heck of it.** “Our brief is well defined. The team needs to be rebuilt. Hence, we have given an opportunity to those who deserved to fill slots vacated by some of the seniors.** The captain has been part of the process of selection, as he would always be from now on. His recommendations have been catered for, and he would be provided total support,” said the chief selector about the first set of selections made by his five-member committee.
Rashid for his part insisted that the sacking was a bitter pill, which had to be swallowed because of the necessity to rebuild the national team.** “Some of these boys replacing the likes of Akram and Younis are unknown figures. But maybe soon they too would be household names. They certainly have the potential to strike it big”**, said Rashid.
Sohail echoed similar sentiments when he said, that given a proper opportunity and guidance this young but talented side had the potential to deliver the goods.
Captaining Pakistan at this critical juncture was something that he had accepted as a challenge, said Rashid, adding that he had to shelve post-World Cup retirement plans because the team needed him. “That is why for the moment, I’ve extended my career for a year”, said he, mentioning that he was physically fit at the moment, though still undecided whether he wanted to play Test cricket as well (he had already announced his retirement from the longer version of the game even before he embarked on the plane for the World Cup).
“I take it upon myself as a responsibility to groom a wicket-keeper for the future”, said he, suggesting that he may either sit out some or induct himself only as a batsman in Tests. At one point, gesturing towards Youhana sitting on his right, Rashid said that maybe the former would be captaining the Pakistan team in not too distant a future.
**Though masked with considerable degree of success, more than a hint of desperation was quite visible on the brows of the chief selector and captain. Patience was the buzz word with the duo, as a nervous-looking Youhana sat there in silence. **
When asked whether they would revert back to the seniors after another setback or two – the fate of all previous attempts at rebuilding in recent years – Sohail said that people would have to be patient and allow this young brigade time to settle down in the international arena.
On the part of the selection committee, Aamer assured that there would be no backtracking. “We are looking ahead, towards tomorrow and not yesterday. The emphasis of this committee would be on continuity, and I assure you that we would not insult our own intelligence by selecting a player and then dropping him without a proper outing”, said Sohail.
**Quite unprompted, Sohail made an interesting comment. When talking about the virtues of this young outfit, he repeatedly stressed on Latif being the only captain in the side. This ‘not-so-vague’ hint gave away the fact that the previous squad had more than what could only be called jostling for power by various factions because it had a surfeit of former captains who wanted another turn at the saddle. **
To reinforce the argument, Aamer quoted the Aussie example. “The Australians have been the most successful side of the 1990s, and they have had only one captain in their elevens”.
The 16-member squad: Taufeeq Umar, Mohammad Hafeez, Naved Latif, Saleem Elahi, Yousuf Youhana, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Faisal Iqbal, Rashid Latif, Danish Kaneria, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Zahid, Umar Gul, Naved-ul-Hasan, Abdul Razzaq.
this is a good sign. Not to be a burden or team and give proper outing to Akmal or whatever wicketkeeper they choose. :k:
*Originally posted by undefined: *
poor Rashid ..... he's not 100 % n how can u make him the skipper ..... i dont know wats been happening .... where is Wasim Akram .... hasnt been selected for the sharjah cup ..... God .... poor selection again .... where the hell is Imran Nazir ? n y the hell they have dropped Azher mahmood .... poor PCB .... i think ab tu sharjah se bhi haar ke hi aayen gey .... Allah bhalla karey
You have to forget about "Winning" for a while when the team is full of youngsters. This is the time for them to show their worth. Winning and losing is part of the game, the test will be how good they fight.
Should we have a separate "Bowler Selector", "Batsman Selector" etc? Does it make sense?
Anwar should have been included....pakistan has been struggling with the opening slot ever since aamir sohail left.....anwar n taufeeq umar seemed to get along well!
Pakistan Cricket head into new era
Taha Noor - 21 March 2003
The unveiling of the Sharjah bound squad on Thursday made it obvious Pakistan cricket was headed into a new era. It showed a desire to groom talented youngsters, who would hopefully go on to become superstars of the future. Except for experienced Rashid Latif as captain, the rest of the side has a very youthful look and seniors like Wasim, Waqar, Saeed, Inzamam have been left out.
Shoaib Akhtar has also been left out, I hope only temporarily, to pave the way in for new fast bowlers Mohammad Zahid and Umar Gul. Shoaib still has a lot to offer and I hope it’s just a question of time before he reconciles with his role as a strike bowler and not a showman. The layoff will hopefully have the desired effect.
To analyse the team, it is important to look at each category (batsmen, bowlers, wicket-keeper and all-rounders) to assess the overall quality of the side:
Batsmen:
Imran Nazir and Imran Farhat are among the notable exclusions for Sharjah. The former looked an automatic choice but the selectors opted to re-introduce Naved Latif and added in Mohammad Hafeez. Perhaps Imran too needs to be in the cold for a while longer as there are reports of him now being a bit like Shoaib Akhtar or Shahid Afridi after his early successes. Saleem Elahi retains his place in the side, which is only fair as he hardly got a chance to prove himself at the World Cup.
While Naved Latif has played for Pakistan in the past and apart from doing well in recent domestic cricket, his career includes a memorable century against Sri Lanka in Sharjah.
On the other hand, Mohammad Hafeez is a bit of an unknown entity. A 22-year old youngster, who has scored only 251 runs in his seven first-class matches for Sargodha but has been opening and scoring well in the ongoing NBP Patron’s Cup one-day tournament. The new chief selector, Aamer Sohail expressed high hopes for him.
Faisal Iqbal’s inclusion is a good move, he certainly has shown the talent and mental toughness required to succeed at the top level. Youhana, Younis Khan and Taufeeq Umar, deservedly retain their place in the side.
Aamer Sohail also made a very sensible statement saying that neither Razzaq nor Shoaib Malik would be utilized for the number 3 slot, and that position will be occupied by a genuine batsman. That is a great move, and I am glad to see that common sense has finally prevailed. For me, Yousuf Youhana is the best man for that crucial position, with an average of over 65 batting at number 3.
Bowlers:
The Pakistan bowling attack will be facing the greatest challenge, hoping to live up to past brilliance. With the veterans sidelined, the new boys will have to bear the burden squarely on their shoulders. Even Mohammad Sami has a lot to prove after an ordinary domestic season since his return from South Africa, where he really got no chance to prove his capabilities.
Mohammad Zahid makes yet another come back, and his fitness and form will be under severe scrutiny. He looked quite ordinary in the second test match against South Africa, earlier this year, but has done quite well in the domestic circuit.
A most pleasing aspect is the inclusion of Umar Gul. He has had great success in domestic cricket, and is known as a bowler who maintains immaculate line and length.
Najaf Shah and Jaffar Nazir have been left out for the moment, because of the desire to include more all-rounders. This is where I believe that the selectors may have made a mistake. All-rounders are only worth inclusion if genuinely capable of cementing their place in the side as a genuine batsman or bowler, with their capabilities in the other department being an extra bonus. The problem with including bits and pieces players like Afridi and Razzaq, was clearly seen in the World Cup, where they let the side down in both departments. This area will require deep thought on the part of the selectors.
All-rounders:
Shoaib Malik makes a return in the absence of Saqlain who was left out, while Abdul Razzaq has been given another chance to get back into form. Azhar Mahmood though, was left out without being given a reasonable chance to prove himself, which is a mystery.
The selectors finally included Naved-ul-Hasan, who has been knocking on the doors of international cricket for quite a while. I am delighted by his inclusion, as he is a very good medium pacer, as well as a talented lower middle order batsman. He certainly deserves a place in the playing eleven, and I hope he gets a fair chance to prove himself.
The tour selection committee must avoid the temptation of going in with too many all-rounders at the cost of the specialists, as this upsets team balance.
Wicket-keeper:
Rashid Latif gets another chance with the gloves and captaincy, and I hope he is more successful in his second tenure. It was disappointing to see Kamran Akmal left out, but with Latif appointed as captain, that was always on the cards. However, Latif has promised to prepare a wicket-keeper of the future while he is with the side and even to the extent of sitting out some matches after Sharjah. I hope he manages to do so effectively.
I feel that Pakistan cricket has finally taken a step in the right direction with this new-look side but it is essential to persevere with this plan, rather than hitting the panic button in case they fail initially at Sharjah. Youhana is the ideal choice for vice-captain, and both he and Younis Khan must learn under Rashid Latif, because they will have to take over the reigns once he leaves.
The appointment of the new selection committee was also a good move by PCB and it was pleasing to see someone like Aamer Sohail, who has the passion and the knowledge of modern cricket, at the helm.
I am also hoping that the new team will listen to and learn from Javed Miandad who is coach again. His knowledge and expertise cannot be challenged and with the departure of the seniors, fans can only hope Javed can weld Pakistan cricket together again.
The PCB too must continue to repose confidence on Rashid, Aamer and Javed and help reinforce the mandate that they seem to have given them. They would need to avoid reacting to any early disappointments and bear any external pressure for quick changes to give the new crew a full chance.
whens the next tourney after sharjah?
Pakistan goes to England in May/June.
Misbah ul Haq has a good record in ODIs....they shoudve tried him in the WC....
ONE-DAY INTERNATIONALS
(including 01/12/2002)
M 8
I 7
NO 2
Runs 215
HS 50*
Ave 43.00
SR 64.95
100 0
50 2
Ct 4