Waqar SACKED, Rashid new Captain, TEAM FOR SHARJAH ANNOUNCED (Merged)

So basically all these seniors, who are not announcing their retirements even now, will just wait and hope the youngsters will fail in Sharjah? So that the Seniors are called back again? Whats the point of "resting" a 36 year old player? They are as good as gone.

I think, for once, Aamer Sohail just tried to play the diplomat, but effectively he is saying the careers of Wasim, Waqar, Saeed are over. Saqi and Inzi too, probably.

Shoaib's departue is amusing. He has been the receipient of the biggest investment ever in the history of Pakistan Cricket Board, even when most people were publicly saying he is not worth it. Yes, he did bowl @100mph, but still got booted out. I am sure he is a talented player, and only if he starts to use his head a bit more than his muscles, he'd probably be a great bowler in years to come. Too bad, he is wasting away the best years of his career in totally screwed up priorities: bowling 100mph, getting the hottest chicks, drinks, booze, mouthing off, etc etc. Ah well... we win some, we lose some.

Surprisingly, Razzler made the cut despite a horrible WC. I guess the thought process is that with Waqar gone, Razzler will again regain his lost form. I am keeping my fingers crossed on it. He is an immensly talented cricketer.

Good luck to Lateef and this team. They will need all the luck and then some to succeed in Sharjah with such a green team. Hopefully in two years time, when Yoyo takes over this team, the players would have gained enough international experience to enable them to take the best of the best and knock them out. Insha allah.

ahem

Forgive me, notta cheif selector. Looks like new Pakistan Cricket team is born.

Dropping Inzi, I can agree with ‘cause after all he needs to eat to get back in his form. He will be back. Wasim, Waqar and Akhtar got dropped and first class players have been chance. Their bowlin’ figures in First class cricket looks great, though we gotta wait for the ODIs how the bowled. I think, they should have included at least Wasim in the squad. I don’t mind droppin’ Akhtar and Younis.

Daneish Kaneria is in and Saqi is out. Fair decision I back that but why Abdul Razzaq is there? :grumpy: They should have included Azhar Mehmood. The guy has been ignored alot. Stupid decision. :mad: P.S, Moin Khan again has been igonred. Selectors should included him as a batsman. They done that in Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 1997-98; and it worked well.

Welcome back Faisal Iqbal. :k: Miandad is there; and so are you. :hehe:

Above all, kinda surprisin’ selection. We’ll see their performance in the Sharjah tournament. Good Luck.

i dunno if waqar was good captain........coz he DID NOT preform well.....
i think rashid could handle this..
correct me if i am mistaking...wo captain reh chuka hei na?

I forgot to mention Azhar Mahmood.What wrong this guy has done. till last month he was good enough to be in first 15.He wasnot given a game in Worldcup and then he is dropped?? :(
gros injustice to him.

Shouldnot he be in team???
What do you guys thing?

^^

AKB: Saalay, mera comments read kar kay bool raha hai. :hehe:

Comin’ back to the topic, I reckon it’s a stupid decision. Azhar and Sami didn’t give chance in the WC. If PCB can include Sami, why not Azhar? This is nuts! I don’t understand logic behind that.

Another talented player goin’ down the drain!

Azhar was only given a chance in the warm-up matches n i think he did well....he shouldve been taken....i dont see the reason behind leaving him out!

This is what Pybus has to say on this issue
http://www.wisden.com/static/ms/newsnews44121486.htm
A short-term appointment
Richard Pybus: ‘Most people have no idea about the pressures Waqar has been under’

Richard Pybus, who was dismissed as Pakistan’s coach on Wednesday, has told the BBC that he was disappointed at the Pakistan Cricket Board’s decision to sack Waqar Younis as captain.

Speaking on the BBC’s website, Pybus said that it was unfair to blame Waqar for Pakistan’s miserable World Cup campaign. “Most people will have no idea about the pressures he has been under over the past year,” Pybus said. "Many key performers in the team underachieved - as they have done for some time - and should also be held accountable.”

Pybus, who openly accused some players of not being committed to the cause following Pakistan’s elimination, believed that Waqar did exceptionally well in the circumstances. “He did an incredible job keeping the team together. I was deeply disappointed at how uncommitted some players were. On paper they were probably the most talented squad at the World Cup, but there was a general lack of desire to go out and fight. I doubt if there is anything that Waqar could have done to change that.”

He added that the appointment of Rashid Latif as captain was probably little more than a stopgap. “I can see Younis Khan taking over in time,” explained Pybus. “He is a thoughtful, highly professional cricketer who expects others to maintain the standards he sets himself. If Younis had shown greater interest in the captaincy I believe he would have been appointed now.”

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *

Saby, have you seen Umer gul play? impressions if you have indeed seen him play?

I saw Umer Gul on tv when Sri lanka A played Pakistan A and he IS quick. Got a great yorker (well almost every pakistani bowler does). He was very effective against those Sri Lankans A. Lets see if he can make an impression against Sri lankan seniors and South Africans.

I m a bit surprised not to see Abdul Rauf's name there. But anyways he will get his chance later. Danesh Kaneria, well they are trying a new spinner instead of saqlain, against SA he might be a success as they traditionally dont like to play leg spinners.

P.S i definitely agree Azhar mahmood should have been in the squad.

P.S 2 Faisal bhai, i dont see inzi and saqi's careers finished, they will be back and in inzi's case with a bang :D. Waqar, Wasim and Saeed i m not so sure. :(

*Originally posted by saby: *
I m a bit surprised not to see Abdul Rauf's name there. But anyways he will get his chance later. Danesh Kaneria, well they are trying a new spinner instead of saqlain, against SA he might be a success as they traditionally dont like to play leg spinners.

Yeah, that was the name that I was missing - Abdul Rauf. I heard lots of good things about him. Shouldn't have missed him.

When Clive Lloyd came to Pak, he said that Umer Gul is special and has lots of potential. Inshallah he'll be the next W.

Kaneria I doubt is anything extraordinary. If he plays well, it's great but I'm not counting on him. Saqi will be back but I hope he doesn't come back before he realizes what an honour it is to play in Pak colours.

With the way things were going, I am willing to test anything. Though I am kinda disappointed to see Saqi and Anwar go. The others I care less about ...

looks like aamir sohail finally gets to settle his old scores.

It’s the best time to throw in all the youngsters and “filter” accordingly.Unlike the sharjah test where all the seniors were rested/unfit just when the Wc was around the corner .

Youngsters will be given fair amount of chances . Every player may not be a proven winner but if we find two or three future stars from this young squad then the selection is a success. Seniors might be recalled based on the consistency of the young players. Inzi and shoaib still has alot to offer.

Likewise, Shoaib Akhtar also needs to work on his fitness". And his attitude

This is coming from Aamir sohail who has the biggest attitude problem on and off the field :hehe:. He was fuming in the comnetary box. Like Queer mentioned he got some scores to settle. Yes it was obvious if it was upto him he will kick every player out of the team. However he was al praise for Saeed Anwar and I was a bit surprised that he didnt include Saeed.It clearly shows that he means business.

Rashid latif must be a relieved captain. He got nothing to lose but everything to gain. Anything positive out of this squad will be considered a benediction.

I was hoping to see some left arm seamers. It is no secret left arm bolwers are more effective than the right arm medium fast. Indians are using this tactic and are enjoying a great deal of success. We had Wasim. Sri lanka has Vaas, the most successful bolwer in the WC. Left arm bowlers doesnt need to be fast as long they maintain a decent line and length with some swing.

It’s nice to have haroon Rashid as our team manager. He is a strategist and knows alot about cricket. He will be constatnly helping out Javed Miandad.

I have a feeling we might be really strong in the battting department in the long run. Miandad will make sure every player has a proper footwork. Hopefully all the flaws will be corrected.

This WC has been a blessing in disguise for the young players. They will be given alot of chances and will not be in any sorts of pressure. The public had witnessed the worst.

*Originally posted by queer: *
looks like aamir sohail finally gets to settle his old scores.

Well it might look that way, but Aamir's a no BS guy who gives praise when it's due and dishes out the stick when it's not. There won't be any butt-kissing of superstars while he's a selector that I can guarantee you :)

Aamir Sohail is the worst commentator in the world but he has a very good mind. I like what he has done to the team.
How long are we going to play the old players, I think it was justified axing the likes of Wasim, Waqar, and Saeed.
But Inzi, Shoaib, Saqi, :confused:
But I like the names of the players in the new look squad. I though abdul rauf should have been picked but budha Muhammad Zahid took his spot.
We need young super fast bowlers to play.
This should be a great start to the rephasing of the Pakistani team.

Gen Tauquir Zia and Aamir Soahil :k: :k:

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
. I though abdul rauf should have been picked but budha Muhammad Zahid took his spot.

Not only he is budha and slow but also Tuqqla. Even rogaine won't be a much help now.
Why on heaven earth they picked Zahid. He was very very ordinary in SA series. He hardly generated any pace that threatened any batsmen.

Ah on the side note. I feel for the team doctors. Now they can't look forward to a jaunt with Shoaib Akhtar.

Actually the “attitude” bit was not said by Aamer Sohail. The guppie here added it of his own. So there u go :slight_smile:

Why has Wasim been dropped? He did really well in the world cup :(

**Eight senior players get axe as Pakistan looks to future

The ‘Glasnost’ promised by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in the wake of the disastrous World Cup campaign took a concrete shape on Thursday when seven senior players were axed for the triangular series in Sharjah scheduled from April 1.

The new selection committee, headed by Aamer Sohail and including Saleem Yousuf, Shoaib Muhammad, Farrukh Zaman and Shafiq Ahmed, came out with a new-look 16-strong squad for the coming tournament after a marathon sitting with captain Rashid Latif in Lahore. And the result of the meeting was that the selectors and the captain showed they had the courage to take tough decisions by opting to drop players like deposed captain Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram, Shoaib Akhtar, Saeed Anwar, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Saqlain Mushtaq, Azhar Mahmood, and Shahid Afridi.

However, Sohail and Rashid insisted that the door had not been closed on the seniors. “I think Inzamam can play for another two to three years. Similar is the case with Saqlain, but he has been off-colour recently. We feel both need a good rest and can come back recharged,” Sohail said.

“We’ve started the process of giving new players a chance to establish themselves and this process will take some time. We don’t intend to discard them after just one or two tournaments. They require time to settle and give a proper account of themselves.”

A PCB spokesman said the team was announced in line with the policy of the Board to start rebuilding a new outfit.

Given the public backlash after the disappointing World Cup performance it was expected that some senior players might get the axe, but the dropping of eight still came as a surprise.

Wasim, Pakistan’s leading wicket-taker in Tests and One-day Internationals, said he was disappointed at not making the team. “I don’t want to say anything at this stage. I’ve still not taken a decision on my future.”

The selectors decided to induct three uncapped players in the squad – fast bowler Umer Gul, opener Muhammad Hafeez and all-rounder Rana Navedul Hasan. The last named has toured with the national team before but not played a match. Hafeez plays for Sargodha and Sui Gas and is well-known for his opening batting. He also bowls off-spinners. Umar has been doing well for the Pakistan under-19 and ‘A’ teams and also for PIA on the domestic circuit. The recalled players include Naved Latif, Faisal Iqbal, Danish Kaneria, Muhammad Zahid, Shoaib Malik and Misbah-ul-Haq. Those retained from the World Cup squad include Rashid, Yousuf Youhana, Younis Khan, Taufiq Umar, Saleem Elahi, Abdul Razzaq and Muhammad Sami.

“It has been a difficult decision to leave out the maestros, but we’re looking to future. This is the beginning of a rebuilding phase and some of the bitter pills will have to be swallowed. We’ll have to be patient and hope for the young guns to justify their talent,” said Sohail. “We’ve not closed doors on the superstars. On the basis of just one poor tournament, their achievements and heroics can’t be forgotten.”

“I think it’s the right time to throw the youngsters in and let them show what they’ve got. In the absence of the big guns, I think they’ll realise their responsibilities more than ever. They’ll know that the seniors are not there and whatever has to be done, is to be done by them only. This fact will help us know about their mental toughness because in modern-day cricket, you’ve to be very, very tough mentally,” said Rashid.

Sohail said it would be premature to say that the careers of the senior players had reached the dead-end. “The problem is that we didn’t try youngsters in the past and therefore now we don’t know if they’ve the talent, temperament and potential to carry on the good work done by the seniors. This process may take a few tournaments before we know where we stand. Unless we’re absolutely sure about the youngsters, we’ll not rule out the seniors.”

South Africa and Sri Lanka are the other participating teams in the Sharjah triangular series.

** Rashid Given one year term as captain](http://www.jang-group.com/thenews/mar2003-daily/21-03-2003/sports/s5.htm)

Pursuing their new policy on the senior team, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have decided to give Rashid Latif a one-year term as captain. * nice thing for a change *

PCB Chairman Lt Gen Tauqir Zia confirmed on Thursday that Rashid would remain the captain in Tests as well as One-day Internationals till the completion of the tour to New Zealand early next year. “The idea is to give him confidence and support and also enough time to rebuild the team,” said Tauqir. “The PCB have confidence in the abilities of Rashid, who’s capable of manning the younger players and providing them encouragement, guidance and support to cement their places in the national team.”

Pakistan are scheduled to play a minimum of 25 One-day Internationals and three Test series against Bangladesh, South Africa and New Zealand upto January 2004.

Tauqir said that number of matches must give enough time to the team management to put the rebuilding process on the right path and identify the players who could serve Pakistan cricket for years to come. “We felt it’s only fair that the new team management be given ample opportunities to settle down with the new players and then devise their own strategy. The basic aim is to lift the performance of the team and enable it to perform to its optimum level. The people want to see positive results, and the PCB remain confident that with a fresh approach and ideas the team will return to its winning ways.”* sighs * inshaa’allah…

The decision to appoint Rashid on a one-year term is a shift from the PCB’s previous policy of appointing captains on a series-to-series basis. The new policy has been formulated in order to bring consistency to the team management and to give a fair chance to the process of grooming of youngsters under a new captain and coach. * shukar hai, itni akal tu ayee :smack :*

“It would be unfair to expect Rashid and (coach Javed) Miandad to deliver results immediately,” observed Tauqir.

Rashid said he was excited with the prospect of having to groom new players and eventually settle upon a winning combination. “I’m thankful to the PCB for reposing so much confidence in me. I know where I stand and what’s expected of me. I’m confident that we’ve the talent to start preparing fresh players.”

He remarked that he would closely assess his form and fitness over the next one year. “I don’t want to be a burden on the team as I’m aware that a captain has to lead by example. If after one year I feel I can continue to serve the team, I’ll do so. But if my form and fitness don’t warrant a place in the side I’ll step down.”* honest enough :k: keep it up… i would lvoe to see Rashid give Kamran some games in between *

Rashid stated that there’re players among the seniors rested for the triangular tournament in Sharjah who could make a comeback if they wanted to do so sincerely. “It depends on them, how they respond to the disappointment of the World Cup and how hungry they’re to regain their places in the team.”* so the ball is in senior’s court now… to perfrom in domestic or in county and come back then. they are not going to come back just for thier names … that is for sure*

The captain insisted that some players had already been identified, who’re focussed and hungry for success and would fight hard for the team.

Meanwhile, the PCB chairman said since he had not had an opportunity to hold talks with Miandad, a decision on his term had not yet been taken. “But we’re looking for him to carry on on a long-term basis and help us build a strong team. Once he returns from abroad we’ll discuss things in detail.”