I think Zia is still PCB chairman, right?
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Miandad himself has gone on record as saying he will be looking at players in the 23-25 age group so with a fresh team he will probably be able to mould them with less problems so it might not be so bad.
Accordin' to Miandad, if Pakistan doesn't give chances to the youngsters now, then we'll have to rely on under 19 team for next Cricket Generation. I take his words! Unless youngsters don't get chances, don't expect them to flourish. As for Seniors, they shouldn't be included in the team's squad based on their records but on physical fitness, regular practice, and conduct.
After Sharjah Cup, Pakistan will tour England in June; and I reckon we should prefer youngsters in Test matches and Senoir players in the ODIs.
Problem solved.
Miandad is a good choice as a coach. Haroon as manager is bit of a surprise. Honestly, i wasn't impressed with his critique during the world cup on TEN Sports. Myabe Gen. Zia did.
If Waqar is dropped from the team, I would also expect them to drop out Shoaib and inzimam, because if they don't then it would be very unfair to Waqar and to the national side itself as neither of these two deserve a place in the team based on their recent performances.
I am not too sure about Aamir Sohail's abilities. i was hoping Aasif Iqbal or Haseeb Ehsan would get a place somewhere in the new setup, probably as chief selector. Miandad himself was all praise for Haseeb on Ten Sports about his assessment of the World Cup fiasco and the way future.
Edit: They should only appoint yousaf as vice captain if they intend to make him the captain sometime in the future. I dont think Yousaf has many leadership qualities. he is way too humble and not dynamic enough. I dont think he's a good choice for captaincy at all. just because he's a senior shouldnt get hjm the vice captaincy. Not all men r leaders.
My thoughts.
Rashid Latif.. is at best a stop-gap. He doesn't has too much cricket left in him. He came out of retirement to accept this position, so that pretty much says it all. The real focus should be Yoyo. And probably down the road, Younis as vice captain (if we are to give some credence to Pybus). Yoyo is a 100% team player and automatic selection. Younis is not that, but if he can cement his position in the team, that will be great
Miandad... Great player and all that. He is also a Karachite, so he works well with Lateef (the Lahore-Karachi issues have always been there, but hopefully toned down a lot recently). He can be a good coach if he is not side-tracked in other issues. Once the non-performing biggies are kicked out of the team, Miandad will be more effective.
Haroon Rashid... Mediocre player in his time. I still remember his disastrous performance in '79 semis. Since then he has been coaching and managing various teams. Not sure if he is a good manager or not. Only time will tell. Good luck to him.
Amer Sohail... Big mouth. Quick to criticize anyone and everyone. Lets see how he feels now that he is in the hot seat. There need to be very clear duties ear-marked for the selection committee and the team management. We can't have too many Mr-Know-It-All cooks spoiling the brook now.
Rest of the Selection Committee comprises very mediocre players of their time. Saleem Yousaf, Shoaib Muhammad, Farukh Zaman and Shafiq Ahmed. That doesn't necessarily mean they will do a horrible job. The main criteria for the selection committee should be involvement in the domestic cricket to spot talent. At national level 7-9 players in our team select themselves automatically. So, its basically just a few spots which are open at any time. We need a good base of talented players whom we can constantly groom to bring to the national side.
It will be interesting to see what kinda team is announced for Sharjah. I suspect they may stick with Waseem, Inzi and Saeed. If only for the stop-gap. Or they may decide to clean up the slate and start re-building right now. Either way, having too many former captains in the side is not a good thing as the current captain loses focus. Our aging horses need to go out sooner rather than later, to give youngsters a chance.
Whats up with this "STOP-GAP" theory?. What gap? The WC is over. There is no test series or any big tournament in the near future (Sharjah ain't happening with the war looming and even if it is, Sharjah aint so big of a deal). Screw this ad-hoc and temporary stop-gap crap and let's take a nose dive into the issue NOW. Just look at what South Africans did. Bold decision I must say by naming Graem Smith the captain. He is only 22. I think PCB got it wrong one more time.
The best strategy should have been to select the BEST 15 players. Sit down with coach, the probable captains and the selection committe. And only then nominate a captain. Pakistanis have no sense of how to tackle this issue that has been plaguing our cricket since the departure of Imran Khan.
Agreed Funguy - All those players who had announced that they will retire after the world Cup either reversed their decision or postponed their announcment, and the reason for that is that they knew that Waqar was going to get sacked and each one of them had a good chance of getting Captaincy.
Rashid Latif who himself said that he is not fit enough to play in a 5 day match, then what was the point in having him in the team and then a Captain.
Someone said Miandad was a Successful Coach, If he was so successful as a coach then why was he sacked ??
funguy,
PCB had contacted Miandad in Dubai before this new selection. Aur sunaye mein aaya hai kay Miandad wanted Rashid to lead the team.
If you present the theory of Rashid not fit for Test, then take the words of Wasim as well.
Yoyo as a Captain, too soon and risky. It would effect his battin' as he has been in his poor form. When you lead the side, you need to focus on different aspects; and Rashid has been there.
Miandad is in in Dubai rightnow; and will return to Pakistan on the weekend, hopefully.
Asif, no fear in takin' on me. Miandad didn't sack by the PCB. He stepped down because of differences with senior players in 1998 and 2001.
I think its a bad decision.Why continue with the guy who cannot be in team in next worldcup.This is the best time to shakeup the team and give chances to youngesters and give them time to settle down.Its the best time to build team from scratch.
I am sure initial results will not be good but it will pay in long run.
They just need to get rid of Latif,Waqar,Wasim,Saeed .
Make Yousuf or Younis captain and give them young guys with oldies like Inzi,Shoib,Saqlian around them.
Within a year you will see a changed team.People just need to have patience and be ready for some initial defeats.
Whats the point in investing in Latif when we know he will retire in 1-2 years.Better to give Kamran Akmal chance as Wicket keeper .He has shown promise.
Same is true for Saeed,Waqar etc.
I dont understand logic when people say Yoyo cannot be captain because its too soon. For your info how many test/ODI Azhar,Poting,Greame Smith,Naser ,Fleming playes before becoming captain of their side.
I am sure Yoyo has played more than this.I just dont understand this desi logic that you have to have grey hair to be a captain.
Its dumb logic.
For God sake he has been around for almost 6 years now.**
PT - If you dont know something then dont argue. Miandad was sacked by the PCB, After he was sacked he accused his players for fixing the match that too publicly. He is too immature to take up the job of the Coach. It will be even more ridiculous if PCB is going to select Wasim Akram,Inzamam, Waqar in the team.
Javed Miandad, sacked as the Pakistan cricket coach after they lost the one-day series in New Zealand 3-2 after leading 2-1, has asked the Pakistan Cricket Board to set up an inquiry into why his team performed so badly and to look at video footage
http://www.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2001/APR/096837_ET_09APR2001.html
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Someone said Miandad was a Successful Coach, If he was so successful as a coach then why was he sacked ??
he resigned coz of player power and this is an open secret. He fell out with Moin and Akram. His success rate wasnt disappintint at all.
Saby, Lools like the repeated use of the term ‘Resigned’ as opposed to ‘Sacked’ makes you guys feel better or is it that you guys always want to live in a world of denial ? The fact is that Miandad was SACKED, and SACKED twice as the Coach for whatever reasons. Here is the reason and report written by a Pakistani:-
Is this the end for Javed Miandad?
Agha Akbar - 7 April 2001
Following the team’s rather dismal showing in New Zealand, and press reports of strife and infighting on the tour, heads were expected to roll, and roll they did. Javed Miandad, the coach assigned to mastermind Pakistan’s rejuvenation till 2003, has been sacked in a rather abrupt manner. Nobody is really taken in by PCB Chairman, Lt. Gen. Tauqir Zia’s diplomatic assertion that the former master batsman’s input and skill were much more valuable at the cricket headquarters than involvement in the field with the Pakistan team. Such ‘honeyed’ words were no doubt meant to soften the blow, for a hurtful blow it definitely was for Miandad, and nothing less.
**Miandad’s sacking obviously has come as a rude shock to many, **because even during the New Zealand tour the Board and its chairman were solidly supporting him, while the senior professionals resented his being there, and made no bones about the fact either. Why, then, dump him now? Was he solely to blame for the setbacks on the field and the dissatisfaction off it?
Apparently, the Board is convinced that Miandad’s share of blame in the defeats and in the resulting bad press is minimal. Hence, this ‘kid gloves’ treatment to soften the blow by retaining him in the Advisory Council.
So, the reason Miandad was sacked was not because he was under-performing but because the Board could no longer take the heat that the senior professionals were able to generate in their opposition to Miandad.
But Miandad, always a tenacious fighter, was not one to go before firing his own salvo. Visibly agitated by the allegations levelled against him regarding the team’s lacklustre display, he countered that Pakistan had been depleted by injuries to key players. About his coaching capabilities, he said, “a coach’s job is out of the field, what the players do on it is beyond his domain.” He thought that the national press was also responsible for this state of affairs: “Why is it not pointed out that so many of the seniors have not performed for such a long while and yet are in the team?” he asked, at the post tour press conference.
This last part of the statement was a clear indictment of the senior pros, the ‘superstars’, with whom **Miandad has an issue since his second sacking as skipper in 1993 and who in his view were not paying heed to his instructions and were consistent only in their repeated failures. **Miandad’s premature exit has greatly jeopardised Pakistan’s preparations for the 2003 World Cup, and the PCB’s about-face on him casts some doubt on the Board’s other long-term plans, policies and strategies.
Miandad’s one shortcoming must be acknowledged: he is not good at man management. **Twice he was sacked as skipper, and now twice in two years he has been shown the door as coach, with the Board ending up losing face on both occasions. **
That said, the problem for Pakistan cricket remains the same as it was in the '70s, with the emergence of the ‘superstars’: can the Board stand up to overwhelming ‘player power’ and also cope with (and survive) the strident criticism accompanying the humiliating defeats suffered by their makeshift substitutes. The PCB Chairman the other day was unequivocal in saying that examples would have to be made to improve discipline. That is tough talk, but the big question is, when? Unless this nagging issue is resolved soon, when all the other cricket-playing nations are pressing on, full steam ahead, in their preparations for the World Cup, lest it be too late.
To his fans it seems a sad way to go for a truly great cricketer and a colourful character, who had immeasurably enriched Pakistan and world cricket. But is it really the end for Miandad? In the past, the pugnacious ‘street fighter’ had managed to stage a comeback after a similar setback. So, is this really his swan song? Many had written his epitaph, but every time he rose from the ashes very much like the proverbial phoenix.
So, only time will tell whether he resurrects himself once again
http://www.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2001/APR/096141_PAK_07APR2001.html
Asif,
If you can’t bear peoples’ different arguments, then don’t even care to beat your head.
Former captain Miandad was coach twice between 1998 and 2001 before being forced to step down because of differences with senior players.
What? He was just doing the right thing. Look what he said from the same link you posted:
Enough is enough. I was silent just for the country’s sake, but now I must come out in the open.
Yeah, Pybus will do the rest. Do you remember Calcutta nightmare Test Series and Pepsi Cup Final in Bangalore in 1999? Who was the Coach that time? Say now.
Waqar will not be in the 15 players squad. I can tell you that. If he’s, then it would be ridculous.
AKB: Yaar, Yoyo as a Vice-Captain is a good choice. I don’t mean he can’t do the job but things have gone sore. Moral of the team has been lowest ever! Yoyo’s performance wasn’t good in the WC. He needs to focus on battin’. If he was chosen Captain, he would have found himself in b/w Captiancy and his recovery from bat.
*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
AKB: Yaar, Yoyo as a Vice-Captain is a good choice. I don't mean he can't do the job but things have gone sore. Moral of the team has been lowest ever! Yoyo's performance wasn't good in the WC. He needs to focus on battin'. If he was chosen Captain, he would have found himself in b/w Captiancy and his recovery from bat.
So what...He has enough experience to handle this.He should be given open hand for next 2 years and see how he manages it.Unless you give him chance how would you know his potentials.Investing in latif an old horse is not a birght Idea.
asif, as an outspoken fan of the indian team, you have NO credibility on this issue so stop while you are ahead. the senior players had issues with Javed. don't forget that he led the successful tour of India and made Afridi score a century. I think i speak for all pakistanis when I ask you to kindly keep your opinions to yourself because, based on past messages, you have proven that you are no well-wisher to the pakistan team. our comments are constructive but yours are destructive. good luck to Javed and company, now let's see if India tours Pakistan.
you just read two different reports. Tauqir Zia himself said that we are letting Miandad go due to his personal reasons. He resigned, sacked or forced to resign whatevre the reasons are one thing remains a fact. **Not because of cricketing reasons. **
*Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *
So what...He has enough experience to handle this. He should be given open hand for next 2 years and see how he manages it.Unless you give him chance how would you know his potentials.Investing in latif an old horse is not a birght Idea.
Dude,
The same experience didn't flourish in the WC. Do you remember performances of Sachin and Anwar being a Captain?
I reckon Latif was selected 'cause of his performance in WC. He retired and then came back with the expectations we hoped for. Then, he gets along with Miandad well. In any scenerio, no matter how powerful selection of players you have, you do need communication of understandin' among your mates. Don't you think?
Miandad-Latif duo set hai!
*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
Dude,
The same experience didn't flourish in the WC. Do you remember performances of Sachin and Anwar being a Captain?
But then there is performance of ganguly,Ponting,Fleming,Azhar,Pollock as captain.How do you know Yoyo will fall in former category and not later.
My point is why invest in someone who is not gonna be around for long when we know this is the best time to invest.Imagine Latif retiring in 2005 or 2006.Now you will have to ask some other guy to lead team and get ready for Worldcup in 2007.Why not ask that guy to lead now and build team?You are looking at immediate results and me at future.
allah ka banda makes a fair point. let's just dive into this with a new captain head first. the problem is that we have too many captains but no leaders on the pakistan team.
*Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *
But then there is performance of ganguly,Ponting,Fleming,Azhar,Pollock as captain. How do you know Yoyo will fall in former category and not later.
Agreed. But how sure are you Yoyo won't fall in the same Category of Sachin and Anwar?
My point is why invest in someone who is not gonna be around for long when we know this is the best time to invest.Imagine Latif retiring in 2005 or 2006.Now you will have to ask some other guy to lead team and get ready for Worldcup in 2007.Why not ask that guy to lead now and build team?You are looking at immediate results and me at future.
Correct. I back your statement. Rashid will retire around 2005; and I think that would be the time for Yoyo to lead the side. Two year gap WC 07 is just fine. We'll all see how good Yoyo is at Captaicy. For now, he will learn as the VC of the team. You can't become manager of the company unless you got experience!
Waisay, Captian aur Vice Captain both work for the team along with Coach, don't they?
Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
Former captain Miandad was coach twice between 1998 and 2001 before being* forced to step down **because of differences with senior players.
PT yaar - Whichever report you read it says more or less same thing. Being forced to step down isn't very different from sacking unless you want to play the word games.
TUMS - what an attitude you have got, since you cant argue, try to shut me up and question my credibility just because I am an outspoken Indian fan, so using your logic most of the Paki members here have no credibility on any Indian Cricket Issue since all of them are very outspoken fans of Pak Cricket (Including you). If you have problems with my presence on this forum go and cry infront of the mod of this forum and he will help you. Yeah and next time speak for yourself.
Saby - If Miandad has been sacked twice for non-Cricketing reasons then what is the Gaurantee that he wont be sacked third time especially when those Seniors are still around. PCB should have tried to consult someone like Asif Iqbal who have a sharp cricketing brain and better man managment skills. With Rashid as Captain I have two Problems - 1. He himslef said that he is physically not fit enough to play in tests and Pakistan has a young and talented WK Batsman Kamran Akmal just waiting because of him. Akmal has better batting skills than him, although I can't say the same about his WK skills.
2. Latif is not a natural Leader, He has never been. He doesn't command respect in the team. Do you think he can control Shoaib Akhtar, I dont think so.